Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Senior Member DomieMic65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Athens Greece
    Posts
    103
    @ralphy @Man in a van ... or anyone who has any comment:

    In my "LMS settings/player/dsd player" setting I have this:
    "This player supports native playback of DSD files. DSD-over-PCM should be configured on the player configuration interface."

    BUT

    when i am trying to configure dsd playback with the above settings I do not have sound!

    The "diagnostics/sound/playback hardware devices" output is:
    Name:  pCp_HW_devcs.png
Views: 48
Size:  149.8 KB
    if I am not mistaken this means that the device doesn't support native DSD. Yes?

    The only way I can play DSD (DoP) without problems is when putting just:
    Various Options: -D
    I tried up to dsd 128. I don't have 256 files and my dac is up to 384KHz so I think that DoP 256 would be not possible. Yes?
    Leaving "Device supports DSD/DOP" field empty.

    Can you explain a bit what situation do I have here? And may be the best setting for my DAC?

    Thank you!!!!
    Main system: Synology DS115j/RPi3b(LMS)/RPi3B+[LnrPS](piCore)/M2Tech EvoDAC Two+[LnrPS]/Densen DM20&30/Spendor SP2/3E
    Head-Fi: Schiit Vali2/Sennheiser HD600 & HD25Alum/Audeze Sine.
    Aditional HW: Allo DigiOne, iFi iDefender, iPurifier, iPower

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,828
    @DomieMic65

    I'm not running any piCorPlayer at the moment and I don't use DSD as such.

    You don't give much information here, which pCP, which Pi?

    I suggest you make a fresh image and only use Squeezelite.

    Configure the Squeezelite for DSD and try again.

    Then ask again with full information about what is working and what is not working, including the different audio outputs.

    It's not clear which dac you are using; from your signature it says M2Tech EvoDAC Two+[LnrPS].

    Is that Evo Dac Two Plus,
    or
    Evo Dac Two and LnrPS

    ronnie

  3. #13
    Senior Member DomieMic65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Athens Greece
    Posts
    103
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    @DomieMic65

    I'm not running any piCorPlayer at the moment and I don't use DSD as such.

    You don't give much information here, which pCP, which Pi?

    I suggest you make a fresh image and only use Squeezelite.
    Configure the Squeezelite for DSD and try again.

    Then ask again with full information about what is working and what is not working, including the different audio outputs.

    It's not clear which dac you are using; from your signature it says M2Tech EvoDAC Two+[LnrPS].

    Is that Evo Dac Two Plus,
    or
    Evo Dac Two and LnrPS

    ronnie
    I use RPi3B+ only for pCp5.0.0A/Squeezelite. It's a fresh instal. LMS 7.9.2 is running in another Pi3B.
    My DAC is M2tech Evo DAC Two Plus. It's Manual
    With "LnrPS" I mean Linear Power Supply (a DIY one). I wanted to keep the sig somehow short!

    There are no other outputs than the Evo DAC2+

    Sorry for the confusion!
    Last edited by DomieMic65; 2019-09-14 at 02:23.
    Main system: Synology DS115j/RPi3b(LMS)/RPi3B+[LnrPS](piCore)/M2Tech EvoDAC Two+[LnrPS]/Densen DM20&30/Spendor SP2/3E
    Head-Fi: Schiit Vali2/Sennheiser HD600 & HD25Alum/Audeze Sine.
    Aditional HW: Allo DigiOne, iFi iDefender, iPurifier, iPower

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,828
    OK, I understood the linear PS bit, It was just the dac bit that was confusing, but the spec is the same for both.

    I suggest a checklist (you may have doen this already....but)

    DSD plugin installed on the LMS

    Keep everything default on the RPI3B+ Squeezelite, no Soundcheck or other mods.

    Install DSD extension for pCP

    Install Squeezelite DSD Binaries.

    From the Main Page tab run the Updates for extensions and Squeezelite (they should be up to date, but better to check)

    Run the hotfix from the same page.

    In the box for the Squeezelite DSD config enter 0:32be (Or whatever it was in that link I supplied on another thread). Save and reboot if required.

    Then make sure you have USB selected (rebooted) and work your way through the audio outputs for the DAC starting with hw:.....

    I suggest three different files at three different fit rates, 64, 128 and 256.

    Try all the outputs until you find one that works with all or works with the most.

    Then come back with your findings, just be patient.

    Good luck

    ronnie

  5. #15
    Senior Member DomieMic65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Athens Greece
    Posts
    103
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    OK, I understood the linear PS bit, It was just the dac bit that was confusing, but the spec is the same for both.

    I suggest a checklist (you may have doen this already....but)

    DSD plugin installed on the LMS

    Keep everything default on the RPI3B+ Squeezelite, no Soundcheck or other mods.

    Install DSD extension for pCP

    Install Squeezelite DSD Binaries.

    From the Main Page tab run the Updates for extensions and Squeezelite (they should be up to date, but better to check)

    Run the hotfix from the same page.

    In the box for the Squeezelite DSD config enter 0:32be (Or whatever it was in that link I supplied on another thread). Save and reboot if required.

    Then make sure you have USB selected (rebooted) and work your way through the audio outputs for the DAC starting with hw:.....

    I suggest three different files at three different fit rates, 64, 128 and 256.

    Try all the outputs until you find one that works with all or works with the most.

    Then come back with your findings, just be patient.

    Good luck

    ronnie
    Thank you Ronnie!!!!!
    I will do check once more the list one by one...
    The options I get about the outputs are:
    Name:  DEE64261-8C43-4927-ABBB-E9B645537F53.jpg
Views: 40
Size:  116.8 KB
    No hw:... starting!
    Main system: Synology DS115j/RPi3b(LMS)/RPi3B+[LnrPS](piCore)/M2Tech EvoDAC Two+[LnrPS]/Densen DM20&30/Spendor SP2/3E
    Head-Fi: Schiit Vali2/Sennheiser HD600 & HD25Alum/Audeze Sine.
    Aditional HW: Allo DigiOne, iFi iDefender, iPurifier, iPower

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    1,712
    Even though "hw:" is not listed .... try it anyway.
    On one of mine I had to do that as well - as it says in the help text.

    i.e. try
    hw:CARD=Two
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,828
    As Paul says, also just replace the word front with hw (this often works for me).


    hw:Card=Two,DEV=0

  8. #18
    Senior Member DomieMic65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Athens Greece
    Posts
    103
    OK .. thank you both!
    I'll try!
    Main system: Synology DS115j/RPi3b(LMS)/RPi3B+[LnrPS](piCore)/M2Tech EvoDAC Two+[LnrPS]/Densen DM20&30/Spendor SP2/3E
    Head-Fi: Schiit Vali2/Sennheiser HD600 & HD25Alum/Audeze Sine.
    Aditional HW: Allo DigiOne, iFi iDefender, iPurifier, iPower

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •