Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    406

    Installing LMS on a cloud server

    Did anyone try to install LMS on a cloud server (eg from ionos/1und1).

    I wanna try, the idea is to install the LMS package there, copy my database ( library.db or the whole "cache"-directory ) onto the server and then adressing it from "all over the world" on http://*myIP*:9000 )

    Can anyone tell if this works or if there should be any problems I don't see yet?

    They offer LINUX with either
    CentOS 6
    CentOS 7
    Debian 8
    Debian 9
    Ubuntu 16.04
    Ubuntu 18.04

    Which should be best for installing LMS and which LMS installer do I have to chose (sorry for the stupid question, but I'm running LMS for Windows since more than 10 years )

    THANKS!

    PS: Just to add: I don't wanna use it to listen MUSIC over the www, I know this won't work (for the library is on my PC offline). I only wanna use the database function-s.
    Last edited by frank1969; 2019-06-27 at 03:40.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    3,122
    Quote Originally Posted by frank1969 View Post
    Did anyone try to install LMS on a cloud server (eg from ionos/1und1).

    I wanna try, the idea is to install the LMS package there, copy my database ( library.db or the whole "cache"-directory ) onto the server and then adressing it from "all over the world" on http://*myIP*:9000 )

    Can anyone tell if this works or if there should be any problems I don't see yet?

    They offer LINUX with either
    CentOS 6
    CentOS 7
    Debian 8
    Debian 9
    Ubuntu 16.04
    Ubuntu 18.04

    Which should be best for installing LMS and which LMS installer do I have to chose (sorry for the stupid question, but I'm running LMS for Windows since more than 10 years )

    THANKS!

    PS: Just to add: I don't wanna use it to listen MUSIC over the www, I know this won't work (for the library is on my PC offline). I only wanna use the database function-s.
    From your precious thread about this I guess nobody else has tried. Why not try it and report back?

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,311

    Installing LMS on a cloud server

    > Did anyone try to install LMS on a cloud server (eg from ionos/1und1).

    Certainly should be possible, if you've got "root access". Eg. are
    allowed to install any software package.

    > I wanna try, the idea is to install the LMS package there, copy my
    > database ( library.db or the whole "cache"-directory ) onto the server
    > and then adressing it from "all over the world" on http://*myIP*:9000 )


    I'm not sure this will work: if LMS can't find the files it would start
    removing them from the database.

    I believe you'd be better off trying to find some SQLite browser you can
    install as a web service.

    --

    Michael

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    406
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    I'm not sure this will work: if LMS can't find the files it would start
    removing them from the database.
    Many thanks again. On windows it works (Copy the .db from Desktop PC to Laptop and can browse it when I'm on the road with my Laptop.
    So I'll give it a try and report it here.

    What configuration You would recommend (Debian, Ubuntu, CentOS)?

  5. #5
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,311

    Installing LMS on a cloud server

    > What configuration You would recommend (Debian, Ubuntu, CentOS)?

    I got used to using Debian (Raspbian, to be exact :-)). It's not as up
    to date as Ubuntu, but often easier to maintain for that reason.

    --

    Michael

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    4,074
    Quote Originally Posted by frank1969 View Post
    PS: Just to add: I don't wanna use it to listen MUSIC over the www, I know this won't work (for the library is on my PC offline). I only wanna use the database function-s.
    On the contrary, it would work if you copied your music there and if you have sufficient bandwidth at the player end but its definitely not safe to do so unless a VPN is involved.
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    406
    I promised to report and the most important things:
    1. It works
    2. ... halfway

    First of all I installed on Windows Server (2019) - I'm a "Windows Kid" and so it was easier to me to compare and copy to and from my local installation.

    What I did?
    I installed LMS (for Windows, lastest nightly) on the Cloud Server - it worked.
    Then I stopped LMS, deleted the "cache" directory and copied the whole "cache" directory from my local installation of LMS to the Cloud Server.
    I restarted the LMS, called the web interface ( http://*MyIP*:9000/ ) from any other computer on the www - works.

    The only thing that DON'T work (but works on my local installation of LMS) is the search box.

    "Advanced Search" works fine.
    Browsing from the homepage artists, albums, compilations ... works perfectly - and if i browse / "click" an artist, it shows all albums this artist is on.
    Everything works as it should be,

    The only thing that doesn't work is the searchbox (from the homepage) it shows no results.
    Even the Search from homepage (beneath the browing sections) gives no result.
    (e.g. it shows "Home > Search > Artists (Beatles)" without results - but I definitely own songs and abums by the Beatles)

    If I see it right, it's the "search.html" that is not working (while the "advanced_search.html" is working fine).

    Any idea what causes this behaviour and how to solve it?

    Side information:
    I use "squeezer" on Android which seems to work in a similar way and brings no results as well while browsing works perfectly.
    Curious thing: When I perform a search for "Rock" btw. I get no results either in albums, artists nor songs - but I get some hits in "genres" (rock, rocknroll, hardrock)..
    Maybe this helps to locate the problem?

    Thanks
    Frank
    Last edited by frank1969; 2019-07-15 at 04:55.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •