Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    3

    Touch playback issues from LMS

    My Squeezebox Touch suddenly started acting up and I could use some assistance determining the cause. Some symptoms:
    1) While playing a track and changing the position within the track (either via the screen or web controller) the audio and player stops. It's almost like it hangs but I can press the back button to get to the menu.
    2) Sometimes the player will not proceed to the next track. I cannot determine a pattern to which tracks will advance and which won't.
    3) Album art doesn't load on some albums.

    I thought perhaps this was a connection issue, but it's had the same setup for years without an issue and the signal strength in the settings is strong (98%). I run LMS 7.9.1 on a separate server and I thought it might have something to do on that end, that an update somehow broke part of the software, but I can stream to my phone without any problems whatsoever (Using SqueezePlayer). Also, the album art loads just fine via the web controller so current signs all point to the problem with the Touch. I can also stream music online without an issue, but maybe this type of decoding is different?

    The firmware on the Touch is 7.8.0-r16754 which I believe is the most current. I've tried the restore to factory defaults with no change in status.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Junior Member Tuneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    9

    Touch Playback Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by Dalkinn View Post
    My Squeezebox Touch suddenly started acting up and I could use some assistance determining the cause. Some symptoms:
    1) While playing a track and changing the position within the track (either via the screen or web controller) the audio and player stops. It's almost like it hangs but I can press the back button to get to the menu.
    2) Sometimes the player will not proceed to the next track. I cannot determine a pattern to which tracks will advance and which won't.
    3) Album art doesn't load on some albums.

    I thought perhaps this was a connection issue, but it's had the same setup for years without an issue and the signal strength in the settings is strong (98%). I run LMS 7.9.1 on a separate server and I thought it might have something to do on that end, that an update somehow broke part of the software, but I can stream to my phone without any problems whatsoever (Using SqueezePlayer). Also, the album art loads just fine via the web controller so current signs all point to the problem with the Touch. I can also stream music online without an issue, but maybe this type of decoding is different?

    The firmware on the Touch is 7.8.0-r16754 which I believe is the most current. I've tried the restore to factory defaults with no change in status.

    Any ideas?
    I am having similar issues with my Touch that started about a month ago. Been running it wireless for years without problems at 100% signal strength. Run LMS 7.9.2 with 7.8.0-r16754 firmware. Struggles to play some tracks showing the message "connection reset by remote host" skips some tracks before finding one to play. Album art won't load on some tracks on the Touch but is there on the web controller like you are experiencing. My apps (Pandora, Qobuz, Radio Paradise) seem to play fine, only my music (WAV and FLAC files stored on my PC and external hard drive) seem to be affected by these problems. I have tried reinstalling the LMS even trying different versions and rebooting the Touch itself with no improvement. The one thing that works is rebooting my router/modem. After doing this everything plays perfectly. Only problem is it doesn't last, this reboot is good for a day, sometimes a little more sometimes a little less before it rears it's ugly little head again. After weeks of troubleshooting I have noticed my Sonos speaker I use on my patio is doing the same thing struggling to play my music but fine with my apps. I am able to fix it the same way by rebooting my router/modem and fix lasts about a day just like the Touch. So now I am thinking it could be my Router/Modem now. AT&T was out and checked my network fixing some things on the line but no improvement. I will keep you posted on any progress I make. Try rebooting your Router and see if you get any improvement. Good luck!

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,992
    Signal strength does not mean signal quality.

    If another source is on same or close to same wifi channel (e.g.neighbour wifi, microwave, faulty fluorescent light) - signal strength will still be the same but due to interference signal quality will have deteriorated and so throughput can collapse.

    1. Check if problem persist if tested using a wired connection.
    2. Check for neighbouring wifi users on same and adjacent channels (don't forget transient ones such as mobile hotspots)

    "Connection reset by remote end "is usually a network issues between modem and source - so perhaps two issues.

    Rebooting router may cause it to switch channel so goiving temporary respite but if neighbouring wifi is also doing same - switching channel - problem will persist unless you do proper analysis.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    3
    Despite coming to the previous conclusion that Wi-Fi was not to blame (due to streaming working flawlessly to my phone), I did try the suggestion of rebooting the router anyway. Just like Tuneman described, everything was working great shortly thereafter. Unfortunately, also as Tuneman described the problems resurfaced a day later. I stole an ethernet cable from a different device and switched the connection and it appears to be working properly. So, it does appear to be something with the WiFi even though all hardware has been in place for some time. Perhaps ATT pushed a firmware update that is causing new problems. Looking into that I see the firmware version I have (2.3.4) is only a couple of months old now.. around as old as these problems (and perhaps a related wifi issue with my Android phone).

    Tuneman, just curious, by chance do you have that firmware on your router? I have the BGW210-700.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,992
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalkinn View Post
    Unfortunately, also as Tuneman described the problems resurfaced a day later.
    Did you check for nearby wifi networks ?

    Is your router setup to do "auto" channel selection ?

    Some routers on "auto" will test & may then change channel about once a day.
    Alternatively it is your neighbour's router who is changing channel and interfering with your wifi.
    Either way - checking on neighbouring use of wifi channels is good practice.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    Did you check for nearby wifi networks ?

    Is your router setup to do "auto" channel selection ?

    Some routers on "auto" will test & may then change channel about once a day.
    Alternatively it is your neighbour's router who is changing channel and interfering with your wifi.
    Either way - checking on neighbouring use of wifi channels is good practice.
    Yes, I did. My 5 Ghz band did have a conflict so I changed that but the 2.4 Ghz band that the Touch uses was clear of the neighbor's network. It was set to auto but the current state is that it's conflict-free and still shows the wifi symptoms.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •