Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 87
  1. #51
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    3,656
    Quote Originally Posted by garym View Post
    By the way, the day after my posts above, it occurred to me how insane my question was about Celsius vs Fahrenheit. If I had really thought the temps I was seeing on my own equipment were in Fahrenheit, it would have all been COLD to the touch. Duh!
    We were too polite to mention that.

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

  2. #52
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11,599
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    We were too polite to mention that.

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
    Thanks. Scholars and gentlemen all!
    Home: VBA 4TB (2.5)>LMS 7.9.2>Transporter, Touch, Boom, Radio (all ethernet)
    Cottage: VBA 3TB (2.4)>LMS 7.9.1>Touch>Benchmark DAC I, Boom, Radio w/Battery (ethernet, Radio WIFI)
    Office: Win10(64)>LMS 7.9.2>Squeezelite
    The Wild (no internet): PiCorePlayer 4.0 on rPi 3B+, hifiberry Dac+Pro, 4TB USB (LMS & Squeezelite)
    Controllers: iPhone6 & iPadAir2 (iPeng), CONTROLLER, or SqueezePlay 7.8 on Win10(64) laptop
    Files: ripping: dbpa > FLAC; post-rip: mp3tag, PerfectTunes; Streaming: Spotify

  3. #53
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    242
    I have LMS installed on an older Syno NAS (DS213) and was thinking about to make the move to a Pi/LMS setup.
    LMS is accessed by
    - Pi2 w pCP and Squeezelite connected to a USB Dac (Ethernet connection)
    - SBT (WiFi)
    - PiZeroWH w pCP and Squeezelite (WiFi).

    I have another 3B (not the "+" model) laying around and thought to use it as the server.

    Questions which came to my mind:
    i) would the 3B be capable enough to be used as server and player (described as Option 3: https://www.picoreplayer.org/index.html ; it could then substitute the Pi2) or
    ii) is the Pi3B's CPU not fast enough to act as i) but could be used as Option 2 "server only" and
    iii) can I also install and use all plugins which are currently active (see screenshot)?

    Name:  Screenshot_20200219-001824.jpg
Views: 55
Size:  91.1 KB

    Would appreciate your thoughts.
    Thanks, Cheers und gute Nacht ;-)

  4. #54
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,366

    New to Raspberry Pi - SBT, NAS,LMS question.

    > i) would the 3B be capable enough to be used as server and player
    > (described as Option 3: https://www.picoreplayer.org/index.html ; it
    > could then substitute the Pi2) or


    In general I'd say yes. I'd expect it to be faster than your NAS (for LMS).

    > ii) is the Pi3B's CPU not fast enough to act as i) but could be used as
    > Option 2 "server only" and
    > iii) can I also install and use all plugins which are currently active
    > (see screenshot)?


    Erland's * Playlists plugins can be a bit heavy. But as I said: I'd
    expect the Pi's performance to be on par with your NAS or better.

    --

    Michael

  5. #55
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    242
    Cool.
    Many thanks for your swift response, Michael, much appreciated. I'll give Option 3 a try.

  6. #56
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by marflao View Post
    Questions which came to my mind:
    i) would the 3B be capable enough to be used as server and player (described as Option 3: https://www.picoreplayer.org/index.html ; it could then substitute the Pi2) or
    I've server and player (max2play) running in a Pi2 with no problems at all.

  7. #57
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    242
    Thanks waldo,

    image is already burnt for the Pi3B ;-)

  8. #58
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    242
    hmm...I wanted to configure LMS but struggeling since the RPi is not mounted the NAS (at least that's what I assume because I can`t choose the proper folder).

    Proper Media folder should be/volume1/Music.

    Any tip what needs to be done therefore I can choose the proper folder?

    Thanks in advance.

  9. #59
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    3,461
    Quote Originally Posted by marflao View Post
    hmm...I wanted to configure LMS but struggeling since the RPi is not mounted the NAS (at least that's what I assume because I can`t choose the proper folder).

    Proper Media folder should be/volume1/Music.

    Any tip what needs to be done therefore I can choose the proper folder?

    Thanks in advance.
    What have you entered in the Network mount boxes? Mine is below, options field is "uid=1001,gid=50,vers=1.0".

    Name:  networkmount.jpg
Views: 41
Size:  62.7 KB

    Name:  networkmount2.jpg
Views: 42
Size:  36.7 KB
    Last edited by kidstypike; 2020-02-19 at 07:20.
    Server - LMS 8.0.0 Pi4B 4GB/Flirc case/pCP 6.0.0-b9 18K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi3B+/pCP 5.0.0/pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/jivelite,
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 5.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Squeezebox Boom
    Garage - Pi3B/Pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/pCP 5.0.0 > Edifier R980T

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB3, 1xRadio, 6xRPi

  10. #60
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    242
    Well...I can't change anything there.

    Name:  2020-02-19 10_43_22-Window.png
Views: 39
Size:  11.0 KB

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •