Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    martin@gregorie.org
    Guest

    Problems with LMS v7.9.2,1577548976 on Fedora 31

    Guys,

    I've just upgraded my house server to Fedora 31 (from F30) and find that
    everything works just perfectly except for LMS 7.9.2, which was v7.9.2,
    1575296326. which failed to start due to file access errors.

    Error 1: Although LMS reported the access error, evidently due to
    permission changes made by the upgrade to F31, the error message:
    "Error: Select task failed calling Slim::Web::HTTP:rocessHTTP:
    mkdir /var/lib/squeezeboxserver: File exists at
    /usr/share/squeezeboxserver/lib/Template/Provider.pm line 389."
    may well be incorrect, since deleting the directory didn't fix the issue

    So, I upgraded to LMS v7.9.2, 1577548976 - the latest nightly.

    This installed using rpm's -U option, apparently successfully because it
    autostarted put a message in /var/log/messages asking me to login and
    configure it. However, starting a browser session on port 9000 did not
    show the login and set music and playlist locations as I'd expected.
    Instead, the browser just shows a turquoise screen with a spinner and
    the message:

    "Loading Logitech Media Server...".

    The message log (attached) shows that it has stuck because there are
    three uninitialised values, $name, $shortname and $name (again)
    in /usr/share/squeezeboxserver/CPAN/Template/Context.pm at lines 100,
    116 and 168., so can I have a fix, please.

    Best regards,
    Martin Gregorie




  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,430

    Problems with LMS v7.9.2,1577548976 on Fedora 31

    > I've just upgraded my house server to Fedora 31 (from F30) and find that
    > everything works just perfectly except for LMS 7.9.2, which was v7.9.2,
    > 1575296326. which failed to start due to file access errors.


    Did LMS exist before the update? Did you install any 3rd party plugins
    before? You might want to start from scratch, removing any prefs before
    starting up.

    > The message log (attached) shows that it has stuck because there are
    > three uninitialised values, $name, $shortname and $name (again)
    > in /usr/share/squeezeboxserver/CPAN/Template/Context.pm at lines 100,
    > 116 and 168., so can I have a fix, please.


    These messages would come from a web template, not that module. I doubt
    it's caused by the default skin, as we'd have heard about this before.

    You could also try to add "--debug network.http" to the startup
    arguments in /etc/sysconfig/squeezeboxserver. That would give you more
    information about the page renderer in server.log.

    --

    Michael

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    5
    server_log.zip[QUOTE=mherger;959637]> I've just upgraded my house server to Fedora 31 (from F30) and find that
    > everything works just perfectly except for LMS 7.9.2, which was v7.9.2,
    > 1575296326. which failed to start due to file access errors.


    > Did LMS exist before the update? Did you install any 3rd party plugins
    > before?

    Yes, I was running 1575296326 for a few months before doing an in-situ upgrade of its host from Fedora 30 to Fedora 31. I don't recall installing anything but
    /var/lib/squuezeboxserver/prefs/server.prefs shows that 'bbc' and 'radiofeeds' are installed. It also shows the following:

    disabled_myMusicAlbumsAudiobooks: 1
    disabled_myMusicAlbumsVariousArtists: 0
    disabled_myMusicArtistsComposers: 0
    disabled_myMusicArtistsConductors: 1
    disabled_myMusicArtistsJazzComposers: 1
    disabled_myMusicFileSystem: 1
    disabled_myMusicFlopTracks: 1
    disabled_myMusicRandomAlbums: 1
    disabled_myMusicTopTracks: 1

    which must be inherited or defaults because the new version, 7.9.2-0.1.1577548976, has never done anything when connected to the browser except show the Turquoise Screen Of Death (TM).

    > You might want to start from scratch, removing any prefs before
    > starting up.

    What's the best way of doing that?
    Is simply deleting /var/lib/squeezeboxserver/prefs and all files in it OK?

    > > The message log (attached) shows that it has stuck because there are
    > > three uninitialised values, $name, $shortname and $name (again)
    > > in /usr/share/squeezeboxserver/CPAN/Template/Context.pm at lines 100,
    > > 116 and 168., so can I have a fix, please.[/color]

    > These messages would come from a web template, not that module. I doubt
    > t's caused by the default skin, as we'd have heard about this before.
    >
    OK

    > You could also try to add "--debug network.http" to the startup
    > arguments in /etc/sysconfig/squeezeboxserver. That would give you more
    > information about the page renderer in server.log.

    I did that and restarted LMS, which went straight into the Turquoise Screen Of Death when I pointed my browser at it.
    FWIW the LMS host has not been restarted since my last report and the browser, Pale Moon, is being run on the same system as last time (a Lenovo T440 running Fedora 31).

    I've attached the complete server.log (logrotate had started a new, empty, log before I did the latest run, so its entire content comes from the one LMS startup.
    This is 110KB of text, so its zipped.

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,430

    Problems with LMS v7.9.2,1577548976 on Fedora 31

    >> FWIW the LMS host has not been restarted since my last report and the
    >> browser, Pale Moon, is being run on the same system as last time (a


    I didn't even know about this browser before. But could you please try
    with a plain Firefox or Chromium browser? And check the JS console in
    your browser anyway. I guess this is just some JS issue in Pale Moon.

    --

    Michael

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    5
    [QUOTE=mherger;959870]>> FWIW the LMS host has not been restarted since my last report and the
    >> browser, Pale Moon, is being run on the same system as last time (a


    > I didn't even know about this browser before.
    >
    Pale Moon has been around for a few years now. It's a Firefox fork, dating from the point a few years back when Firefox came out with that really dumbed-down UI.
    It has deliberately kept the previous L&F of Firefox. IOW Pale Moon's relationship to Firefox is is very similar to Mint's to Ubuntu ir Centos to RHEL.

    > But could you please try with a plain Firefox.
    >
    I just ran up Firefox 71.0 and got exactly the same result - started OK, but when I pointed FF at it, the Turquoise Screen Of Death appeared immediately, complete with spinner and 'Starting..." message

    > And check the JS console in your browser anyway. I guess this is just some JS issue in Pale Moon.
    >
    Here you go, grabbed from FF 71.0
    ====================================== FF Developer console ======================================
    This page uses the non standard property “zoom”. Consider using calc() in the relevant property values, or using “transform” along with “transform-origin: 0 0”. zoogz:9000
    ReferenceError: SqueezeJS is not defined
    zoogz:9000:3461:3
    <anonymous> http://zoogz:9000/:3461
    ReferenceError: SqueezeJS is not defined
    zoogz:9000:3599:3
    <anonymous> http://zoogz:9000/:3599
    ReferenceError: SqueezeJS is not defined
    zoogz:9000:3671:3
    <anonymous> http://zoogz:9000/:3671
    This page uses the non standard property “zoom”. Consider using calc() in the relevant property values, or using “transform” along with “transform-origin: 0 0”. home.html
    ====================================== FF Developer console ======================================

    The systemd status output, after starting anfd before doing anything else is:

    ● squeezeboxserver.service - LSB: Startup script for the Logitech Media Server
    Loaded: loaded (/etc/rc.d/init.d/squeezeboxserver; generated)
    Active: active (running) since Wed 2020-01-08 00:29:22 GMT; 8min ago
    Docs: man:systemd-sysv-generator(8)
    Process: 827881 ExecStart=/etc/rc.d/init.d/squeezeboxserver start (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
    Tasks: 1 (limit: 4697)
    Memory: 131.0M
    CGroup: /system.slice/squeezeboxserver.service
    └─827892 /usr/bin/perl /usr/libexec/squeezeboxserver --daemon --prefsdir=/var/lib/squeezeboxserver/prefs --logdir=/var/log/squeezeboxserver --cachedir=/var/lib/sq>

    Jan 08 00:29:21 zoogz.gregorie.lan systemd[1]: Starting LSB: Startup script for the Logitech Media Server...
    Jan 08 00:29:21 zoogz.gregorie.lan runuser[827889]: pam_unix(runuser:session): session opened for user squeezeboxserver by (uid=0)
    Jan 08 00:29:22 zoogz.gregorie.lan squeezeboxserver[827881]: Starting Squeezebox Server: [20-01-08 00:29:22.2895] main::init (387) Starting Logitech Media Server (v7.9.2, 15>
    Jan 08 00:29:22 zoogz.gregorie.lan runuser[827889]: pam_unix(runuser:session): session closed for user squeezeboxserver
    Jan 08 00:29:22 zoogz.gregorie.lan squeezeboxserver[827881]: [13B blob data]
    Jan 08 00:29:22 zoogz.gregorie.lan systemd[1]: Started LSB: Startup script for the Logitech Media Server.


    ​And /var/log/squeezeboxserver/ is zipped and attached.
    server.log.zip

  6. #6
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,430

    Problems with LMS v7.9.2,1577548976 on Fedora 31

    Well, that's odd. What if you opened the settings pages directly?

    http://localhost:9000/settings/index.html

    --

    Michael

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    5
    [QUOTE=mherger;959966]Well, that's odd. What if you opened the settings pages directly?

    http://localhost:9000/settings/index.html

    --

    I used Pale Moon to do the following stuff:

    I changed your URL to: http://zoogz:9000/settings/index.html[/url
    because I'm downstairs on my laptop and LMS is upstairs on my house server, plugged it into Pale Moon and
    LMS immediately came up, accepted the first page of parameters, asked for a scan to be run, did it without any problems, but:
    - LMS didn't think my Touch exists
    - using my normal access URL: http://zoogz:9000/ still just brings up the TSOD as before.

    On spec, I woke up the Touch, which immediately showed its top-level menu and, using the 'My Music' menu item, immediately connected to LMS on zoogz and was able to select and play stuff from it.

    FWIW preferences are still where they were in /var/lib/squeezeboxserver/prefs and only half the files have been updated (this was done on the 8th:

    -rw-r--r--. 1 squeezeboxserver squeezeboxserver 6900 Jan 8 19:22 clientplaylist_000420226909.m3u
    -rw-r--r--. 1 squeezeboxserver squeezeboxserver 340 Jan 4 18:17 favorites.opml
    -rw-r--r--. 1 squeezeboxserver squeezeboxserver 162 Jan 4 18:07 favorites.opml.backup
    -rw-r--r--. 1 squeezeboxserver squeezeboxserver 5354 Jan 4 18:07 log.conf
    drwxr-xr-x. 2 squeezeboxserver squeezeboxserver 4096 Jan 8 19:17 plugin
    -rw-r--r--. 1 squeezeboxserver squeezeboxserver 11569 Jan 8 19:38 server.prefs

    and in plugin only fulltext.prefs has changed.

    In summary, LMS is now playing music, but I can't see the normal control panel I'd use from this laptop to run scans, check that music is indexed correctly, or select albums to play because that can be more convenient than using the Touch remote.

    I hope you have some other suggestions, because I can't think of anything more to look at, except to add that I have Wireshark installed if that's any use for diagnosing the problem.

  8. #8
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,430

    Problems with LMS v7.9.2,1577548976 on Fedora 31

    >> - using my normal access URL: http://zoogz:9000/ still just brings up
    >> the TSOD as before.


    add "?skipWizard=1" to the URL

    --

    Michael

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    >> - using my normal access URL: http://zoogz:9000/ still just brings up
    >> the TSOD as before.


    add "?skipWizard=1" to the URL

    --

    Michael
    Noted, thanks, but things have changed slightly. Here's what I did, and what happened:

    1) ripped and uploaded another CD using the settings interface to drive the rescan.
    2) looked a bit further on the settings interface and found the 'Interface' tool.
    The interface type was set to 'Default'. so I changed it to 'Light' with no immediate effect
    Restarted LMS
    3) Now the straight 'zoogz:9000' interface brings up the 'Light' interface, but the settings interface remains blank white
    and I can't change the playlist etc from it (is this normal behaviour?).
    4) Changing the interface to 'Classic' and restarted LMS.
    5) Now the straight 'zoogz:9000' interface brings up the 'Classic' interface, but the settings interface remains blank white
    6) However, the 'Classic' interface now works as expected It is doing everything including changing playlists and controlling my Touch,
    http://localhost:9000/settings/index.html

    I can live with this, but have two concerns left:

    a) should changing the 'Interface' setting kill off direct access to the settings screen via the
    http://localhost:9000/settings/index.html

    b) why doesn't "rpm --erase squeezeboxserver...rpm" incompletely erases that install, i.e. so that
    "rpm --install squeezeboxserver...rpm" complains that squeezeboxserver is still installed and fails to replace it.

    Thanks for your help.

  10. #10
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,430

    Problems with LMS v7.9.2,1577548976 on Fedora 31

    >> add "?skipWizard=1" to the URL
    > Noted, thanks, but things have changed slightly. Here's what I did, and
    > what happened:


    Don't note it, do it :-). Because all you did afterwards is irrelevant
    as you don't want to use the Light or Classic skin.

    --

    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •