Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,077

    Squeezelite for Windows unicode device names

    Moving this discussion from the Squeezelite-X thread

    Thanks for offering to test the changes @dolodobendan

    The beta3 build changes the console code page to 65001 before displaying the device list and restores the previous code page setting afterward. However, from your [url=https://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?108550-Announce-Squeezelite-X&p=935770&viewfull=1#post935770beta3 device list screen shot[/url], it doesn't appear to have worked.

    What does the output from squeezelite-win -l look like if you run the chcp 65001 command first?

    Would you try running beta3 with the -o "device string name from -l" -d output=debug for devices 6,7 and 8.

    If those fail, please try the above again using the older 1.9.0-1105 build
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  2. #2
    Senior Member dolodobendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Braunschweig, Germany
    Posts
    509
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    Moving this discussion from the Squeezelite-X thread

    Thanks for offering to test the changes @dolodobendan

    The beta3 build changes the console code page to 65001 before displaying the device list and restores the previous code page setting afterward. However, from your beta3 device list screen shot, it doesn't appear to have worked.
    Yes, otherwise the outputs would have been the same.

    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    What does the output from squeezelite-win -l look like if you run the chcp 65001 command first?
    Name:  lms_slx13.png
Views: 63
Size:  22.5 KB

    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    Would you try running beta3 with the -o "device string name from -l" -d output=debug for devices 6,7 and 8.
    Name:  lms_slx14.png
Views: 65
Size:  96.8 KB

    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    If those fail, please try the above again using the older 1.9.0-1105 build
    Name:  lms_slx15.png
Views: 69
Size:  39.6 KB

    I don't know if this is somehow relevant, but I cannot enter umlauts after switching to cp 65001. Also, I cannot paste them:

    Name:  lms_slx16.png
Views: 68
Size:  64.6 KB

    This seems to be a PowerShell issue, here's the command line again. (I don't care what I use. What would you prefer here?)

    Name:  lms_slx16a.png
Views: 68
Size:  33.1 KB

    Do you see edits in this forum?
    Last edited by dolodobendan; 2019-03-14 at 17:56. Reason: fixed the link to my post
    QLMS 7.9.2@2.04 x64 (digimaster) with perl 5.28 dedicated to me. :D / QNAP 469L QTS 4.3.4

  3. #3
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,077
    Edits are fine. Thanks again for testing.

    We should use the windows command prompt instead of powershell for now.

    Build 1105 doesn't find a match which is what I expected.

    Can you run the tests again using beta3 from the command prompt instead of powershell and do not change the codepage before the tests.
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  4. #4
    Senior Member dolodobendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Braunschweig, Germany
    Posts
    509
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    Edits are fine. Thanks again for testing.
    "I'm doing my part!" (Starship Troopers)

    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    We should use the windows command prompt instead of powershell for now.

    Build 1105 doesn't find a match which is what I expected.

    Can you run the tests again using beta3 from the command prompt instead of powershell and do not change the codepage before the tests.
    Name:  lms_slx19.png
Views: 66
Size:  32.9 KB

    I just realized that it's possible to rename the sound devices (at least some of them).

    Sound / Playback / Properties / General

    So you could just name your headphones bwäöüßb:

    Name:  lms_slx20.png
Views: 57
Size:  44.1 KB

    Funny to see what happens with the Mööööööööööööööööp in devices 5 and 13.
    Last edited by dolodobendan; 2019-03-15 at 08:15. Reason: Added Mööööööööööööööööp
    QLMS 7.9.2@2.04 x64 (digimaster) with perl 5.28 dedicated to me. :D / QNAP 469L QTS 4.3.4

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO, USA
    Posts
    375
    Just following along...

    Ralphy, will you be able to create a new executable that does not require installation of a run-time library? That might be a problem for me and the Microsoft Store.

    R Greg Dawson
    Squeezelite-X

  6. #6
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,077
    Quote Originally Posted by rgdawson View Post
    Just following along...

    Ralphy, will you be able to create a new executable that does not require installation of a run-time library? That might be a problem for me and the Microsoft Store.

    R Greg Dawson
    I really hope that I can.

    IIRC the need for the newer runtime happened when I added the wide character win32 api calls. Still need to build an older release on win7 to confirm.
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  7. #7
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,077
    Quote Originally Posted by dolodobendan View Post
    I just realized that it's possible to rename the sound devices (at least some of them).

    Sound / Playback / Properties / General

    So you could just name your headphones bwäöüßb:

    Funny to see what happens with the Mööööööööööööööööp in devices 5 and 13.
    What a great find. Thank you!

    I've been able to create an environment to test locally which will help speed things up.

    Name:  sp.png
Views: 41
Size:  5.2 KB

    Looks like the first issue is in listing the device names. I'll post when I have another build to test.

    Unfortunately, I won't have much time to spend on it this weekend.
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  8. #8
    Senior Member dolodobendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Braunschweig, Germany
    Posts
    509
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    What a great find. Thank you!

    I've been able to create an environment to test locally which will help speed things up.

    Name:  sp.png
Views: 41
Size:  5.2 KB

    Looks like the first issue is in listing the device names. I'll post when I have another build to test.

    Unfortunately, I won't have much time to spend on it this weekend.
    What I miss in your screenshot is the case with the missing character.
    QLMS 7.9.2@2.04 x64 (digimaster) with perl 5.28 dedicated to me. :D / QNAP 469L QTS 4.3.4

  9. #9
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,077
    Quote Originally Posted by dolodobendan View Post
    What I miss in your screenshot is the case with the missing character.
    I think the missing character(s) is related to how the list is displayed on the console.
    If can get the devices list to print the utf8 names correctly I expect the missing characters to return as well.
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  10. #10
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,077
    Quote Originally Posted by rgdawson View Post
    Just following along...

    Ralphy, will you be able to create a new executable that does not require installation of a run-time library? That might be a problem for me and the Microsoft Store.

    R Greg Dawson
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    I really hope that I can.

    IIRC the need for the newer runtime happened when I added the wide character win32 api calls. Still need to build an older release on win7 to confirm.
    Hi Greg,

    I moved back to my winxp build system and rebuilt all the support libraries and codecs there and released 1.9.1-1139 which I see there are already requests to support wasapi exclusive mode in slx.

    I was able to uninstall all vc 2008 redist packages from my test systems and squeezelite-win runs fine on winxp, win7 and win10. I still haven't managed to get the utf8 devices list working yet.

    @dolodobendan

    Would you uninstall the vc-9.0.30729.6161 package from the beta3 windows 10 tests and try running the new release?
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •