Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    1,979

    LMS not picking up text from strings.txt

    I am trying to push out a patched version of the MixCloud plugin while waiting for the official 3rd-party one to be updated.

    Blocking it currently is that LMS is not showing the text strings from the included strings.txt (which I have not changed).
    I have not changed the plugin name or any code that refers to the strings.
    It is not even picking it up for the name displayed in the list of installed plugins.

    File is there ...
    Code:
    tc@PiTouch:/mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins$ ls -lrt MixCloud/
    total 46
    -rw-rw-rw-    1 tc       staff         1381 Nov 11 14:20 strings.txt
    -rw-rw-rw-    1 tc       staff          508 Nov 11 14:20 Settings.pm
    -rw-rw-rw-    1 tc       staff          685 Nov 11 14:20 ProtocolHandlerDirect.pm
    -rw-rw-rw-    1 tc       staff        11557 Nov 11 14:20 ProtocolHandler.pm
    -rw-rw-rw-    1 tc       staff        14537 Nov 11 14:20 Plugin.pm
    -rw-rw-rw-    1 tc       staff        11527 Nov 11 14:20 LICENSE
    -rw-rw-rw-    1 tc       staff          617 Nov 11 15:30 install.xml
    drwxr-xr-x    3 tc       staff         1024 Nov 11 15:34 lib/
    drwxr-xr-x    3 tc       staff         1024 Nov 11 15:34 HTML/
    Any ideas?
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,354

    LMS not picking up text from strings.txt

    Check the server.log and remove the strings.bin from the cache.

    --

    Michael

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    1,979
    I tried touching the strings.txt to make sure that it has a more recent date than the cache and then restarted LMS.
    But that did not fix it.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    1,979
    Will do (didn't spot anything in the log).

    I did notice that the strings are not in
    stringcache.aarch64-linux.bin

    If I run "strings" on that file I can see strings for other plugins ... but for this one I only see the reference to the plugin strings.txt file.

    About to stop LMS/remove the cache file/restart LMS
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    1,979
    It is indeed in the log - maybe I didn't look far enough back

    Code:
    Slim::Utils::Strings::parseStrings (388) Error: Parsing line 1: PLUGIN_MIXCLOUD
    etc for each line

    Now comparing before and after again ... but I had not changed the file.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    1,979
    Windows line endings ... CRLF
    About to convert to Unix ... LF
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    1,979
    That was it - Windows v Linux for line endings in the text file.
    I had not knowingly changed the file ... but I guess I stupidly hit save in Notepad at some point when I was looking at it.
    Perhaps I was thinking of changing the plugin name to make clear it was a patched version and then changed my mind because it would cause pain elsewhere ... and then hit save as I quit just in case I had already saved it .... etc etc
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

  8. #8
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,354

    LMS not picking up text from strings.txt

    > That was it - Windows v Linux for line endings in the text file.

    Just make sure you don't changed them in the other files, too. Doesn't
    break things. But it creates unnecessary changes in a file's commit history.

    --

    Michael

  9. #9
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,354

    LMS not picking up text from strings.txt

    > I had not knowingly changed the file ... but I guess I stupidly hit save
    > in Notepad at some point when I was looking at it.


    Oh, and get a decent text editor :-D

    --

    Michael

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    1,979
    I usually use Notepad+ but I guess I double-clicked rather than Open With.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •