Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27
  1. #21
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,271

    Can't choose (add) library folders

    Ok, turns out it's yet another difference between the binaries available
    to you, and running LMS from the source. Updated my Windows. It would
    play just fine with my test environment. But if I install the build,
    then it fails. WTF.

    --

    Michael

  2. #22
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,271

    Can't choose (add) library folders

    Now that's really an odd case. I don't know what triggered this issue.
    Whether it's an update in Windows or Perl or a module in between (though
    we haven't updated any of the latter two recently). But turns out that
    some combinations of them would not return the root folder when opening
    "c:", but the "current folder" on that drive. Eg. imagine LMS is running
    from "c:\program files\squeezebox". If it now asked for files in "C:",
    it would get the list of files and folders in "c:\program
    files\squeezebox", rather than "c:"!

    The fact that drive d: would work is probably thanks to the fact that
    LMS hadn't changed folder on that drive or whatever.

    I've been able to reproduce this on the build host, even running from
    the source. On my dev machine I didn't succeed. I even compared Perl
    module versions etc.

    But anyway: I now added a line to add the slash in case only the drive
    letter was given. Let's see whether this is working for everybody. New
    builds should be available shortly.

    --

    Michael

  3. #23
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    3,078
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    New
    builds should be available shortly.

    Michael
    That seems to have sorted the problem.

    Name:  update.jpg
Views: 40
Size:  22.2 KB
    Server - LMS 7.9.2 Pi4B 4GB/pCP 6.0.0 18K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi3B+/pCP 5.0.0/pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/jivelite,
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 5.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Squeezebox Boom
    Garage - Pi3B/Pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/pCP 5.0.0 > Edifier R980T

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB3, 1xRadio, 6xRPi

  4. #24
    Senior Member dolodobendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Braunschweig, Germany
    Posts
    678
    Quote Originally Posted by kidstypike View Post
    That seems to have sorted the problem.
    Works here, too.
    QLMS 7.9.2@2.09.8 x64 (digimaster) with perl 5.28 dedicated to me. :D / QNAP 469L QTS 4.3.4

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    348
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    But turns out that
    some combinations of them would not return the root folder when opening
    "c:", but the "current folder" on that drive. Eg. imagine LMS is running
    from "c:\program files\squeezebox". If it now asked for files in "C:",
    it would get the list of files and folders in "c:\program
    files\squeezebox", rather than "c:"!
    That is exactly as I remember matters working with MS-DOS. 'C:' would pick up the system's idea of the current working directory for that disk/partition, not its root. Presumably Windows has maintained the tradition, I never had cause to check the point, and no longer have access to Windows.

    So, presumably, something is or isn't setting/changing the current working directory.

  6. #26
    Senior Member dolodobendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Braunschweig, Germany
    Posts
    678
    Quote Originally Posted by mrw View Post
    That is exactly as I remember matters working with MS-DOS. 'C:' would pick up the system's idea of the current working directory for that disk/partition, not its root.
    Um, sure, but that's true for every partition. 'cd' changes the directory only, 'x:' changes the partition only (thus will always bring you back to where you left that partition).
    QLMS 7.9.2@2.09.8 x64 (digimaster) with perl 5.28 dedicated to me. :D / QNAP 469L QTS 4.3.4

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    623
    Works here as well. Thanks a lot.

    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    >
    What Windows versions are all you guys using?
    I'm at Win10 Home v1809.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •