Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 13 of 135 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363113 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 130 of 1349
  1. #121
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3,255
    I read that the other day. It's amazing what think they deserve......when they paid absolutely nothing for it.

    I'll do what I can to keep it supported for pCP. I really don't like the other solutions.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  2. #122
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    67
    Is there a way of seeing what the CPU load is at any given point within PCP. I can see the CPU temperature (under diagnostics) but it would be good to see how hard the CPU is working at the same point? I'm thinking along the lines of Max2Play which shows the CPU load in conjunction with the temperature.

    Thanks

  3. #123
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3,255
    No there is not a way to do it from the web interface. You can easily log in via ssh and run "top"
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  4. #124
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    67
    Many thanks for clarifying Paul.

    May I ask one further beginners question;
    I'm aware that a firmware update was issued for the Pi4 a few weeks ago which is supposed to help with the core temperature, something to do with the usb chip I think. Anyway, how should I go about updating my Pi4 or will it eventually be included in a future pCP release?

    Thanks
    Ashley

  5. #125
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3,255
    Quote Originally Posted by acanning View Post
    Many thanks for clarifying Paul.

    May I ask one further beginners question;
    I'm aware that a firmware update was issued for the Pi4 a few weeks ago which is supposed to help with the core temperature, something to do with the usb chip I think. Anyway, how should I go about updating my Pi4 or will it eventually be included in a future pCP release?

    Thanks
    Ashley
    That is a firmware flash that must be manually applied. Just open a ssh session and follow the directions given by the rpi folks. The odd thing is that they have not released this patch in any official way. There is a link to the thread somewhere in this thread. Iĺm using my phone right now, so a bit hard for me to search for it.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  6. #126
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    3,522
    Quote Originally Posted by paul- View Post
    That is a firmware flash that must be manually applied. Just open a ssh session and follow the directions given by the rpi folks. The odd thing is that they have not released this patch in any official way. There is a link to the thread somewhere in this thread. Iĺm using my phone right now, so a bit hard for me to search for it.

    Start at 38 mins


  7. #127
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    2,716
    It might not have made its way into the standard release from RPi team because of some people reporting that it was causing issues for their USB3 devices.
    ISTR some saying that transfer speeds slowed down a lot.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  8. #128
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    3,522
    I tried the firmware flash (and so, I think, did chill) I found it made only a slight difference

    https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/v...59e1a&start=75


    kidstypike reference this

    https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/v...t=375#p1518239

    There have been a lot of updates since these posts.

    There a a lot of cheap fans to get by with.

    I think it's best to wait for a proper announcement from the rpi people.

    ronnie

  9. #129
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    67
    Many thanks Chaps.

    I think I'll wait and see how things pan out. My Pi4 isn't running too hot but I can't resist tinkering which probably isn't wise as I haven't really got a clue what I doing!! It's also dawned on me that as I'm not using the USB interface I doubt the update will benefit me at all

    Cheers
    Ashley

  10. #130
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    2

    HiFiBerry Dac+ Driver Integration

    Hello,

    I am new to this forum and have what I hope is a quick question. I recently purchased a Pi 4 4GB and got it up and running with 6.0.0-b1 beta. I fully realize this is a beta release and under development. My goal was to do some preliminary testing to see if the Pi 4 could replace a desktop computer for running LMS and also function as a player at the same time. I purchased a HiFiBerry Dac+ to experiment with.

    Although I have been able to get picoreplayer and LMS up and running, I have not yet been able to get the HiFiBerry Dac+ to play. I have a couple other Pis (2, 3B+) running earlier versions of picoreplayer using this same model DAC. It seems that when I select the HiFiBerry Dac+ (Audio output device= HiFiBerry AMP (and +), hw:CARD=sndrphifiberry) troubles begin, where the Dac+ is not properly recognized and Squeezelite fails to start. I contacted HiFiBerry and they indicated that the Pi 4 drivers for the HiFiBerry DAC+ have been released and they suggested I inquire whether the drivers have been incorporated into this version of picoreplayer.

    Have the drivers been incorporated into the beta build? If they have not, no worries, I will focus on testing LMS for now. If they have, any suggestions as to what I might be doing wrong? I am about to swap the new Dac for another one (same model) to ensure the new one is not defective. As mentioned earlier, all of my other installs have worked without a hitch.

    Thank you very much.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •