Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    PiCorePlayer 64bit

    The new Raspberry Pi 4 top tier has 4gb DDR4 RAM - it's already the most popular model and has sold out.

    Will PiCorePlayer now switch to 64bit in order to address this 4gb RAM?

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2,001
    .......when they have a functional 64bit kernel, maybe.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  3. #3
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,269

    PiCorePlayer 64bit

    > Will PiCorePlayer now switch to 64bit in order to address this 4gb RAM?
    AFAIK Raspbian is still 32 bit only.

    --
    --

    Michael

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    314
    Quote Originally Posted by bennyboyph View Post
    Will PiCorePlayer now switch to 64bit in order to address this 4gb RAM?
    No need - 32-bits can address full 4GB.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Tony T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    941
    Will there be any noticable difference in PiCorePlayer going from a Pi3 to a 4?
    Tony
     SBTouch ♪ SBRadio ♬

  6. #6
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2,001
    I made a few comments in the piCorePlayer 5.0.0 thread......
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  7. #7
    Senior Member Tony T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    941
    Thanks, just read them.
    I use pCp to run LMS, so I'll get the 4.
    A new case will be needed, so I'll wait until the 4 is in stock and cases are available.
    Tony
     SBTouch ♪ SBRadio ♬

  8. #8
    Senior Member M-H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    117

    pi3b vs pi4b

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony T View Post
    Will there be any noticable difference in PiCorePlayer going from a Pi3 to a 4?
    I've just made a setup with my new pi4x4 and pcp600B1, and it is quite noticeably faster.
    As it is also my LMS with local storage, so the fast HD on USB3 is also contributing to the overal performance.

    YMMV but this is a real upgrade.

    M-H
    Pi based multi-room audio system powered by PiCorePlayer(s):
    Pi3B with Phat-dac in a Rasptouch, 2 pi B+ with Cirrus Logic Audio Card, Pi Zero with Phat-beat , and a few other tests...

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    180
    Quote Originally Posted by M-H View Post
    I've just made a setup with my new pi4x4 and pcp600B1, and it is quite noticeably faster.
    No doubt it's faster. See Phoronix test.

    Speed isn't the only thing that matters. I prefer a Pi which can stay cool without a fan.

    /Claus
    Last edited by cfuttrup; 2019-07-16 at 12:55.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •