Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Compiling LMS

  1. #1
    Senior Member dolodobendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Braunschweig, Germany
    Posts
    716

    Compiling LMS

    I want to try to make some changes to LMS. I compiled the scan module once on my raspi (already forgot how I did that, but I assume I could do it again), so I have some "knowledge".

    I would like to compile it on Windows, as this is the fastest machine I have and that's where my Test-LMS is installed. What do I need?

    I'm sorry as this may sound dumb and I'm in way over my head. That is probably true. Only one way to find out.
    QLMS 7.9.2@2.04 x64 (digimaster) with perl 5.28 dedicated to me. :D / QNAP 469L QTS 4.3.4

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,279

    Compiling LMS

    > I want to try to make some changes to LMS. I compiled the scan module
    > once on my raspi (already forgot how I did that, but I assume I could do
    > it again), so I have -some- "knowledge".


    What parts of LMS do you want to change? Most of it could be run from
    the source (Perl is interpreted). You'd have to install ActivePerl 5.14
    on your computer (PM me if you need the installer - it's become hard to
    find on activestate.com).

    Those modules like Audio::Scan etc. are special in that they include C
    code etc. But these hardly ever need to be compiled.

    If you want to change some of LMS own Perl code, I'd suggest you get git
    set up, install ActivePerl 5.14, and clone
    http://github.com/Logitech/slimserver. You'll then be able to just run
    "perl slimserver.pl"

    --

    Michael

  3. #3
    Senior Member dolodobendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Braunschweig, Germany
    Posts
    716
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    What parts of LMS do you want to change? Most of it could be run from
    the source (Perl is interpreted). You'd have to install ActivePerl 5.14
    on your computer (PM me if you need the installer - it's become hard to
    find on activestate.com).
    As I wrote you (at least I think that I did...), I want to try to add some more tags, have a look at the menu structure. IF I get it working, I'll try to make a plugin. Never done that before, will be fun.

    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    Those modules like Audio::Scan etc. are special in that they include C
    code etc. But these hardly ever need to be compiled.
    "Hardly ever" normally means that I have to.

    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    If you want to change some of LMS own Perl code, I'd suggest you get git
    set up, install ActivePerl 5.14, and clone
    http://github.com/Logitech/slimserver. You'll then be able to just run
    "perl slimserver.pl"
    Okay, thank you, I'll give it a try. (And I'll write you a PM.)
    QLMS 7.9.2@2.04 x64 (digimaster) with perl 5.28 dedicated to me. :D / QNAP 469L QTS 4.3.4

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,279

    Compiling LMS

    > As I wrote you (at least I think that I did...), I want to try to add
    > some more tags, have a look at the menu structure. IF I get it working,
    > I'll try to make a plugin. Never done that before, will be fun.


    Oh... I don't remember all discussions and who held them :-)

    >> Those modules like Audio::Scan etc. are special in that they include C
    >> code etc. But these hardly ever need to be compiled.

    >
    > "Hardly ever" normally means that I have to.


    Good luck! Please get in touch with Andy if you need building this on
    Windows. I'm not sure what the current toolchain required is.

    --

    Michael

  5. #5
    Senior Member dolodobendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Braunschweig, Germany
    Posts
    716
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    Oh... I don't remember all discussions and who held them :-)
    It would have been a PM. Maybe I just thought about writing it. Stressful days. But who hasn't.

    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    Good luck! Please get in touch with Andy if you need building this on
    Windows. I'm not sure what the current toolchain required is.

    --

    Michael
    Thank you, I have a feeling I'll need it.
    QLMS 7.9.2@2.04 x64 (digimaster) with perl 5.28 dedicated to me. :D / QNAP 469L QTS 4.3.4

  6. #6
    jvromans@squirrel.nl
    Guest

    Compiling LMS

    On Thu, 5 Sep 2019 13:47:01 +0200, Michael Herger <slim (AT) herger (DOT) net> wrote:

    > You'd have to install ActivePerl 5.14
    > on your computer (PM me if you need the installer - it's become hard to
    > find on activestate.com).


    I find ActivePerl very much outdated. Many of the Perl modules lag years
    behind. Current Perl version is 5.30! AS support is stalled.

    Personally I switched from ActiveState to Strawberry, which is up to date,
    complete, and actively maintained.

    I assume LMS can run with Strawberry?

    -- Johan

  7. #7
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,279

    Compiling LMS

    >> You'd have to install ActivePerl 5.14
    >
    > I find ActivePerl very much outdated. Many of the Perl modules lag years
    > behind. Current Perl version is 5.30! AS support is stalled.


    AS Perl in general or the version we're using? The problem is that we'd
    have to re-compile all modules for a newer Perl version - which I'm not
    looking forward to at all... Pull requests are welcome!

    > Personally I switched from ActiveState to Strawberry, which is up to date,
    > complete, and actively maintained.
    >
    > I assume LMS can run with Strawberry?


    You might need to build the binaries yourself. But then it certainly should.

    --

    Michael

  8. #8
    Senior Member dolodobendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Braunschweig, Germany
    Posts
    716
    I'd appreciate it if you could tell me, where the menus are defined. Then I'd had a starting point.
    QLMS 7.9.2@2.04 x64 (digimaster) with perl 5.28 dedicated to me. :D / QNAP 469L QTS 4.3.4

  9. #9
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,279

    Compiling LMS

    > I'd appreciate it if you could tell me, where the menus are defined.
    > Then I'd had a starting point.


    Slim::Menu::BrowseLibrary is creating the music menus. This in turn is
    using all the albums/artists/genres etc. queries, as defined in
    Slim::Control::Queries.

    --

    Michael

  10. #10
    Senior Member dolodobendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Braunschweig, Germany
    Posts
    716
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post

    Slim::Menu::BrowseLibrary is creating the music menus. This in turn is
    using all the albums/artists/genres etc. queries, as defined in
    Slim::Control::Queries.
    Great, thank you!
    QLMS 7.9.2@2.04 x64 (digimaster) with perl 5.28 dedicated to me. :D / QNAP 469L QTS 4.3.4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •