Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: FLAC converter

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    110

    FLAC converter

    Hello
    It seems like my copy of EAC no longer converts cd's to FLAC. They wind up as WAV files. My touch doesnt see them. What burners are best to use for FLAC?

    Thanks
    Mike

  2. #2
    Senior Member Julf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,509
    Quote Originally Posted by citabria327 View Post
    Hello
    It seems like my copy of EAC no longer converts cd's to FLAC. They wind up as WAV files. My touch doesnt see them. What burners are best to use for FLAC?
    Sounds like a settings issue, but if not, just use the reference FLAC encoder to convert the WAVs to FLACs.
    "To try to judge the real from the false will always be hard. In this fast-growing art of 'high fidelity' the quackery will bear a solid gilt edge that will fool many people" - Paul W Klipsch, 1953

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by Julf View Post
    Sounds like a settings issue, but if not, just use the reference FLAC encoder to convert the WAVs to FLACs.
    Thanks. so look for 'the reference flac encoder?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Percival Sweetwater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    111
    Hi Mike,

    The latest version of EAC is 1.3, from September 2016. I think that by default it already uses an instance of the flac encoder. You can also use an external flac encoder, as I do. Download the latest version of flac from: https://xiph.org/flac/download.html (Flac 1.3.2). I use the Windows 64 bit version, and extract both the 'flac.exe', and 'metaflac.exe' to a new folder at C:\Program Files\flac. You can then point EAC to this folder in Compression Options (F11):

    Name:  EAC.PNG
Views: 218
Size:  18.5 KB

    Then select 'Action_Copy Selected Tracks_Compressed' in EAC. It should compress each track after it has ripped it. In 'Additional command-line options' You can also specify the compression level and naming convention.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by Percival Sweetwater View Post
    Hi Mike,

    The latest version of EAC is 1.3, from September 2016. I think that by default it already uses an instance of the flac encoder. You can also use an external flac encoder, as I do. Download the latest version of flac from: https://xiph.org/flac/download.html (Flac 1.3.2). I use the Windows 64 bit version, and extract both the 'flac.exe', and 'metaflac.exe' to a new folder at C:\Program Files\flac. You can then point EAC to this folder in Compression Options (F11):

    Name:  EAC.PNG
Views: 218
Size:  18.5 KB

    Then select 'Action_Copy Selected Tracks_Compressed' in EAC. It should compress each track after it has ripped it. In 'Additional command-line options' You can also specify the compression level and naming convention.
    NICE! Thank you!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    619
    You might want to look at the following link to see whether you can restore the Flac compression within EAC:

    https://wiki.hydrogenaud.io/index.ph...e=EAC_and_FLAC

    If you want an easy to use Flac encoder/decoder there is Flac Frontend which gives a simple GUI to the official Flac tools (and is linked to on the ofificial Flac website).

    http://flacfrontend.sourceforge.net
    Allo Digione Signature (+LiFePo Batteries), Touch, Metrum Jade, Bryston B4 SST2, PMC OB1i speakers, HP Proliant Microserver/Ubuntu, PC/Windows 7, iPad 4, iPeng, Squeezepad.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by citabria327 View Post
    NICE! Thank you!
    if my music is stored on my I drive, is that what i should use for the encoder as well? thanks

  8. #8
    Senior Member Percival Sweetwater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by citabria327 View Post
    if my music is stored on my I drive, is that what i should use for the encoder as well? thanks
    It doesn't really matter. C:\ is usually the drive where the operating system (Windows) is installed.

    BTW, Just found a brand new version of flac (1.3.3): https://www.videohelp.com/software/FLAC-Encoder

  9. #9
    Senior Member Percival Sweetwater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    111
    If you have already ripped CDs as .wav files, I would use Foobar 2000 to convert them to flac, using the same C:\flac\flac.exe as the encoder.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by Percival Sweetwater View Post
    It doesn't really matter. C:\ is usually the drive where the operating system (Windows) is installed.

    BTW, Just found a brand new version of flac (1.3.3): https://www.videohelp.com/software/FLAC-Encoder


    thanks again!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •