Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 114 of 119 FirstFirst ... 1464104112113114115116 ... LastLast
Results 1,131 to 1,140 of 1186
  1. #1131
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    22

    MediaServer Subscriber here - Trying to the Stream command to my Echo

    Excellent addition to my LMS setup thankyou. I was just catching up on the forum about developments etc and noticed the Stream command so thought I would check it out. Whilst everything appears to work. I do not get any output from my Echo (Show 8). Cover art is displayed on the Echo and lms shows the Alexa as a player however it doesn't start playing and can't be started by playing from LMS. My entire music collection is Flac. Does the Echo need to convert it on the fly to MP3? Any guidance of what I may need to set / check would be very welcome - Thanks again for a great product, continues to get better.

  2. #1132
    Senior Member philchillbill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    938
    Quote Originally Posted by Grizzly View Post
    Excellent addition to my LMS setup thankyou. I was just catching up on the forum about developments etc and noticed the Stream command so thought I would check it out. Whilst everything appears to work. I do not get any output from my Echo (Show 8). Cover art is displayed on the Echo and lms shows the Alexa as a player however it doesn't start playing and can't be started by playing from LMS. My entire music collection is Flac. Does the Echo need to convert it on the fly to MP3? Any guidance of what I may need to set / check would be very welcome - Thanks again for a great product, continues to get better.
    The Stream commands use the /stream.mp3 endpoint in LMS so that means that LMS needs to be able to transcode your flacs to mp3. The echo can handle FLAC no problem (these days) but LMS cannot stream anything other than mp3.

    LMS should do that on the fly so if itís not then itís usually just that the LAME decoder is not installed on your system or your transcoding rules are messed up. For the avoidance of doubt, thatís all in respect of LMS and not the Echo or the skill.

    See https://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.p...anscoding.html

  3. #1133
    Senior Member philchillbill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    938

    Documentation Updated

    Thanks to @chaug on the LMS-lite thread, there's now a documented procedure for subscribing when Alexa tells you that subscriptions are not available in your country/region.

    See https://mediaserver.smartskills.tech...#section-7-1-2 for a how-to.

  4. #1134
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by philchillbill View Post
    The Stream commands use the /stream.mp3 endpoint in LMS so that means that LMS needs to be able to transcode your flacs to mp3. The echo can handle FLAC no problem (these days) but LMS cannot stream anything other than mp3.

    LMS should do that on the fly so if itís not then itís usually just that the LAME decoder is not installed on your system or your transcoding rules are messed up. For the avoidance of doubt, thatís all in respect of LMS and not the Echo or the skill.

    See https://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.p...anscoding.html

    Many thanks for that. All now working thankyou.

  5. #1135
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    208
    I've gone through a somewhat convoluted set-up process, using my own proxy, and while the skill can control the player on my PC I cannot get it to either stream audio or assume a player for my Echo Show 8. If I tell media server to "assume the lounge player" is just says "cannot find a player called lounge" - I have read back and forth and can't see any other step required to "enable" the Echo Show as a player. Streaming shows things in the screen, but silence.

    My Echo Show is in Australia and the skill complained about languages, so I switched to both US and UK english to test. Can "Australian" be added to the list of supported languages please?

    Would it not be cleaner to have an additional explicit command to enable an Echo (Show) as a player rather than "assume" which also seems to pick the default player for commands?

  6. #1136
    Senior Member philchillbill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    938
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Galbavy View Post
    I've gone through a somewhat convoluted set-up process, using my own proxy, and while the skill can control the player on my PC I cannot get it to either stream audio or assume a player for my Echo Show 8. If I tell media server to "assume the lounge player" is just says "cannot find a player called lounge" - I have read back and forth and can't see any other step required to "enable" the Echo Show as a player. Streaming shows things in the screen, but silence.

    My Echo Show is in Australia and the skill complained about languages, so I switched to both US and UK english to test. Can "Australian" be added to the list of supported languages please?

    Would it not be cleaner to have an additional explicit command to enable an Echo (Show) as a player rather than "assume" which also seems to pick the default player for commands?
    If you ask it to list your players, is there one called Lounge among them? What exact command did you try in order to stream? Silence when streaming usually means the LAME encoder is missing from your LMS install. Thatís in the docs. Also, you would never assume an Echo as that command is only for squeezeboxes. When you use any stream command then the audio sink is always the Echo youíre talking to.

    Amazon does not allow skills with subscriptions in Australia.

  7. #1137
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    208
    Thanks for the pointers, been there done those; Specifically:

    I tried "alexa, stream the album songs from the north" and she replies correctly and the album art appears. LAME is installed (docker container on a Synology) and - this is the fun bit - when I the open the /stream.mp3 URL in my browser (on the same reverse proxied URL) is both plays *and* a new player appears in LMS called Alexa-XXXXX - but this player is only there when I am manually streaming to my browser. When I stop and ask the Echo Show to once again stream, artwork appear but no autio and no player in LMS web interface.

    In terms of the "assume" command, I have followed the docs and tried variations - my reading implies that when you say "alexa, tell media server to assume the lounge player" is somehow enabling that specific Echo Show to stream as a new player in LMS called "Lounge" but perhaps I have missed a step? It just says "I can't find a player called lounge" or whatever other room is misheard.

    I am not (yet) a subscriber as I want to know if this works, so the Australia bit is more the location - I am normally in the UK and my root Amazon account is UK based.

  8. #1138
    Senior Member philchillbill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    938
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Galbavy View Post
    Thanks for the pointers, been there done those; Specifically:

    I tried "alexa, stream the album songs from the north" and she replies correctly and the album art appears. LAME is installed (docker container on a Synology) and - this is the fun bit - when I the open the /stream.mp3 URL in my browser (on the same reverse proxied URL) is both plays *and* a new player appears in LMS called Alexa-XXXXX - but this player is only there when I am manually streaming to my browser. When I stop and ask the Echo Show to once again stream, artwork appear but no autio and no player in LMS web interface.

    In terms of the "assume" command, I have followed the docs and tried variations - my reading implies that when you say "alexa, tell media server to assume the lounge player" is somehow enabling that specific Echo Show to stream as a new player in LMS called "Lounge" but perhaps I have missed a step? It just says "I can't find a player called lounge" or whatever other room is misheard.

    I am not (yet) a subscriber as I want to know if this works, so the Australia bit is more the location - I am normally in the UK and my root Amazon account is UK based.
    You cannot assume an AlexaPlayer (Echo) no matter what its name (I'll amend the docs to mention that — thanks) and there's even no need to. Skills do not have access to the friendlyName you assigned to your Echo such as e.g. Lounge Echo — all Amazon provides us is a huge deviceId string which I chop 5 characters from to give you the Alexa-xxxxx name seen in the LMS GUI when streaming. However, even without knowing a name, Mediaserver's 'Stream' commands always target the Echo you are talking to. It's actually the only way Amazon allows a skill to start music playing on an Echo (a skill cannot ask one Echo to play music on another one — only the big music services are 'allowed' do that).

    I'm guessing that the lack of audio is related to your docker or proxy situation. After your attempted Stream command (where you were told "Streaming 11 'Musical' tracks..." but heard silence), the logs show a MEDIA_ERROR_SERVICE_UNAVAILABLE playback error:

    Code:
        "request": {
            "type": "AudioPlayer.PlaybackFailed",
            "requestId": "amzn1.echo-api.request.d16f8e14-8539-4c51-9416-4dfc7f351d02",
            "timestamp": "2022-01-26T22:18:24Z",
            "locale": "en-US",
            "currentPlaybackState": {
                "offsetInMilliseconds": 0,
                "token": "1643235490915",
                "playerActivity": "STOPPED"
            },
            "error": {
                "message": "Device playback error",
                "type": "MEDIA_ERROR_SERVICE_UNAVAILABLE"
            },
            "token": "1643235490915"
        }
    That would indicate that the Echo didn't see a valid audio stream at the address that LMS resolves to in your LAN.

    The normal 'Play' commands just instruct LMS to talk to your players and feed them as LMS does. The 'Stream' commands are different by necessity because the Echo needs to be fed with a stream from a URL, much like internet radio. LMS is told to start up a /stream.mp3 network client and then the Echo is pointed at that stream locally within your LAN. That last part must be failing due to your proxy/docker setup. The /stream.mp3 endpoint has to be unprotected and reachable over http without basic auth in your LAN for it to work.

    Can you share any details of your proxy or docker config? Any reason you didn't go the ngrok route? Earlier, you got a bad-SSL cert error (EPROTO 140716538210176:error:1408F10B:SSL routines:ssl3_get_record:wrong version number:../deps/openssl/openssl/ssl/record/ssl3_record.c:332) so it may also be that Amazon does not trust your proxy. You subsequently re-linked the skill without a port number in the https URL which silenced the error, but Amazon may still have issues with your proxy. Amazon has whitelisted ngrok which is why people who go that route never have issues like this.
    Last edited by philchillbill; 2022-01-27 at 03:15. Reason: typo

  9. #1139
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    208
    Thanks for the detailed diagnostics and suggestions. Timezones mean that I am too full of dinner and watching TV to check everything today, but will go through it all tomorrow morning (my time).

  10. #1140
    Senior Member chaug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    122
    I'm desperately trying to get Alexa to stream a playlist (to Alexa player) in shuffle mode but I can't figure out how to do it. It does play the playlist but it always starts at the beginning. When I then say "Alexa, shuffle" she doesn't recognize the command a lot of the times and when she does, she says "Shuffle on", yay! If I then say "Alexa, next", she doesn't recognise the command. When I say "Alexa, skip" she says "Next" and does indeed play the track. Except, sometimes she doesn't. She just stops playing and the next track never starts. Except that it does show as playing on the LMS web-UI. I hoped that once I set the Alexa player on shuffle, it would stay there and next time I play that playlist, it will shuffle, but no. I noticed that when I change the name of the "ALEXA-*****" player to something else, LMS (or Alexa?) will eventually forget that name and go back to "ALEXA-*****", so I assume that this forgetfulness is also the reason why the shuffle state doesn't persist.

    So I have four questions (relating to each of the four issues just mentioned):

    1. How can I start streaming an LMS-playlist in shuffle mode (so that it starts with a different track every time)
    2. What am I doing wrong with the no-invocation commands? I can confidently say that my english pronounciation is in no way unusual or difficult to understand. Alexa understands me fine all the time, except when using the MediaServer app. In fact, the problem exists not just with no-invocation commands. It also occurs when I try to invoke a mediaserve one-shot command, Alexa never gets the entire command. For example, when I say "Alexa, tell media server to play favourite Amina 8", most of the time, she will either say nothing or "Say a mediaserver command".
    3. What might be the reason that skipping to the next song will sometimes lead to silence despite the track actually being streamed by LMS? My best guess is that it has to do with encoding. This is happening on a youtube playlist and I believe youtube tracks sometimes use different codecs. But since it is LMS streamingt to Alexa, I would still blame LMS/the plugin for not transcoding into a codec that Alexa understands.
    4. Is there any way of making LMS remember the name of the Alexa players?
    Server: LMS 8.2 on an Ubuntu 18.04 virtual machine
    Players: Radio, Touch, Duet (Receiver & Controller), 2 Booms, Google Nest Hub (via chromecast plugin)
    Remote control apps: Material Skin (Web UI), but also SqueezePad (iOS), Squeezecontroller (Android)
    Important plugins: Trackstat, Spicefly Sugarcube, Lazy Search Music, Custom Browse, Multi Library

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •