Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 9 of 13 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 124
  1. #81
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony T View Post
    I would first try a hard reboot of the Touch.
    If that didn't work I would try re-scanning the LMS library
    What version LMS? (7.9.2 was just released)
    7.9.2 nightlies....will update and see what happens

  2. #82
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,530

    LMS on MacOS 10.15 "Catalina"?

    > I’m missing something....updated to Catalina and all seemed well. I
    > purchased some tunes on the new music app. They play fine but the album
    > art isn’t showing up on my touch. The artwork is fine on the Apple Music
    > app.


    The (eternal Beta) AppleScript we were using to import artwork from
    iTunes no longer works with the new Music app.

    --

    Michael

  3. #83
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    >
    The (eternal Beta) AppleScript we were using to import artwork from
    iTunes no longer works with the new Music app.

    --

    Michael
    Thanks so much for your quick response Michael....I can quit pounding my head on the desktop from trying to figure out where Id gone wrong with the update 🤪
    Cheers

  4. #84
    Senior Member Tony T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,145
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > I’m missing something....updated to Catalina and all seemed well. I
    > purchased some tunes on the new music app. They play fine but the album
    > art isn’t showing up on my touch. The artwork is fine on the Apple Music
    > app.


    The (eternal Beta) AppleScript we were using to import artwork from
    iTunes no longer works with the new Music app.

    --

    Michael
    I don't purchase tracks (I only purchase CD's and rip), so I can't test this, but I looked at the AppleScript and could it be as simple as changing
    tell application "iTunes"
    to
    tell application "Music"
    Tony
     SBTouch ♪ SBRadio ♬

  5. #85
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,530

    LMS on MacOS 10.15 "Catalina"?

    > I don't purchase tracks (I only purchase CD's and rip), so I can't test
    > this, but I looked at the AppleScript and could it be as simple as
    > changing
    > tell application "iTunes"
    > to
    > tell application "Music"


    Feel free to give it a try! I don't really use either of them...

    --

    Michael

  6. #86
    Senior Member Tony T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,145
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelJ View Post
    Thanks so much for your quick response Michael....I can quit pounding my head on the desktop from trying to figure out where I’d gone wrong with the update ��
    Cheers
    I can't test it (I don't purchase tracks, only CD's to rip), but you might want to try opening this file in Script Editor:

    /Library/PreferencePanes/Squeezebox.prefPane/Contents/server/Bin/darwin/itartwork.scpt

    and change:
    tell application "iTunes"
    to
    tell application "Music"

    and change:
    if procList does not contain "iTunes" then
    to
    if procList does not contain "Music" then

    An easy way to get to the file:
    In Terminal, to open the Folder enter:
    open /Library/PreferencePanes/Squeezebox.prefPane/Contents/server/Bin/darwin/
    Then just click on itartwork.scpt to open Script Editor

    You can also make the changes in Terminal with Sed:
    Make a backup of original file to Desktop
    Code:
    cp /Library/PreferencePanes/Squeezebox.prefPane/Contents/server/Bin/darwin/itartwork.scpt ~/Desktop
    Edit with Sed:
    Code:
    sed -i "" 's/tell application \"iTunes\"/tell application \"Music\"/' /Library/PreferencePanes/Squeezebox.prefPane/Contents/server/Bin/darwin/itartwork.scpt
    Code:
    sed -i "" 's/if procList does not contain \"iTunes\" then/if procList does not contain \"Music\" then/' /Library/PreferencePanes/Squeezebox.prefPane/Contents/server/Bin/darwin/itartwork.scpt
    Last edited by Tony T; 2020-01-18 at 10:00.
    Tony
     SBTouch ♪ SBRadio ♬

  7. #87
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    1

    LMS config on Catalina-Success!

    Thanks to all of you for this thread. I cling desperately to my Logitech Boom from over 10 years ago, which has been my constant music companion in my kitchen since then. Best tech product I have ever had along with the Palm Treo.

    Strangely, my setup seemed to be working on Catalina until recently, but in a frozen state, meaning none of the new music I had added since Catalina was being added to LMS. This was likely due to the in-place upgrade to Catalina that left my old iTunes Library xml file where it was, although it no longer updated.

    Last week I wiped and completely re-installed my MacMini from scratch, something I had not done since I got it in 2012. I carefully backed up all of my files, with the intention of only using them if something went wrong. I didnt pay attention to the LMS settings at all until it didnt work at all after the re-install. Thanks to this thread I am now back in business,.

    If you are just arriving in this thread, what worked for me was:

    1. Following Mr. Cs suggestion on Page 5 of this forum and using Cmd+Shift+G to add the perl and bash (for me it was bashbug) to Full Disk Access in System Preferences. That process also added the smbd process, but somehow automatically.
    2. I followed several of the suggestions and exported the Music Library manually to an XML file which I pointed LMS to. I renamed it iTunes Library.xml, recreated the /Music/iTunes/ folder on my Mac and put the file there.
    3. I clicked Use iTunes in the LMS preferences and since all of my music is on an external disk, I pointed LMS to that folder. For playlists, I pointed LMS to the aforementioned /Music/iTunes/ folder on my Mac.

    Thanks again to all of you.

  8. #88

    moved, and... stuck

    Hi all,

    I've owned an old Squeezebox for at least ten years, and managed to keep it running through several iMacs and updates.

    I took my SB with me when I went back to the US (from Canada) a few weeks ago.
    I can't get it running with this MacBookPro laptop and external 4TB LaCie hard drive.
    I KNOW it's some kind of permissions issue. LMS won't scan the disk.

    The disk is set to 'share'.
    I've entered the terminal script I found while digging in these threads.
    In Security & Privacy, perl and smbd are set for Full Disk Access.

    Before I left Canada, it was running, on an IMac which was running Catalina.

    What am I missing?

  9. #89
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    100

    Getting LMS to work in Catalina when nothing shows up after initial library scan

    Quote Originally Posted by MrC View Post
    When you go to the web interface, Settings, and on the first page, for your Media Folders, click the Browse button, you should see various expandable file system locations. If you cannot expand one of them (because there's no + character), this shows you that you don't have full disk access for the given area. This is a quick way for you to test as you're working to get permissions to work.

    Go to System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Full Disk Access, and unlock the settings. Click the + button. Now type Cmd+Shift+G. This will open a dialog where you can type a path. Enter /usr/bin and then select perl to add it. Do likewise for /bin and select bash.

    I don't recall if I had to start/stop the server after this, but certain need to hard refresh that LMS server Settings page. After I configured the settings, I was able to then assign my paths and LMS worked.
    This worked for me on Catalina 10:15:5 - definitely required a restart in order for the permissions to perl and bash to kick in.

    So the sequence was:

    1) INSTALL LMS

    2) IN LMS CONTROL PANEL SELECT FOLDER(S) CONTAINING YOUR MUSIC

    3) GIVE PERMISSIONS TO PERL AND BASH
    Go to System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Full Disk Access, and unlock the settings.
    Click the + button.
    Now type Cmd+Shift+G. This will open a dialog where you can type a path.
    Enter /usr/bin and then select perl to add the permissions.
    Enter Yeah/bin and then select bash to add to the permissions.

    4) RESTART THE MAC

    5) GO BACK TO LMS AND RESCAN
    - go to tab "Advanced"
    - select RESCAN



    Thanks very much to everyone who provided the necessary info. Love this forum and this community !!
    Last edited by Osamede; 2020-04-23 at 06:30.
    3x Squeezebox Touch
    1x Squeezebox Classic
    Server: Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.
    Mobile: 3x Ipeng on Iphone / 2x Ipeng on Ipad / Orange Squeeze+Squeeze Player
    Laptops: 2x Squeezeplay 7.8.0-r328

  10. #90
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,530

    LMS on MacOS 10.15 "Catalina"?

    > 2) IN LMS CONTROL PANEL SELECT FOLDER(S) CONTAINING YOUR MUSIC
    >
    > 3) SETUP PERL, using the sequence her[/B]e:
    > https://learn.perl.org/installing/osx.html


    You don't have to install Perl - it's (still) pre-installed with the
    system. In particular if the control panel was already working.

    --

    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •