Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    393

    SB3 to a Denon PMA-30

    Hi

    I have several Squeezebox units, mostly SB3. I've always used analogue connection.

    I am buying a new amp - Denon PMA-30 - and I see that it has digital input. I have no experience of digital at all so I am not sure if the two units will talk via digital cable, nor what cable I need to buy. Am I looking for TOSlink or SP/DIF or something else? Ideally a link to an Amazon or eBay item please

    is it something like this that I need?

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Optical-Cab...dp_ob_title_ce


    Many thanks


    Jim

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,999
    Looks good to me Jim, start cheap and then go mad

    ronnie

    See if you can score a freebie cable from whomever you are buying the amp, even cheaper!
    Last edited by Man in a van; 2019-04-22 at 07:07.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    597
    I've connected an SB2 to a denon avr-x2500h with an optical link cable. No digital coax in available on the denon.
    SqueezeBoxes: 1x Transporter (Living room) 1x SB2 (shed), 1x Radio (Kitchen), 1x Boom (Dining room), 1x piCorePlayer (jacuzzi), 1x piCorePlayer (Garden) 1x OSMC + Squeezelite (Movie room), 1x Touch (Study 2), few spare unit's
    Server: LMS on Pi3 7.9.1. on PcP 3.21
    Network: AVM Fritzbox, Netgear Smart Switch 24p, 3x Ubiquity

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    393
    Thank you both, much appreciated.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    155
    That unit has two optical inputs and one coaxial input.

    https://www.denon.co.uk/uk/product/hifi/amplifier/pma30

    Quote Originally Posted by jimwillsher View Post
    Hi

    I have several Squeezebox units, mostly SB3. I've always used analogue connection.

    I am buying a new amp - Denon PMA-30 - and I see that it has digital input. I have no experience of digital at all so I am not sure if the two units will talk via digital cable, nor what cable I need to buy. Am I looking for TOSlink or SP/DIF or something else? Ideally a link to an Amazon or eBay item please

    is it something like this that I need?

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Optical-Cab...dp_ob_title_ce


    Many thanks


    Jim

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    4,319
    The SB3 has analogue (as you know) and both optical and coaxial digital outputs and they are all live so you could connect to the Denon with both optical and coaxial and see which you think sounds best.

    NB a coaxial cable is essentially a single RCA to single RCA but the cable quality is much higher (needed) than an analogue cable.
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    NB a coaxial cable is essentially a single RCA to single RCA but the cable quality is much higher (needed) than an analogue cable.
    "needed"? I've been using a cheap, old one meter RCA analog cable from an SB3 to a Denon AVR digital input for about eight years, never had a problem. I think it might even just be one side of a stereo cable pair, as most of my single RCA cables have bright colored insulation and would not pass WAF muster.
    owner of the stuff at https://tuxreborn.netlify.com/
    (which used to reside at www.tux.org/~peterw/)
    Note: The best way to reach me is email or PM, as I don't spend much time on the forums.
    Free plugins: AllQuiet Auto Dim/AutoDisplay BlankSaver ContextMenu DenonSerial
    FuzzyTime KidsPlay KitchenTimer PlayLog PowerCenter/BottleRocket SaverSwitcher
    SettingsManager SleepFade StatusFirst SyncOptions VolumeLock

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,314
    Quote Originally Posted by peterw View Post
    "needed"? I've been using a cheap, old one meter RCA analog cable from an SB3 to a Denon AVR digital input for about eight years, never had a problem. I think it might even just be one side of a stereo cable pair, as most of my single RCA cables have bright colored insulation and would not pass WAF muster.
    I've done this too and it mostly works. But then I once tried to record TV signals on a cassette recorder and that "mostly worked" too. If you can't hear the difference then don't worry about it.


    Transcoded from Matt's brain by Tapatalk
    --
    Hardware: 3x Touch, 1x Radio, 2x Receivers, 1 HP Microserver NAS with Debian+LMS 7.9.0
    Music: ~1300 CDs, as 450 GB of 16/44k FLACs. No less than 3x 24/44k albums..

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    393
    So my Denon arrived today, and all works nicely :-) Thanks everyone!


    Jim

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •