Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    14

    Duet Issues, e.g. actively streaming while flashing Red?

    Hi all. First of all, my apologies for this necessarily lengthy post.

    I really don't know whether to love or hate my Squeezebox set-up. Its absolutely great when working. A nightmare when it glitches.
    I suspect the glitches are more to do with my network rather than Logitech's h/w & s/w, but who knows, I don't.

    My Duet had recently started to fail to connect, as it does from time to time. This time however, the previously reliable techniques of re-establishing my all-wireless set-up using
    a temporary Ethernet connection, resetting router, flushing cache, etc, etc, all failed to rectify the problem.
    After wasting hours of my life yet again, I managed to get the Duet up and running (visible in LMS and with bright white light on front of the Duet) but all I got was noise
    akin to a FAX machine, so I assumed the Duet hardware or power supply was expiring.

    So, I decided to buy a secondhand Duet via eBay. I was able to set this up at first attempt and it worked fine. Great, I thought, the culprit was my old Duet and/or its power adaptor.

    However!, after working fine for a couple of weeks, the replacement Duet is now doing the same as the old Duet: i.e. failing to connect, or connecting but issuing the FAX-like screeching when it is willing to stream.

    BTW I have a Squeezebox Boom which is totally unnaffected by these issues - it works a treat, never failing to re-establish a connection when powered down, or following a power cut to router, etc.
    (another reason to sometimes hate the Duet!).

    Previously, at least the Duet's lights were consistent. When my old Duet failed to connect that last time, its coloured lights no longer appeared to behave in the usual way (blue, dull white, bright white and so forth).
    The evening before, I noticed the Duet's light was bright white even though LMS was not running.
    When the replacement Duet also started to fail, again its lights have not behaved in the usual way - it was cycling between flashing red, through to dull/bright white. I havent seen a blue or green at all.

    To further confuse me, and finally prompting me to post this cry for help, after powering everything down and starting afresh (with the replacement Duet), I once again set up the controller to re-establish
    a WiFi network connection, then used it to configure the Duet (temporarily Ethernet connected to Laptop hosting LMS & music libraries).
    Controller, LMS and Squeezer all seem happy: they see the Duet and can be used to command the Duet to play music (with Ethernet cable now disconnected), yet the Duet itself is still flashing red (waiting to be set up?).

    How can the Duet be actively streaming (either via Ethernet or WiFi) while flashing Red??

    My set-up is as follows:

    Windows 10 laptop, running LMS 7.7.5, starting automatically at Login (during the above attempts to rectify the problem, I updated to 7.7.6 but it had no effect).
    The laptop is also host to my media libraries.
    Squeezer Android app version 1.5.1
    Controller firmware version 7.7.3 r16662. Current IP address 192.168.0.14
    Duet firmware version 77 , signal strength 85%. Current IP address 192.168.0.34
    Boom firmware version 57, signal strength 75%. Current IP address 192.168.0.27
    All connected via WiFi using dynamic IPs via DHCP.
    Router (Virgin Media Hub 3.0 - a Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter) running with default config, e.g. no reserved DHCP IPs etc.
    I don't know how to check the range of IP addresses available on DHCP. I've assumed its more than the current utilisation range, or could it be 32???
    Can the router be flushed of used IP addresses? - I'm sure I haven't 34 devices in the house.

    I haven't changed any router settings. My provider (VM) might automatically upload firmware updates. Could that upset my set up?
    I haven't changed my s/w firewall settings either (AVG Internet Security).

    Is there a network set-up that would avoid these presumed network glitches?
    Should I attempt to use static IP addresses, or reserved DHCP IP addresses?

    Any ideas gratefully received.
    Apologies for all the questions.
    Many thanks.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    14

    2nd attempt.

    Hi,

    No one has commented on my previous post, so I assume it was too long and/or boring. Sorry about that.

    So moving swiftly on...... can anyone please advise as to why my Duet no longer displays the expected colour sequence when setting up, configuring then playing?
    All it displays, all of the time, is a series of 6 red pulses repeating every 5-6 seconds - even when going through setup and then playing.

    I'm hoping an answer to this may give me a clue as to why my Duet regularly stops playing, requiring re-configuration (once every few days).

    Thanks.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,855
    Can you find your light sequence amongst the list in this wiki entry ?

    http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.ph...button_and_LED

  4. #4
    Senior Member w3wilkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    1,389
    A failing power supply can cause all sorts of issues. I also had a wifi card fail and was able to find a replacement. I've seen the light on the receiver do strange things and also the music will cut and start over. I bought a generic power supply with output rated to support up to 2 Amps, set the voltage to what the receiver expected and the receiver now works fine. When I needed a 3rd receiver I just built a PiCore player with a HiFiBerry DAC+ and have found it to be way more reliable than the logitech receivers. Next time I have a receiver problem I'll just build another PiCore player, easy peezy.
    Main system - Rock Solid with LMS 7.9.3 Official on WHS 2011 - 2 Duets and Squeeseslave
    Cabin system - Rock solid with LMS 7.9.3 Official on Win10 Pro - 1 RPi 3 Model B/Hifiberry DAC+ Pro/PiCorePlayer and Squeezeslave
    Squeezebox Boom - "At Large" player around both home and cabin
    Headphones and car - Android phone/Bluetooth w/full library on MicroSD card - PowerAmp music player app (similar to Material Skin)

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    14

    Blinking Red x6

    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    Can you find your light sequence amongst the list in this wiki entry ?

    http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.ph...button_and_LED
    Thank you for your post, bpa.
    Yes, my light sequence of 6 red blinks is there, denoting a Hard Error code meaning "UUID not set/all zeros".
    Unfortunately I have no idea of the significance of this.
    Clearly it's not stopping configuration of the Duet and I assume whatever the trigger is, it supersedes the usual colour sequence during set-up through to white when connected and playing.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,855
    Quote Originally Posted by rockhopper View Post
    Thank you for your post, bpa.
    Yes, my light sequence of 6 red blinks is there, denoting a Hard Error code meaning "UUID not set/all zeros".
    Unfortunately I have no idea of the significance of this.
    Clearly it's not stopping configuration of the Duet and I assume whatever the trigger is, it supersedes the usual colour sequence during set-up through to white when connected and playing.
    You are certain the LED colour is actually purplish and not red.

    The UUID is used to identify the player uniquely to LMS - usually it is the MAC address.
    MAC addresses have been known to be reset to zero on older SB players.

    Is the MAC address of your receiver all zeroes ?

    You may have use NET::UDAP to configure receiver (see https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...iguration-tool )


    edit:

    The MAC address for a player is shown in the LMS WebGUI Settings/Information tab
    Last edited by bpa; 2020-03-06 at 13:41.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    14

    Power supply?

    Quote Originally Posted by w3wilkes View Post
    A failing power supply can cause all sorts of issues.........
    Thank you for your post w3wilkes.
    I tried swapping the power supplies but it had no effect.
    My use of SB kit is effectively plug & play, but having read yours and many other posts which describe building components to improve setups I will have to look into how involved that is.
    However, thank you for your comments.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    14

    Oops! Red not Purple

    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    You are certain the LED colour is actually purplish and not red........
    Hi bpa.
    I misread the Wikipedia table and was too quick seeing the hard error codes, not to notice they are associated with purple blinks. Sorry for the confusion.

    My blinks are definitely red. I've seen purple with previous problems.

    I do get 6 red blinks. It would be great to know what that denotes.

    I recall seeing a subset of the Mac address in the name of the device when first set up via the controller. Also the Mac address is shown (non-zero) as seen in the list of IP devices in my Router config.
    So I think the 6 purple blinks meaning is a red herring (of my making).

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,855
    Quote Originally Posted by rockhopper View Post
    Hi bpa.
    I misread the Wikipedia table and was too quick seeing the hard error codes, not to notice they are associated with purple blinks. Sorry for the confusion.

    My blinks are definitely red. I've seen purple with previous problems.

    I do get 6 red blinks. It would be great to know what that denotes.

    I recall seeing a subset of the Mac address in the name of the device when first set up via the controller. Also the Mac address is shown (non-zero) as seen in the list of IP devices in my Router config.
    So I think the 6 purple blinks meaning is a red herring (of my making).
    The Wiki is written by a user so peerhaps they are mistaken.

    Check the MAC address is the same as label on bottom - WebUI Settings/Information

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    14

    MAC address OK

    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    The Wiki is written by a user so peerhaps they are mistaken.

    Check the MAC address is the same as label on bottom - WebUI Settings/Information
    Wiki errors are always possible, sadly. Let's see if anyone can verify..?
    The MAC address is the same.

    PS. I can live with red blinks, if they cannot be diagnosed.
    My real concern is the frequency with which my set-up loses the Duet, necessitating re-set-up via an Ethernet connection between the Duet and my PC laptop (LMS host).
    Please see original post for details, if interested.
    Many thanks for your input.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •