Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 6 of 53 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 530
  1. #51
    Senior Member chill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,335
    Quote Originally Posted by edwin2006 View Post
    Totally off-topic but very curious about your amplifier setup. Perhaps new thread with pictures?
    Off-topic I agree - I was planning to post photos etc in the pi-based players thread if I ever get the front and back panels finished! It's an integrated amp with 6 channels of Hypex UcD400OEM, a Hypex DLCP DSP, and an internal Raspberry Pi (with panel-mounted push buttons) occupying the USB input to the DLCP. The enclosure currently has a hardboard front panel and no rear panel at all. Just needs a final push to order the panel customisations, but this is supposed to be a winter hobby!

  2. #52
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    587
    Very nice. Any plans on integrating a 7" screen? Anyway, will wait for finished project and photos.
    Back on topic
    SqueezeBoxes: 1x Transporter (Living room) 1x SB2 (shed), 1x Radio (Kitchen), 1x Boom (Dining room), 1x piCorePlayer (jacuzzi), 1x piCorePlayer (Garden) 1x OSMC + Squeezelite (Movie room), 1x Touch (Study 2), few spare unit's
    Server: LMS on Pi3 7.9.1. on PcP 3.21
    Network: AVM Fritzbox, Netgear Smart Switch 24p, 3x Ubiquity

  3. #53
    Senior Member chill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,335
    I've now configured the 4B to replicate my 3B+, ready to switch it over into my amplifier enclosure. I have 9 buttons, each with a short and long press, so I have quite a long string to define all the button commands in sbpd:
    Code:
    sbpd -v -d -f /home/tc/sbpd_commands.cfg b,27,POWR,2,0,RSRT,2000 b,23,PREV,2,0,PLAY,500 b,22,MIX-,2,0,MUTE,500 b,24,PAUS,2,0,STOP,500 b,25,MIX+,2,0,VMAX,500 b,12,NEXT,2,0 b,19,PRE1,2,0,PRE4,500 b,13,PRE2,2,0,PRE5,500 b,16,PRE3,2,0,PRE6,500
    This turns out to be close to the maximum length of string (255) that can be accommodated in the User Commands section of pCP. So it doesn't allow me enough characters to define the player's MAC address for instance (which I'd like to do to guarantee that the buttons on the front of the amplifier only affect the player connected to the amplifier's DAC).

    I've tried to get around this by putting the sbpd command string into a script file and then executing that script file from the user commands section, but I haven't been able to get that to work. I'd like it to run as a daemon, exactly as the above code, but I found I needed to add an ampersand to the end of the command in the script file (otherwise pCP/LMS ran very slowly), and even after doing that the buttons did not seem to work, even with a 'sudo' before the command. The command configuration seemed to be set up correctly according to the on-screen messages, but the buttons didn't work.

    So two questions.
    1) How can I put that string into a script file? Or,
    2) Is there any chance that the limit of 255 characters could be raised a bit? I guess that's coming from the pCP interface, but is there any limit to the length of the sbpd parameter string?

  4. #54
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2,296
    drop the verbose output on the command line, unless you are specifcially debugging.

    Just put the line into a file. Make sure you set the executable flag (chmod 755 name-of-scriptfile) User commands get ran as root, so no need to use sudo.

    It's also good practice to put the required interpreter as the first line of the script file

    #!/bin/sh
    /home/tc/spbd-script
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  5. #55
    Senior Member chill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,335
    Thanks Paul - that seems to have done it. I'm sure I went through that permutation earlier. I haven't yet tried adding the MAC address and IP address flags, but the basic command is working from the script file now at least.

  6. #56
    Senior Member chill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,335
    A heads-up for anyone who uses a push button to toggle their pCP on and off: there's another new feature in the RPi 4B. The halt command apparently puts the device into a very low power state, from which it can no longer be woken by grounding GPIO3. One of my front panel buttons is dedicated to doing a safe shutdown (using the pCP shutdown overlay), and I had used GPIO3 for this specifically so that the same button could be used to wake the device.

    There is a way to reinstate this behaviour though. This post on the Raspberry Pi forum details how to tweak the on-board bootloader. The downside apparently is that after this tweak the 4B will draw more power once halted than the 3B does, but in my case I felt that the benefit of being able to toggle the 4B on and off with the same button outweighed this extra current draw, since my 4B will rarely be halted like this. So I went ahead and applied the tweak, and now the old behaviour is working again.

  7. #57
    Senior Member chill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,335
    Quote Originally Posted by chill View Post
    I'm sure I went through that permutation earlier.
    I've figured out what stops my sbpd command line from working, but not why. When I add the command line parameter to specify the address of the server, the command fails, and none of the buttons work. I've tried '-A 192.168.1.47' and '-A 192.168.1.47:9000'. Is that the correct syntax? Adding the MAC address with '-M dc:a6:32:03:82:22' works, and I've got the -A parameter immediately after the MAC address parameter.

    EDIT: Solution here.
    Last edited by chill; 2019-07-13 at 07:14.

  8. #58
    Senior Member chill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,335
    Post about heat issues removed, as I felt it was off-topic for this pCP6 beta thread. I'll post in the 4B thread instead.
    Last edited by chill; 2019-07-13 at 03:10. Reason: Post removed for being off-topic

  9. #59
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2,296
    Let’s take the sbpd talk to that thread too.
    Last edited by paul-; 2019-07-13 at 12:13.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  10. #60
    Not quite sure what's happened here, but any help welcomed.

    Got piCorePlayer up and running on my RPi4, installed LMS and created a mount to an external USB disk

    Went into LMS and got it to do a scan

    It found c350 folder, but no MP3s

    Tried various different things (reboots etc) and then PCP started saying something about the mount point had changed?

    Anyway, the external HDD is now totallt borked - can't mount it in Windows etc - constant "device not ready" or the disk format is RAW, can't do anything with Windows Disk Manager etc.

    Windows Disk Manager sees the disk (i.e. it's "Disk 1" and it's "not initialised") when I try to initialise it, once again I just get "The device is not ready" again.

    Looks totally screwed.

    Any thoughts on a) what might have happened, and b) if there's anything I can do to recover the disk?

    Thanks,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •