Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    6

    Can't connect Touch Players to Media Server

    For some reason my 3 Touch Players are not connecting to the LMS. I've got them all connected to my PC via ethernet. LMS is on my PC. Today I tried to play a playlist via Spotty but the home screen had reverted to a basic version with no Spotty etc. I had upgraded to the latest server version (LogitechMediaServer-7.9.2-1573685519.exe) the day before. I've never had any problems with this in the past. Diagnostics on control panel are all OK. It appears to me that the players are not connecting to LMS. I've rebooted the payers, I've reverted back to the previous LMS version just to check but no joy. I've reconnected to ethernet via networking in advanced settings and all the players connect ok. Not sure what to do next. Would be grateful for any advice.

  2. #2
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    3,398
    Quote Originally Posted by stroudpete View Post
    For some reason my 3 Touch Players are not connecting to the LMS. I've got them all connected to my PC via ethernet. LMS is on my PC. Today I tried to play a playlist via Spotty but the home screen had reverted to a basic version with no Spotty etc. I had upgraded to the latest server version (LogitechMediaServer-7.9.2-1573685519.exe) the day before. I've never had any problems with this in the past. Diagnostics on control panel are all OK. It appears to me that the players are not connecting to LMS. I've rebooted the payers, I've reverted back to the previous LMS version just to check but no joy. I've reconnected to ethernet via networking in advanced settings and all the players connect ok. Not sure what to do next. Would be grateful for any advice.
    You say all your Touches are connected to your PC via ethernet, they should be connected to your router. Or is that what you meant.
    Server - LMS 8.0.0 Pi4B 4GB/Flirc case/pCP 6.0.0-b7 18K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi3B+/pCP 5.0.0/pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/jivelite,
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 5.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Squeezebox Boom
    Garage - Pi3B/Pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/pCP 5.0.0 > Edifier R980T

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB3, 1xRadio, 6xRPi

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    3,498
    Quote Originally Posted by stroudpete View Post
    For some reason my 3 Touch Players are not connecting to the LMS. I've got them all connected to my PC via ethernet. LMS is on my PC. Today I tried to play a playlist via Spotty but the home screen had reverted to a basic version with no Spotty etc. I had upgraded to the latest server version (LogitechMediaServer-7.9.2-1573685519.exe) the day before. I've never had any problems with this in the past. Diagnostics on control panel are all OK. It appears to me that the players are not connecting to LMS. I've rebooted the payers, I've reverted back to the previous LMS version just to check but no joy. I've reconnected to ethernet via networking in advanced settings and all the players connect ok. Not sure what to do next. Would be grateful for any advice.
    Have you tried selecting "My Music" on the Touch players? This should produce a prompt to connect to LMS.

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by kidstypike View Post
    You say all your Touches are connected to your PC via ethernet, they should be connected to your router. Or is that what you meant.
    Yes that is what I meant. The PC has LMS and is also connected to the router via ethernet.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    Have you tried selecting "My Music" on the Touch players? This should produce a prompt to connect to LMS.

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
    When I do this it tries to connect to my PC.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    3,498
    Quote Originally Posted by stroudpete View Post
    When I do this it tries to connect to my PC.
    Does it connect. If LMS is on your PC then it probably appears under the name of your PC on the Touch.

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    6
    I've sorted it. I installed some new anti-virus software in the past couple of days. I disabled it and now the players can connect to LMS. Bingo!

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for the helpful suggestions.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    3,498
    Quote Originally Posted by stroudpete View Post
    I've sorted it. I installed some new anti-virus software in the past couple of days. I disabled it and now the players can connect to LMS. Bingo!
    Glad you fixed it. Firewalls and anti-virus software often cause problems.

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    3,398
    Quote Originally Posted by stroudpete View Post
    I've sorted it. I installed some new anti-virus software in the past couple of days. I disabled it and now the players can connect to LMS. Bingo!
    For the record, which AV software was it?
    Server - LMS 8.0.0 Pi4B 4GB/Flirc case/pCP 6.0.0-b7 18K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi3B+/pCP 5.0.0/pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/jivelite,
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 5.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Squeezebox Boom
    Garage - Pi3B/Pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/pCP 5.0.0 > Edifier R980T

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB3, 1xRadio, 6xRPi

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •