Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,648
    Quote Originally Posted by rockhopper View Post
    My real concern is the frequency with which my set-up loses the Duet, necessitating re-set-up via an Ethernet connection between the Duet and my PC laptop (LMS host).
    Is the LMS host IP address statics or allocated by DHCP ?

    If allocated by DHCP - can you reserve in router the MAC address so that it is always allocated same IP address

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    14

    Dhcp

    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    Is the LMS host IP address statics or allocated by DHCP ?

    If allocated by DHCP - can you reserve in router the MAC address so that it is always allocated same IP address
    By DHCP. I believe it's possible to use static IPs with my router. I haven't tried tbh.
    However, I note the same dynamic IP address is always being used each time a re-setup is required, in my case 192.168.0.14 for the LMS host.
    Last edited by rockhopper; 2020-03-07 at 08:33. Reason: Error in text

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,648
    Quote Originally Posted by rockhopper View Post
    By DHCP. I believe it's possible to use static IPs with my router. I haven't tried tbh.
    However, I note the same dynamic IP address is always being used each time a re-setup is required, in my case 192.168.0.14 for the LMS host.
    If LMS server IP address doesn't change, what needs to be setup in Receiver each time ?

    It may be worth looking at Net::UDP tool to see which setting gets "lost" although the tool can be a pain to setup.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    If LMS server IP address doesn't change, what needs to be setup in Receiver each time ?

    It may be worth looking at Net::UDP tool to see which setting gets "lost" although the tool can be a pain to setup.

    Many thanks for your continued interest, bpa.

    The procedure I follow for re-setup is:
    Stop LMS and cut power to Duet and Router
    Connect Duet to PC laptop (hosting LMS & music library) with temporary Ethernet cable.
    Power up Router and Duet.
    Start LMS.
    Use Controller / Select Player to point it to the Duet (as opposed to my fully functional Boom), choose wireless & point it to my WiFi network, then my music library, all while Ethernet still plugged in.
    (pointing to mysqueezebox.com never works).
    Once working, unplug Ethernet and continue.

    Prior to this repeated problem, I was able to use the Duet's button to re-setup, with it cycling through the various colours until ultimately displaying bright white once music library found/playing.
    This procedure no longer works - the Duet's lights permanently display the 6 blinking reds.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,648
    Quote Originally Posted by rockhopper View Post
    Many thanks for your continued interest, bpa.

    The procedure I follow for re-setup is:
    Stop LMS and cut power to Duet and Router
    Connect Duet to PC laptop (hosting LMS & music library) with temporary Ethernet cable.
    Power up Router and Duet.
    Start LMS.
    Use Controller / Select Player to point it to the Duet (as opposed to my fully functional Boom), choose wireless & point it to my WiFi network, then my music library, all while Ethernet still plugged in.
    (pointing to mysqueezebox.com never works).
    Once working, unplug Ethernet and continue.

    Prior to this repeated problem, I was able to use the Duet's button to re-setup, with it cycling through the various colours until ultimately displaying bright white once music library found/playing.
    This procedure no longer works - the Duet's lights permanently display the 6 blinking reds.
    AFAICT - you have not reset the Receiver (i.e. you did not push the button and get slow blink Red) so this is a "Normal" Receiver operation finding LMS.
    Receiver can only find LMS after Receiver powers up and broadcasts a UDP request for all LMS on the LAN segment to reply. If the Receiver is not on the same LAN segment (i.e. network mask) then Receiver will not see the LMS replies to the broadcast messages. This might explain why you have to connect Receiver direct to PC - to ensure Receiver in on the the right LAN segment.

    I still think looking at Receiver setting with Net::UDAP tool might clarify things - it'll tell you what IP address the receiver actually think is the current LMS

    If the LED is fast flashing red ("Factory Reset and Xilinx update in progress") and not purple - then perhaps a Factory & Xilinx reset might help but then you'll have to go through a full Receiver setup (assuming Receiver is OK after a reset).
    According to another post "Pressing and holding SBRs button about 6 seconds until the LED flashes red fast does a factory reset and reprograms the xilinx chip. "

  6. #16
    Senior Member w3wilkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    1,375
    To finish up what bpa started...

    No need to ethernet connect the receiver,

    Factory reset receiver - long push front button untill fast red blink. Then release button, it will drop back to slow red blink.

    Factory reset the controller.

    Set up controller per what it tells you on the screen. When it gets to the part of selecting a receiver your receiver should show by its MAC address. Select it.

    What that does is the controller transfers your wifi login credentials to the receiver (this is the only time the controller actually talks directly to the receiver). You should see the light on the receiver turn green, then blue when it gets an IP from the router and if your LMS host is running the light should end up as dull white. Every once in a while the receiver will finish up and go to the dull white and the controller will say the setup failed... It's a lie!

    You're done except for things like maybe change the wallpaper on the controller and I also set the not playing screen saver to the analog clock.

    I will say there was one time in the over ten years I've had a receiver that I couldn't make it through setup with the controller and ended up having to use Net::UDAP to get the receiver setup completely. Other than that one time the standard setup has always worked. I do run my LMS server on a reserved IP so it's always at the same address on my network.
    Main system - Rock Solid with LMS 7.9.3 Official on WHS 2011 - 2 Duets and Squeeseslave
    Cabin system - Rock solid with LMS 7.9.3 Official on Win10 Pro - 1 RPi 3 Model B/Hifiberry DAC+ Pro/PiCorePlayer and Squeezeslave
    Squeezebox Boom - "At Large" player around both home and cabin
    Headphones and car - Android phone/Bluetooth w/full library on MicroSD card - PowerAmp music player app (similar to Material Skin)

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    AFAICT - you have not reset the Receiver (i.e. you did not push the button and get slow blink Red) so this is a "Normal" Receiver operation finding LMS.
    Receiver can only find LMS after Receiver powers up and broadcasts a UDP request for all LMS on the LAN segment to reply. If the Receiver is not on the same LAN segment (i.e. network mask) then Receiver will not see the LMS replies to the broadcast messages. This might explain why you have to connect Receiver direct to PC - to ensure Receiver in on the the right LAN segment.

    I still think looking at Receiver setting with Net::UDAP tool might clarify things - it'll tell you what IP address the receiver actually think is the current LMS

    If the LED is fast flashing red ("Factory Reset and Xilinx update in progress") and not purple - then perhaps a Factory & Xilinx reset might help but then you'll have to go through a full Receiver setup (assuming Receiver is OK after a reset).
    According to another post "Pressing and holding SBRs button about 6 seconds until the LED flashes red fast does a factory reset and reprograms the xilinx chip. "
    I'll look into this Net::UDAP tool you recommend when I get plenty of spare time.
    The IP addresses all match in terms of what my Router says and what LMS settings and logs say, as far as I can tell, but I'm not sure about the other LAN data you mention.

    I was under the impression I was doing a full Receiver set-up each time, especially if Controller displays receiver name subscripted with last 6 digits of its MAC address, rather than the name I renamed it to.

    The Duet does not respond to the proscribed procedure for a reset via its button. I'm not sure how else to perform a factory reset.
    BTW I have previously opened it up to check its physical operation and the microswitch appears healthy, chip seated securely, no signs of dry joints etc.
    The same behaviour is seen with both my old and replacement Duet receivers.

    Thank you once again for your help.
    Last edited by rockhopper; 2020-03-14 at 04:22.

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by w3wilkes View Post
    To finish up what bpa started...

    No need to ethernet connect the receiver,

    Factory reset receiver - long push front button untill fast red blink. Then release button, it will drop back to slow red blink.

    Factory reset the controller.

    Set up controller per what it tells you on the screen. When it gets to the part of selecting a receiver your receiver should show by its MAC address. Select it.

    What that does is the controller transfers your wifi login credentials to the receiver (this is the only time the controller actually talks directly to the receiver). You should see the light on the receiver turn green, then blue when it gets an IP from the router and if your LMS host is running the light should end up as dull white. Every once in a while the receiver will finish up and go to the dull white and the controller will say the setup failed... It's a lie!

    You're done except for things like maybe change the wallpaper on the controller and I also set the not playing screen saver to the analog clock.

    I will say there was one time in the over ten years I've had a receiver that I couldn't make it through setup with the controller and ended up having to use Net::UDAP to get the receiver setup completely. Other than that one time the standard setup has always worked. I do run my LMS server on a reserved IP so it's always at the same address on my network.
    As I've said, the Duet does not respond to a long push of its button in the proscribed way. All it will display is the 6 rapid blinks of red, followed by a short pause , then repeated. It does not change to slow red blinks or anything else for that matter.
    I'm not sure how else to perform a factory reset.

    Regarding the Controller factory reset: That works fine but will only find the Duet if Ethernet connected.
    There is no evidence of credentials transferring to the receiver via the coloured lights sequence.
    Does this mean there is no transfer happening?
    Do you know if WiFi credentials retained by the receiver when it is powered off?
    Or perhaps the h/w condition represented by the 6 red blinks overrides the credential transfer/coloured light process?

    BTW, I've not noticed anything common about the occasions when the setup is lost.

    The Net::UDAP tool mentioned is currently sounding like my best bet to get to the bottom of this, but I know nothing about that and I'll have to look into it.

    Thank you for your help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •