Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Washington (state) USA
    Posts
    87

    Silence from a streaming radio station

    Recently one of my streaming stations quit playing. The server connects and stays connected, shows the correct bitrate, but there is no sound. All of my other stations play properly. LMS is a recent 7.9.2 nightly running on Debian Stretch on a Kirkwood SOC box. Players are Squeezelite on Debian on Pogo Plugs. Same situation on both players and same on my previous 7.8 server on the famous Squeeze on Arch on a PogoPlug. I set the logging to info for the streaming components (as far as I can tell) but I can't discern a difference between a stream that plays and the one that does not. The URL for the stream plays properly in VLC and in a browser tab on both Chrome and Opera. And their app plays on an IOS device.

    The stream is 48 kbs MP3 which seems a pretty low bitrate for music.

    The station is Northwest Public Broadcasting/Radio from Washington state. The URL is http://134.121.234.129:8000/NWPRCLASSICAL

    I have contacted the station and they did not immediately ID a problem. Since the URL plays, they are not highly motivated, I think.

    Is there an app to view the stream to see if there is something there? Wireshark?

    Thoughts anyone?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,100
    Does it redirect to HTTPS?
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11,530
    I just saved your link as a favorite in LMS and it played fine for me.
    Home: VBA 4TB (2.5)>LMS 7.9.2>Transporter, Touch, Boom, Radio (all ethernet)
    Cottage: VBA 3TB (2.4)>LMS 7.9.1>Touch>Benchmark DAC I, Boom, Radio w/Battery (ethernet, Radio WIFI)
    Office: Win10(64)>LMS 7.9.2>Squeezelite
    The Wild (no internet): PiCorePlayer 4.0 on rPi 3B+, hifiberry Dac+Pro, 4TB USB (LMS & Squeezelite)
    Controllers: iPhone6 & iPadAir2 (iPeng), CONTROLLER, or SqueezePlay 7.8 on Win10(64) laptop
    Files: ripping: dbpa > FLAC; post-rip: mp3tag, PerfectTunes; Streaming: Spotify

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,911
    Low bit rate is because it is a low sample rate only 22.05kHz - some device cannot play low sample rate. You may need resampling and if using squeezelite on say ALSA - choose a different device.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Washington (state) USA
    Posts
    87
    Thanks for the suggestions. Interesting on the low sample rate and squeezelite. I'm pretty sure I'm using the ALSA sound system on the players. I'll look into that and report back. If ALSA is a problem for low sample rate, then is there another option?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Washington (state) USA
    Posts
    87
    I think my problem is related to the old version of squeezelite I am using. I tried the Squeezelite-X app on Windows which uses about the latest version of squeezelite, and the problem stations work. So, is the solution a new version of squeezelite, or does the Windows audio system handle the low bitrate inherently? I see the new version of squeezelite has options for resampling. Should I take this to the Linux forum?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,911
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeh49 View Post
    Thanks for the suggestions. Interesting on the low sample rate and squeezelite. I'm pretty sure I'm using the ALSA sound system on the players. I'll look into that and report back. If ALSA is a problem for low sample rate, then is there another option?
    You have provided no details on your system (including squeezelite version number). It may be possible to confirm/refute the diagnosis which prevent you wasting time.

    ALSA can provide the resampling if you use devices names such as "default:" but will not provide resampling if using device name such as "hw:" - so a solution for this stream may simply be just changing the output device name but may not be right solution for other sources so system details again would help.

    Otherwise the squeezelite resampling option is your best option but the command-line options can be very picky to get right.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •