Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Senior Member Ikabob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,485

    “Spotty.exe has stopped working” Therefore, no LMS.

    The message error message “spotty.exe has stopped working” has prevented my LMS from working. I can no longer use my Squeezeboxes via LMS. Sad and I miss them. Any correction for this would be appreciated very much.
    Ikabob


    Squeezebox Touch w/LMS V7.9; Benchmark DAC1 USB;Marantz Pre-amp; SAE Amplifier;ESS Heil Speakers(main listening speakers plus various additional speakers).
    Multiple players: SqueezeBooms,SqueezeRadios; SB3;
    Services:Rhapsody;Slacker;RadioTunes;Spotify (+Triode's Plugin);CalmRadio,Napster,
    Ipeng remote controller.

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,260

    =?utf-8?b?4oCcU3BvdHR5LmV4ZSBoYXMgc3RvcHBlZCB3b3JraW5n4o Cd?==?utf-8?q?_Therefore=2C_no_LMS=2E?=

    > The message error message “spotty.exe has stopped working” has prevented
    > my LMS from working. I can no longer use my Squeezeboxes via LMS. Sad
    > and I miss them. Any correction for this would be appreciated very much.


    That would happen on any LMS start?

    Simplest workaround: rename that file (you'll find it in the LMS cache
    folder/InstalledPlugins...).

    --

    Michael

  3. #3
    Senior Member Ikabob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,485
    Michael,
    The message “spotty.exe has stopped working” is normal?
    But then it freezes thus preventing LMS from starting.
    I’m really having a problem getting LMS to work, so my ecosystem is broke.
    I’m thinking my LMS is somehow corrupted. It’s been a while since I uninstalled and then reinstalled the latest nightly update and I cannot find the nightlies in their usual location. Can you please tell me where they’re located?
    I am concerned that my LMS use is coming to an end along with all my playlists. I would like to get Spotify back too.
    I appreciate your help very much.
    Last edited by Ikabob; 2019-06-11 at 09:46.
    Ikabob


    Squeezebox Touch w/LMS V7.9; Benchmark DAC1 USB;Marantz Pre-amp; SAE Amplifier;ESS Heil Speakers(main listening speakers plus various additional speakers).
    Multiple players: SqueezeBooms,SqueezeRadios; SB3;
    Services:Rhapsody;Slacker;RadioTunes;Spotify (+Triode's Plugin);CalmRadio,Napster,
    Ipeng remote controller.

  4. #4
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    2,977
    Quote Originally Posted by Ikabob View Post
    Michael,
    The message “spotty.exe has stopped working” is normal?
    But then it freezes thus preventing LMS from starting.
    I’m really having a problem getting LMS to work, so my ecosystem is broke.
    I’m thinking my LMS is somehow corrupted. It’s been a while since I uninstalled and then reinstalled the latest nightly update and I cannot find the nightlies in their usual location. Can you please tell me where they’re located?
    I am concerned that my LMS use is coming to an end along with all my playlists. I would like to get Spotify back too.
    I appreciate your help very much.
    Michael doesn't see edits.

    Do you have ickstream installed?

    All versions here http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/?ver=7.9
    Server - LMS 7.9.2 Pi4B/pCP 6.0.0 18K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi3B+/pCP 5.0.0/pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/jivelite,
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 5.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Squeezebox Boom
    Garage - Pi3B/Pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/pCP 5.0.0 > Edifier R980T

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB3, 1xRadio, 6xRPi

  5. #5
    Senior Member Ikabob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,485
    Thank you for your response and information. Yes, ickstream is installed but I never used it.
    I’ll try an uninstall and install of LMS. I’ll also uninstall ickstream.
    Thanks again.
    Ikabob


    Squeezebox Touch w/LMS V7.9; Benchmark DAC1 USB;Marantz Pre-amp; SAE Amplifier;ESS Heil Speakers(main listening speakers plus various additional speakers).
    Multiple players: SqueezeBooms,SqueezeRadios; SB3;
    Services:Rhapsody;Slacker;RadioTunes;Spotify (+Triode's Plugin);CalmRadio,Napster,
    Ipeng remote controller.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Ikabob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,485
    Ok....uninstall and install brought me somewhat back but I continued to get that “spotty.exe stopped working” and the freeze.
    So, I uninstalled the spotty plugin and that prevented the error message and freeze.
    But, now of course I cannot get Spotify on the Squeezeboxes and I can’t find the spotty plugin to try to reinstall it. Is the plugin listed under another name? I’d like to get I have a premium subscription to Spotify and many of my playlists are based in Spotify.

    Thanks again to you for getting me back to LMS functioning. A little more relaxed now.

    Update: just found the plugin by Michael Herger. I’ll try to reinstall.
    Last edited by Ikabob; 2019-06-11 at 10:56.
    Ikabob


    Squeezebox Touch w/LMS V7.9; Benchmark DAC1 USB;Marantz Pre-amp; SAE Amplifier;ESS Heil Speakers(main listening speakers plus various additional speakers).
    Multiple players: SqueezeBooms,SqueezeRadios; SB3;
    Services:Rhapsody;Slacker;RadioTunes;Spotify (+Triode's Plugin);CalmRadio,Napster,
    Ipeng remote controller.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Ikabob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,485
    Added the Spotty plugin and began getting the same message and freeze. Is there a way to get Spotify on LMS?
    I’m running Windows 7 if that makes a difference. Is there a spotty helper or something? Am I missing something in the settings for the spotty plugin?
    Thank you.
    Ikabob


    Squeezebox Touch w/LMS V7.9; Benchmark DAC1 USB;Marantz Pre-amp; SAE Amplifier;ESS Heil Speakers(main listening speakers plus various additional speakers).
    Multiple players: SqueezeBooms,SqueezeRadios; SB3;
    Services:Rhapsody;Slacker;RadioTunes;Spotify (+Triode's Plugin);CalmRadio,Napster,
    Ipeng remote controller.

  8. #8
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,260
    Quote Originally Posted by Ikabob View Post
    Added the Spotty plugin and began getting the same message and freeze. Is there a way to get Spotify on LMS?
    I’m running Windows 7 if that makes a difference. Is there a spotty helper or something? Am I missing something in the settings for the spotty plugin?
    Thank you.
    Well, the spotty.exe you mention in the thread title is Spotty's helper application. You already had it installed. But did you ever install it correctly? Did you install the MS VC 2015 runtime (32 bit!)?

    Please get rid of ickStream asap. That's what's blocking your LMS from working correctly, not Spotty.
    Michael

    http://www.herger.net/slim-plugins - Spotty, MusicArtistInfo

  9. #9
    Senior Member Ikabob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,485
    Please tell me what is the MS VC 2015 runtime (32 bit!)? I cannot find it in the list of plugins.
    I never knowingly installed it. Is it the helper? If it is not the helper, where do I get it. The error message and freeze continues to cause LMS to stop. Everything was fine yesterday but just this morning was a problem. Thank you for helping.
    I got rid of ickstream. It was never activated or checked.
    Last edited by Ikabob; 2019-06-11 at 13:42.
    Ikabob


    Squeezebox Touch w/LMS V7.9; Benchmark DAC1 USB;Marantz Pre-amp; SAE Amplifier;ESS Heil Speakers(main listening speakers plus various additional speakers).
    Multiple players: SqueezeBooms,SqueezeRadios; SB3;
    Services:Rhapsody;Slacker;RadioTunes;Spotify (+Triode's Plugin);CalmRadio,Napster,
    Ipeng remote controller.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Ikabob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,485
    Got Spotty working. All my saved albums are gone. Not sure how to get them back.
    Thanks for everyone’s help.
    Ikabob


    Squeezebox Touch w/LMS V7.9; Benchmark DAC1 USB;Marantz Pre-amp; SAE Amplifier;ESS Heil Speakers(main listening speakers plus various additional speakers).
    Multiple players: SqueezeBooms,SqueezeRadios; SB3;
    Services:Rhapsody;Slacker;RadioTunes;Spotify (+Triode's Plugin);CalmRadio,Napster,
    Ipeng remote controller.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •