Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,808

    Jivelite for Buster

    So, I have the Raspbian Desktop (Buster) running on a rpi4b (4gb).

    Installed, I have Spotify-Connect, LMS and Squeezelite.

    Also Jivelite, see screen shot.

    I start Jivelite with a bash script.

    How do I start it without the Terminal screen being present?

    Name:  Jivelite.jpg
Views: 341
Size:  125.7 KB

    Thanks

    ronnie

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    1,640
    Try adding a space and an ampersand (&) at the end of the command
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,808
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Try adding a space and an ampersand (&) at the end of the command
    Hi Paul, i had seen that suggested somewhere online, but hadn't tried it; sadly it made no difference.

    I can start with a crontab command link and with a link from autostart.

    I have tried using a .service file and systemd, but that does not work.

    I have a feeling that Jivelite is made to start as a Desktop itself, and there is some magic dust to be added to make it start as a seperate program.

    I'm not technical enough to describe it in any better manner .

    If i run the start command from another computer it starts into a full desktop, but I want to just have a small window open in the current Desktop.

    I was able to do it before in "Stretch" with Squeezeplay, but I thought to first try with Jivelite.

    Cheers

    ronnie.

    I see fip had a website make-over a few weeks ago

  4. #4
    Senior Member Jeff07971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    1,376
    Do you want jivelite to be the only app or do you want to use the other desktop app with JL running also ?

    What desktop manager does Buster Desktop use ?
    There is a way to auto start app with some desktop managers

    Jeff
    Players: SliMP3,Squeezebox3 x3,Receiver,SqueezeLite-X,PiCorePlayer x3
    Server: LMS Version: Latest Nightly on Centos 7.6 VM on ESXi 6.5.0U3 on Dell T320
    Plugins: AutoRescan/BBCiPlayer/PowerSave/PowerSwitchIII/Squeezecloud/Spotty/Player Groups
    Remotes: iPeng9/Orangesqueeze/PC/Jivelite/SqueezeLite-X
    Music: 522GB,1.5K albums with 25K songs by 5K artists mostly FLACs

    Want a webapp ? See http://forums.slimdevices.com/showth...Webapp-for-LMS

  5. #5
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2,086
    If your script is not running from a TTY, then you should just be able to set the Display variable at the beginning of you script.

    export DISPLAY=:0
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,808
    It's all a bit weird really.

    Yesterday, if I closed the lxterminal window, both windows closed.

    I have just done that and the Jivelite window remains open and running (that will be the ampersand addition, I guess)

    So that's a step forward.


    @Jeff07979

    Ican start it from

    /etc/xdg/lxsession/LXDE-pi/autostart
    but that again gives me two windows, one lxterminal, one Jivelite as per my screen-shot.

    I want to start Jivelite in the Desktop when I want to use it, without the lxterminal also opening.

    If it would autostart into the Desktop without the lxterminal showing, that also would be ideal.



    @paul-
    I'm running the pi directly connected to a monitor,keyboard and mouse.

    I removed the ampersand from the command line and added your suggestion

    Code:
    exportDISPLAY=:0
    /home/pi/jivelite/bin/jivelite
    That gave me this screen. No Taskbar at the top and a white panel/bar on the left hand side

    Name:  aajivelite2.jpg
Views: 150
Size:  61.2 KB

    I then replaced the ampersand

    Code:
    exportDISPLAY=:0
    /home/pi/jivelite/bin/jivelite &
    and got the same screen on reboot.

    Edit: sorry about the delay with the second screenshot
    Last edited by Man in a van; 2019-08-07 at 09:08.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    1,640
    An ôexitö (without quotes) at the end of the script may well close the terminal window.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,808
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    An “exit” (without quotes) at the end of the script may well close the terminal window.
    No luck with that Paul, but thanks anyway.

    I'll just use the "&" and keep looking.

    Cheers

    ronnie

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    1,640
    Another varient ...

    <path_to_script> && exit
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,808
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Another varient ...

    <path_to_script> && exit
    Alas, no

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •