Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    2

    lms ip address selection on computer with multiple nics

    I have a windows 10 machine running lms. I use cisco anyconnect secure mobility client to connect to resources at work. My lms works fine using the address of my pc until I connect to the vpn, at which time it immediately changes to the vpn ip address, which is not reachable from my internal network. Does anyone know if it's possible to statically assign the network adapter or ip address that the lms will use? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    ┼kersberga, Sweden
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by tedbutler View Post
    I have a windows 10 machine running lms. I use cisco anyconnect secure mobility client to connect to resources at work. My lms works fine using the address of my pc until I connect to the vpn, at which time it immediately changes to the vpn ip address, which is not reachable from my internal network. Does anyone know if it's possible to statically assign the network adapter or ip address that the lms will use? Thanks in advance.
    I suggest that you check with the IT people at your company. My experience is that professional VPN connections to company networks is always landing at your PC/laptop as endpont and as such it "steals" the NIC address and connection. I e, it is not possible to have dual NIC functionality (two networks at the same time) on your PC/laptop. It will probably also affect your ability to use your own LAN attached printers at home when connected to work.

    Then again, I may be totally off here. Talk to the IT people at your company. They may have a solution for you.
    2 Touch, 2 Picoreplayer v6.1.0 on RaspBerry 3B
    LMS 8.2.0 on Debian 10 on Intel-NUC. All wired
    Main audio system: speakers Magnepan 3.6, amp "Gdis 400", DAC & pre: NAD M51, streamers: SB Touch // NAD M50

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    5,085
    Try modifying the command line used to start it up to include

    --httpaddr => Activate the web interface on the specified IP address.
    --cliaddr => Activate the command line interface TCP/IP interface on the specified IP address.

    e.g. --httpaddr 192.169.0.1 --cliaddr 192.168.0.1
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin lots more - see https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...Playing-plugin

  4. #4
    Senior Member w3wilkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    1,571
    Once upon a time I had a client that would take "close the pipe" when I VPN'd to their network. I could not access anything from my PC other than the clients systems as long as my VPN connection was active with the client. My solution was to run a virtual machine on my PC that I would use when I connected to that client. This made it so I could use my PC for whatever I wanted and the VM would handle access to the client network without affecting my regular PC.
    Main system - Rock Solid with LMS 8.2.0 on WHS 2011 - 2 Duets and Squeeseslave
    Cabin system - Rock solid with LMS 8.2.0 on Win10 Pro - 1 RPi 3 Model B/Hifiberry DAC+ Pro/PiCorePlayer and Squeezeslave
    Squeezebox Boom - "At Large" player around both home and cabin
    Headphones and car - Android phone/Bluetooth w/full library on MicroSD card - PowerAmp music player app (similar to Material Skin)

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    363
    Anyconnect can be configured to deny local connections. Guess your it is enforcing it (and I totally understand that)

    Either ask them to allow split connections or use a separate system (raspberry) for music
    sent from a computer using a keyboard

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Posts
    2
    To be honest, I don't know much about lms to understand why it conflicts with vpn, have you tried checking the network using 10.0.0.1? If you, like me, don't understand this issue, then it's probably better not to try to solve the problem yourself. Instead of solving the problem, you can accidentally make it worse. The best solution would be to contact a specialist who understands lms issues. As BosseJ already wrote, contact your company's IT department. If nothing helps, you can simply stop using VPN on this computer. There are quite a lot of VPN alternatives on the Internet, for example, you can try using a proxy.
    Last edited by KiserWatch; 2021-12-09 at 17:15.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    217
    Networking can be really tricky due to the fact that TCP/IP is a fairly stupid protocol does not feature any self-discovery or advertising methods. Running a system that tries to hide this from the user and also not offer any methods to automate how it should behave doesn't really help as well.

    By default LMS listens on all interfaces (0.0.0.0). It is not possible for a newly connected (VPN) adapter to `steal` that. What is however possible is for the system to be given a preferred outbound interface, causing whatever output LMS generates not be able to reach your player/controller. This should not affect LAN connected systems though, unless they are accessed through their DNS name which as a rule *does* get hijacked by VPN. The most likely reason for LMS to seize being able to communicate with players and controllers while VPN is up is therefore that the VPN software actively prohibits secondary connections to the computer and of course they will have made it very difficult for you to override that.

    The best advice here is to get yourself a second machine to run LMS. Think something like a Pi or Cubietruck. If you shut down your main computer when you are not using it you will likely earn the costs for such a device back on your power bill within a year.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    26
    My work VPN client, also Cisco AnyConnect, is configured the same way in that it blocks all local connections once the link is established and only allows traffic over the VPN tunnel. It's unlikely you will be able to change this behaviour yourself. I got so fed up of this that I use a Windows VM on my PC and run the VPN client in that for my work connection. This then allows me to RDP to an office based system from within the VM and the host PC retains full local and internet access.

  9. #9
    Senior Member w3wilkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    1,571
    Quote Originally Posted by sparkyuk View Post
    My work VPN client, also Cisco AnyConnect, is configured the same way in that it blocks all local connections once the link is established and only allows traffic over the VPN tunnel. It's unlikely you will be able to change this behaviour yourself. I got so fed up of this that I use a Windows VM on my PC and run the VPN client in that for my work connection. This then allows me to RDP to an office based system from within the VM and the host PC retains full local and internet access.
    Funny, I used to do the same thing when I was working for a living. I was a remote worker and our company got a contract to do system maintenance for another company. When I'd VPN to the new client the pipe was closed to all other access so I did the VM like you and would VPN to the new client from the VM and my main system instance still had full access to the internet and my work email.
    Main system - Rock Solid with LMS 8.2.0 on WHS 2011 - 2 Duets and Squeeseslave
    Cabin system - Rock solid with LMS 8.2.0 on Win10 Pro - 1 RPi 3 Model B/Hifiberry DAC+ Pro/PiCorePlayer and Squeezeslave
    Squeezebox Boom - "At Large" player around both home and cabin
    Headphones and car - Android phone/Bluetooth w/full library on MicroSD card - PowerAmp music player app (similar to Material Skin)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •