Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44
  1. #1

    Having problems with Pi 3B+ wifi

    Hello
    I am running pCP LMS on Pi 3B+. All works on lan but wifi is causing problems. I can scan and find wifi networks but no wifi IP.
    Main thing is it doesn't connect without lan.
    Any ideas.
    Thanks
    diode84
    Last edited by diode84; 2019-09-15 at 02:11. Reason: Not Solved after all

  2. #2
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2,359
    Keep your lan cable plugged in until you get the wifi working.

    How are you configuring your wifi? 2.4g or 5g. Is your country code correct? Can you post your scan results? Also with your wifi configured, what is in your pcp_boot.log?
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by paul- View Post
    Keep your lan cable plugged in until you get the wifi working.

    How are you configuring your wifi? 2.4g or 5g. Is your country code correct? Can you post your scan results? Also with your wifi configured, what is in your pcp_boot.log?
    Don't usually have problems with wifi setup on many pcs, country code is set to GB, capitals. Scan gives only two networks, both mine on the two frequencies the router works at. I think one high band and one low. I have never used high as walls too thick.
    How can I access pcp_boot.log
    For scan wifi mac I get Wifi IP: is missing - [Reboot] or [Save] to connect.

    Think this is it
    Starting piCorePlayer setup...
    Loading pCP function files and pCP configuration file...Done.
    Checking for boot codes on mmcblk0p1...
    Trying to mount /dev/mmcblk0p1.
    Checking for ssh...found, ssh will start.
    Checking for netusb... newpcp.cfg not found on mmcblk0p1.
    Setting piCorePlayer repository...Done.
    Generating drop-down list...Done.
    Starting wifi...
    Starting WiFi on wlan0...
    Done.
    Loading configuration file...Done.
    Loading pcp-lms-functions...Done.
    Waiting for soundcard USB to populate. Done (1).
    Waiting for network. Done (1).
    Starting ALSA configuration...Done.
    Starting Openssh server...Done.
    Mounting USB Drives...
    Disk a51e040e-dd4e-4836-9fbf-c73d5d73429b Not Found, Please insert drive and Reboot.
    Done.
    Mounting Network Drive...
    Done.
    Starting LMS, this can take some time...[70-01-01 00:00:18.4677] main::init (387) Starting Logitech Media Server (v7.9.2, 1558382969, Tue May 21 06:27:23 CEST 2019) perl 5.028000 - arm-linux-gnueabihf-thread-multi-64int

    Slimserver Running pid:5418
    Done.
    Waiting for LMS to initiate..... Done (5).
    Starting Squeezelite and/or Shairport-sync...
    [ INFO ] Starting Squeezelite player: Squeezelite...
    Done.
    Starting httpd web server...Done.
    Starting auto start FAV...Done.
    Setting cpu scaling governor...ondemand Done.
    Starting Jivelite...Done.
    Loading Keytables...Done.
    Last edited by diode84; 2019-09-03 at 12:07.

  4. #4
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2,359
    Hmm, that all looks perfectly normal, Is that the whole boot log?
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  5. #5
    That is the whole boot.log. It seems to say it has started the wifi. Any ideas?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    189
    Can you provide the output of sudo ifconfig and the contents of /etc/dhcpcd.conf?

    It's ok to obfuscate the ip addresses, primarily need to know if they exist in either and match for both.
    "You know, I'm all for progress. It's change I object to."
    Mark Twain

    LMS 7.9 on Raspberry Pi3 w/200GB SD
    5 Receivers, 1 Boom, 2 Radios, 1 Controller, 1 iPhone & 1 iPad w/iPeng, 1 Android phone w/Squeezer

  7. #7
    [QUOTE=JeffHart;949634]Can you provide the output of sudo ifconfig and the contents of /etc/dhcpcd.conf?.[QUOTE]

    Tell me how to do this and I will give you the information.

    Not sure I know what It's ok to obfuscate the ip addresses, primarily need to know if they exist in either and match for both.) means.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    189
    I'll be honest, I'm not familiar with PiCore so there may be an easier way.

    If you can get to a command prompt, type "sudo ifconfig", you should see something like:

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 09:00:12:90:e3:e5
    inet addr:192.168.1.29 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::a00:27ff:fe70:e3f5/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:54071 errors:1 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:48515 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:22009423 (20.9 MiB) TX bytes:25690847 (24.5 MiB)
    Interrupt:10 Base address:0xd020
    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:83 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:83 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:7766 (7.5 KiB) TX bytes:7766 (7.5 KiB)
    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 58:a2:c2:93:27:36
    inet addr:192.168.1.64 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::6aa3:c4ff:fe93:4746/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:436968 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:364103 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:115886055 (110.5 MiB) TX bytes:83286188 (79.4 MiB)

    The relevant info is under wlan0, specifically the inet addr - which should be the WiFi IP address.

    For the contents of /etc/dhcpcd.conf, type "sudo cat /etc/dhcpcd.conf" and it should display the contents - again looking for anything specific to wlan0.

    re: Obfuscation - I'm a bit paranoid; in this reference obfuscation just means use fake info; so in the example above, instead of using 192.168.1.64, you might type 190.160.0.99. Just keep track of the actual IP address used to determine if it's referenced in the dhcpcd.conf file
    "You know, I'm all for progress. It's change I object to."
    Mark Twain

    LMS 7.9 on Raspberry Pi3 w/200GB SD
    5 Receivers, 1 Boom, 2 Radios, 1 Controller, 1 iPhone & 1 iPad w/iPeng, 1 Android phone w/Squeezer

  9. #9
    Is it possible to get a command prompt in pCP.
    Thanks

  10. #10
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    3,285
    Quote Originally Posted by diode84 View Post
    Is it possible to get a command prompt in pCP.
    Thanks
    Use something like putty, login username = tc - password = piCore

    Name:  putty.jpg
Views: 89
Size:  68.9 KB
    Server - LMS 7.9.2 Pi4B 4GB/Flirc case/pCP 6.0.0-b7 18K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi3B+/pCP 5.0.0/pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/jivelite,
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 5.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Squeezebox Boom
    Garage - Pi3B/Pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/pCP 5.0.0 > Edifier R980T

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB3, 1xRadio, 6xRPi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •