Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    132

    Can my Boom be saved?

    All of a sudden, my Boom doesnít work. There is almost no sign of life except a blinking of the button backlights - about once a second.

    Thereís no pop or hiss from the speakers.

    Is there any hope?

    If not, is there a suitable replacement, e.g. Google Home Max?
    Phileas

    Lounge:(Raumfeld Connector/ATV2(via iPad2)>AVI ADM40
    Study/Gym:Google Chromecast>AVI ADMRSS
    Library:PC>Benchmark DAC1>Sennheiser HD580
    Bedroom:Boom

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    23

    Can my Boom be saved?

    I searched the forums for you, try this.

    HARD RESET:
    Unplug power, press and hold down the add (+) button on the remote, plug
    power back in (whilst continuing to hold down add button)

    If that doesn't work, hold down the power button for 15 seconds.

    Best wishes,
    David

    On Sat, Nov 23, 2019 at 1:14 PM Phileas <
    Phileas.99z7pb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    >
    >
    > All of a sudden, my Boom doesn’t work. There is almost no sign of life
    > except a blinking of the button backlights - about once a second.
    >
    > There’s no pop or hiss from the speakers.
    >
    > Is there any hope?
    >
    > If not, is there a suitable replacement, e.g. Google Home Max?
    >
    >
    >
    > Phileas
    >
    > LoungePC>)SB3/ATV2(via iPad2)>AVI ADM40
    > Study/GymPC>)Touch>AVI ADMRSS
    > Library:PC>Benchmark DAC1>Sennheiser HD580
    > BedroomPC>)Boom
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > Phileas's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=20367
    > View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=111260
    >
    >

  3. #3
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    9,260
    Also try unplugging it for a while. Mine has been acting up a bit as well, guessing just age and continuously being on 24/7.
    If I lose power and/or internet, Boom simply will not connect to my WiFi. I must reboot WiFi and Boom (unplugging it) to get it back on WiFi.
    Your issue sounds a bit more serious. :-(

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,857
    Quote Originally Posted by Phileas View Post
    All of a sudden, my Boom doesnít work. There is almost no sign of life except a blinking of the button backlights - about once a second.

    Thereís no pop or hiss from the speakers.

    Is there any hope?
    A bad WIFI card can cause these symptoms.
    You can remove the WIFI daughterboard and if Boom powers up - the card can then be replaced at little costs ($5 maybe) by 2nd hand card

    I can't find any instruction specfically for removing the card but JoeMuc's VFD repair guide shows how to open Boom and get at the Wifi card.
    https://joes-tech-blog.blogspot.com/...d-display.html

    IIRC Care is needed as there are few delicate connectors which if broken cannot easily be repaired.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    132
    Thanks for the replies.

    Iíll have a go with these suggestions.
    Phileas

    Lounge:(Raumfeld Connector/ATV2(via iPad2)>AVI ADM40
    Study/Gym:Google Chromecast>AVI ADMRSS
    Library:PC>Benchmark DAC1>Sennheiser HD580
    Bedroom:Boom

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    2,622
    I have one doing the same ... and I took out the wifi card to bring it back to life.
    Take care with getting the card out as it (on mine at least) had a load of rubbery stuff stuck under the top of it to stop it flexing I presume.
    I managed to slowly prise it apart and then slide the card out but was tense at times.

    Now running Ethernet only and working very well.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    132
    Iíve just removed the WiFi card and itís working again (apart from WiFi!).

    Iíll persevere with the Boom for a while but ultimately I think Iíll be switching to something else - perhaps a Google Home Hub + smart speaker.
    Phileas

    Lounge:(Raumfeld Connector/ATV2(via iPad2)>AVI ADM40
    Study/Gym:Google Chromecast>AVI ADMRSS
    Library:PC>Benchmark DAC1>Sennheiser HD580
    Bedroom:Boom

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,857
    Quote Originally Posted by Phileas View Post
    Iíve just removed the WiFi card and itís working again (apart from WiFi!).

    Iíll persevere with the Boom for a while but ultimately I think Iíll be switching to something else - perhaps a Google Home Hub + smart speaker.
    Replacement wifi cards are easy to find. If Boom somehow won't work with Wifi card - you can use a nano router as a reverse AP.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    132
    Well, I have a Classic and a Touch not in use. Do they have suitable WiFi cards?

    Actually, Iíd rather not cannibalise those, they need loving homes.

    Ethernet is fine. Iím currently wondering about other options for a bedside radio with good sound quality but more functionality- Iíve stopped using Squeezebox Server so the Boom is just an alarm clock/internet radio at the moment.
    Phileas

    Lounge:(Raumfeld Connector/ATV2(via iPad2)>AVI ADM40
    Study/Gym:Google Chromecast>AVI ADMRSS
    Library:PC>Benchmark DAC1>Sennheiser HD580
    Bedroom:Boom

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,857
    Quote Originally Posted by Phileas View Post
    Well, I have a Classic and a Touch not in use. Do they have suitable WiFi cards?
    The olderSB player (i.e.not Radio or Topuch) use same WLAN card - SB2, SB3, Classic, Receiver, Boom & Transporter. I'd be reluctant to open a working system - never know whether something else (e.g. VFD) might break.

    Ethernet is fine. Iím currently wondering about other options for a bedside radio with good sound quality but more functionality- Iíve stopped using Squeezebox Server so the Boom is just an alarm clock/internet radio at the moment.
    The suggested wireless solutions can buy you time while considering other options as sometimes it's not clear how needs have changed over time and what is really needed/required/wanted now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •