Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 13 of 102 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 130 of 1020
  1. #121
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,294
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    In Putty ... put the mouse cursor at the start of the text to copy and then hold left button down and drag over the area to copy ... then let go of the mouse button you should find that the text is in the copy buffer (like doing a ^c).
    Yes - that works but only within the terminal.

    I wanted to copy in terminal the paste on my home PC. I can copy on home PC then paste into terminal (Shift Insert), but not vice versa.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  2. #122
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,769
    I just did it ... copied from RPi via Putty terminal session and pasted into Notepad on the Windows PC that is running Putty.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin, AllZIC Radio, Caroline Flashback, Cesky rozhlas, Frequence3, JukeRadio, KlassikRadio.de, Linn Radio, Mother Earth, Naim Radio, Nova.fr, RadioBlues Flac, Radio Espace, Somehow Jazz, Supla Finland

  3. #123
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,294
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    I just did it ... copied from RPi via Putty terminal session and pasted into Notepad on the Windows PC that is running Putty.
    Thanks.

    I'll try it again and report back.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  4. #124
    Senior Member philchillbill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    821
    SmarTTY is much nicer than PuTTY in my humble opinion. Also old eyes

  5. #125
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,294
    Quote Originally Posted by philchillbill View Post
    SmarTTY is much nicer than PuTTY in my humble opinion. Also old eyes
    Thanks - but I'm on Linux. Tried to install via Wine - but crashes out, I'm afraid.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  6. #126
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,294
    Update:

    Adding the web_auth (mentioned earlier) line to ngrok.yml works. (Thanks, Paul).

    The web interface provides more info than you could ever want!
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  7. #127
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,294
    I've hit a problem using ngrok.

    I entered the appropriate info in the linking. This is successful - the skill reports the players as found:

    Discover:
    MediaServer
    Discovery found 5 players: Blackradio, Touch, Nestdisplay, Priva2, Priva1.

    Then, when I issue a 2nd command, I get:

    Server Down
    MediaServer
    Your LMS server is not currently responding.

    Accessing via the web gui continues to work without problems.

    Update:

    Relinked. Waited a few minutes. Skill now working! Renamed player to Black:

    Assumed Player
    MediaServer
    Now assuming the 'Black' player.
    Last edited by castalla; 2019-10-12 at 22:57.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  8. #128
    Senior Member philchillbill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    821
    That sounds like a genuine connectivity glitch. Alexa only waits max 8 seconds for a skill to respond before she errors off in a huff, so the skill gives LMS a max of 6 secs of timeout. If it linked and discovered ok then the comms details were clearly entered correctly. Any comms errors after that must be genuine temporary drops in connectivity in the path from the Amazon cloud to your LMS. Player names would not affect that. Things like wonky WiFi, a pi busy doing something very CPU intensive instead of being a good ngrok host - that comes to mind. Alexa herself also drops from time to time in my experience, although not often. Amazon ain’t perfect

    EDIT: At a later date, a feature was added to the skill which has Alexa tell you when your server is insufficiently responsive
    Last edited by philchillbill; 2020-12-12 at 12:12.

  9. #129
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,294
    Quote Originally Posted by philchillbill View Post
    That sounds like a genuine connectivity glitch. Alexa only waits max 8 seconds for a skill to respond before she errors off in a huff, so the skill gives LMS a max of 6 secs of timeout. If it linked and discovered ok then the comms details were clearly entered correctly. Any comms errors after that must be genuine temporary drops in connectivity in the path from the Amazon cloud to your LMS. Player names would not affect that. Things like wonky WiFi, a pi busy doing something very CPU intensive instead of being a good ngrok host - that comes to mind. Alexa herself also drops from time to time in my experience, although not often. Amazon ainĺt perfect


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Seems stable at the moment ... no errors since it started working again. ngrok is the only program running on the wired pi.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  10. #130
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,769
    Quote Originally Posted by castalla View Post
    Adding the web_auth (mentioned earlier) line to ngrok.yml works. (Thanks, Paul).
    Great.
    I must have a go at this as well (I found the solution to your problem by searching as I don't have ngrok here yet).
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin, AllZIC Radio, Caroline Flashback, Cesky rozhlas, Frequence3, JukeRadio, KlassikRadio.de, Linn Radio, Mother Earth, Naim Radio, Nova.fr, RadioBlues Flac, Radio Espace, Somehow Jazz, Supla Finland

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •