Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    Senior Member M-H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    218

    pi 1 DAC board

    If your pi 1 has the correct headers, you can use the:
    WOLFSON AUDIO CARD - AUDIO CARD, FOR USE WITH RASPBERRY PI. (google and find f.i. element 14 )

    Its successor for the 40 pin GPIO header is sold-out and no longer produced. But the original version for the pi 1 is still available, and was recommended many times for its audio quality.
    The original drivers are rubbish, the support from the manufacturer is even less, but we did manage to get good working raspberry drivers from "HIAS", and put support in PCP.
    see: https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...rt-in-PCP-3-20

    Yesterday I tested the PCP6.0.0 B7 on my production set ( B+ and CLAC ) and the menu's allowed me to get the card setup in 5 minutes.
    So there is little risk these cards do not work for you.

    If I only had a compatible pi 1 .....

    Regards M-H
    Pi based multi-room audio system powered by PiCorePlayer(s):
    Pi3B with Phat-dac in a Rasptouch, 2 pi B+ with Cirrus Logic Audio Card, Pi Zero with Phat-beat , and a few other tests...

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8

    PCM5102 - works until update

    Just though I would resurrect this thread as I have just dragged my old Pi B r2 into use again with a PCM5102 DAC (on a PhatDAC) using the
    connections as described above on P5.

    Currently I am using the PCP setup as below.

    piCorePlayer v3.5.0
    linux 4.14.26-pcpAudioCore
    piCore v9.1pCP
    Squeezelite v1.8.7-1052

    And it works very well - as it should it's predecessor was a 3B and only ever used about 3.5% CPU !

    The question is that I plugged in an old pCP image into the Pi B and it all worked - until I did an update and then the audio stopped - is there a tweak to fix this ????

    A couple of pics

    Name:  20210505_134700s.jpg
Views: 142
Size:  131.4 KB

    Name:  20210505_135821s.jpg
Views: 140
Size:  141.0 KB
    TIA

    Graham

  3. #13
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4,110
    Did you setup the image on that device? You cannot transfer a card that was used on a 3B, back to the old B

    Just start with a fresh image from the download site.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    177
    Quote Originally Posted by paul- View Post
    Did you setup the image on that device? You cannot transfer a card that was used on a 3B, back to the old B

    Just start with a fresh image from the download site.
    What would be wrong with doing so?

    I have at least one player that I migrated from 3b to old b and it runs smoothly...

  5. #15
    Senior Member Greg Erskine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,254
    Luck of the draw.

    Initially the image is compatible with both single and quad core CPU's.

    But when piCore installs extra extensions, only the extensions compatible with the architecture are downloaded.

    In a lot of cases extensions are compatible for both single and quad core CPU's but some are not.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8
    Thanks for the replies everyone


    Quote Originally Posted by paul- View Post
    Did you setup the image on that device? You cannot transfer a card that was used on a 3B, back to the old B

    Just start with a fresh image from the download site.
    It was originally setup on a 3B - this was a backup that I copied to the SD card - the only changes being the name of the device

    The install backup was a couple of years old so many changes will have happened since then, enough to break it now - another much more recent uSD backup from the
    3B also failed to work using either HifiBerry or PCM5102 settings.

    I shall try a fresh install.

    Quote Originally Posted by Marsupial View Post
    What would be wrong with doing so?

    I have at least one player that I migrated from 3b to old b and it runs smoothly...
    Exactly what I have just done - but it only works (in may case) with an old versions (as above)

    Quote Originally Posted by Greg Erskine View Post
    Luck of the draw.

    Initially the image is compatible with both single and quad core CPU's.

    But when piCore installs extra extensions, only the extensions compatible with the architecture are downloaded.

    In a lot of cases extensions are compatible for both single and quad core CPU's but some are not.
    That could well be it - a fresh install should (hopefully) fix it.

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8
    Downloaded and installed piCorePlayer 7.0.0

    And it all works perfectly

    Thanks again

    P.S - A contentious point....... I just thought that the Pi B (headless on ethernet) sounds <better> than the Pi 3B that was there.

    The B is using the same PSU (standard/official Pi 3B) but the 3B had a 7" screen and 2.5" HD - so used a lot more power ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •