Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
  1. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Washington (state) USA
    Posts
    93
    @mwr - Thanks, got them will try with a new install.

    New install of the latest _arm package:
    Code:
    root@Dell-M300:~# dpkg -i logitechmediaserver_7.9.2~1568726655_arm.deb
    Selecting previously unselected package logitechmediaserver.
    (Reading database ... 24151 files and directories currently installed.)
    Preparing to unpack logitechmediaserver_7.9.2~1568726655_arm.deb ...
    Unpacking logitechmediaserver (7.9.2~1568726655) ...
    Setting up logitechmediaserver (7.9.2~1568726655) ...
    Adding system user `squeezeboxserver' (UID 112) ...
    Adding new user `squeezeboxserver' (UID 112) with group `nogroup' ...
    Not creating home directory `/usr/share/squeezeboxserver'.
    Making sure that Logitech Media Server is not running first: No process in pidfile '/var/run/logitechmediaserver.pid' found running; none killed.
    Starting Logitech Media Server.
    Also, the startup script is not in the init.d directory.

    Seems to be the same problem I had in the previous attempt. Is there some checking on the architecture? I have armel and the package only had armhf, I think. On jessie, I was able to use the _all package; I was trying to use a smaller package, don't need the i386 and everything else.

    Should I not be installing as root? Permissions problem someplace?
    Code:
    root@Dell-M300:~# stat /usr/share
      File: /usr/share
      Size: 4096            Blocks: 8          IO Block: 4096   directory
    Device: 801h/2049d      Inode: 188420      Links: 70
    Access: (0755/drwxr-xr-x)  Uid: (    0/    root)   Gid: (    0/    root)
    Access: 2019-09-12 15:14:22.135228869 -0700
    Modify: 2019-09-16 10:12:59.654258111 -0700
    Change: 2019-09-16 10:12:59.654258111 -0700
     Birth: -

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    441
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    Why didn't I think of that !

    Duly linked: https://github.com/Logitech/slimserv...ment-532895009

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    441
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeh49 View Post
    @mwr - Thanks, got them will try with a new install.
    I really don't know what issues you are having.

    The first paragraph or two of this thread shows how I install an LMS 'deb' package from the command line, using apt.
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...e-dpkg-failure

    I would download the 'arm' deb, because it contains most of what you need without too much X86/etc crud. That you seem to have done.

    But we can expect that LMS will simply die horribly, or silently, or in some other manner, on your armel system because the necessary binaries aren't there. In fact, you may need to kill it off yourself with a suitable sudo systemctl stop logitechmediaserver or similar stanza. You'll have to put those binaries in the right place before you see any useful result. Chickens and eggs spring to mind. I really don't remember what the sequence of events was.

    I can see no reason for the relevant start up file in /etc/init.d not being there. Given that LMS was clearly starting up I rather think it must be. And you seem to be logged in as root@Dell-M300, so I don't know what the issue about being, or not being, root is. I always log in to my SheevaPlug as regular user, and use sudo to do this stuff, because you do need root privileges.

    Are you doing this on an otherwise working Debian Buster system ? I know nothing about the M300, and I haven't come across it before.

  4. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Washington (state) USA
    Posts
    93
    The easy stuff first, the Dell M300:

    https://forum.doozan.com/read.php?2,61344

    I followed these instructions for jessie, and this sequence:

    https://forum.doozan.com/read.php?2,28737

    • As root, installed LMS, for Jessie I used the _all deb package
    • Copy the Perl binaries for armel into the /CPAN/arch/5.20 folder
    • Created an owner
    • It worked


    I'll try again as not root.

  5. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Washington (state) USA
    Posts
    93
    I just checked the various directories again, and it's there. I use WinSCP to move files around and check directories on a linux box; I don't know why it wasn't seeing things. I'm now using Terminal on a Mac and it's all there. Strange.

  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Washington (state) USA
    Posts
    93
    Works now with @mwr compiled perl 5.28 for armel. Thanks!!!

    I don't understand the install where it says the home directory /usr/share/squeezeboxserver was not created. It was.

    All good for the moment. Listening to internet radio. Now to get the favorites, etc from the Arch server.

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    441
    Well done ! Looks like a nice device.

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeh49 View Post
    I don't understand the install where it says the home directory /usr/share/squeezeboxserver was not created. It was.
    It probably already existed, hence not created because no need...

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Washington (state) USA
    Posts
    93
    Will the armel perl modules be picked up in a future 7.9.2 nightly?

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    441
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeh49 View Post
    Will the armel perl modules be picked up in a future 7.9.2 nightly?
    I suggest that you assume not. The binaries only benefit a handful of users.

    But, once installed, the binaries do not conflict with the regular LMS debian package, so you should be able to update LMS without having to reinstall them. They will just stay where they are.

    If, one day, they were to be incorporated into an updated LMS deb package, then you would find out when installing that update, as the install process would flag up the conflict.

  10. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Washington (state) USA
    Posts
    93
    Interesting. So the deb package installer will leave the CPAN/5.28/arch/armel directory in place while replacing (or not) the other arch directories. Or, do these not change once compiled for a specific perl version? This perl version stuff is a pain. There are 6 or so different versions supported in the package.

    Again, thanks for your help on this. It's running great on the Dell Kace M300. $15 on ebay.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •