Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 36 of 36
  1. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    If the Linksys has a proper WAN port
    Then this will work in Client mode
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-LINK-TL-.../dp/B004UBU8IE
    ok, i have just ordered the WAP.
    here's my current understanding:
    my Linksys router will remain as it is in AP mode but now its WAN port will link to the new WAP's ethernet port.
    WAP will operate in client mode to the mobile hotspot.
    now, all devices on LAN should have internet access.
    does this sound right?

  2. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    4,507
    Quote Originally Posted by pavowren View Post
    ok, i have just ordered the WAP.
    here's my current understanding:
    my Linksys router will remain as it is in AP mode but now its WAN port will link to the new WAP's ethernet port.
    WAP will operate in client mode to the mobile hotspot.
    now, all devices on LAN should have internet access.
    does this sound right?
    Yes that is correct. The issue if there is one will be the new WAP reconnecting to the WiFi hotspot on demand.
    You may have to keep the new WAP switched off - no affect on anything internal but no internet - until you have switched on the hotspot then switch on the new WAP.
    Set the Linksys WAN port to get a DHCP assigned address from the hotspot.
    Also make sure that the AP built into the Linksys uses a different Channel to the new WAP and hotspot.
    You may also need to set the DNS server address in the DHCP part of the Linksys if its DNS relay doesn't work correctly - I'd opt for 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 (Google's open DNS servers) which should work through the hotspot.
    Normally the DHCP in the Linksys will give clients its own address (e.g 192.168.1.1) as their DNS server.

    EDIT. This will of course mean that the phone running the hotspot won't be able to connect to the internal devices but will have internet access.

    EDIT2. When you have got it all working give the NUC a reserved address in DHCP or set it as a static IP outside the DHCP range.
    Last edited by d6jg; 2019-03-01 at 04:38.
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  3. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    Yes that is correct. The issue if there is one will be the new WAP reconnecting to the WiFi hotspot on demand.
    You may have to keep the new WAP switched off - no affect on anything internal but no internet - until you have switched on the hotspot then switch on the new WAP.
    Set the Linksys WAN port to get a DHCP assigned address from the hotspot.
    Also make sure that the AP built into the Linksys uses a different Channel to the new WAP and hotspot.
    You may also need to set the DNS server address in the DHCP part of the Linksys if its DNS relay doesn't work correctly - I'd opt for 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 (Google's open DNS servers) which should work through the hotspot.
    Normally the DHCP in the Linksys will give clients its own address (e.g 192.168.1.1) as their DNS server.

    EDIT. This will of course mean that the phone running the hotspot won't be able to connect to the internal devices but will have internet access.

    EDIT2. When you have got it all working give the NUC a reserved address in DHCP or set it as a static IP outside the DHCP range.
    hi, just installed a brand new WAP, TL-WA801ND.
    fairly quick setup for Client mode with static IP addr 192.168.1.2.
    it connects to mobile hotspot successfully; i can see it listed on the phone.
    its ethernet port is directly connected to the WAN port of Linksys with WAN connection type set to DHCP and LAN static ip addr 192.168.1.1

    of course, all my local LAN connections work as before but
    i am not getting to the internet via WAP.
    i test this by disabling all wifi connections on my desktop and with only the LAN wired connection, i can not get to internet.

    there are few settings & behaviors i don't understand:
    1) on Linksys, its status shows WAN ip addr to be 192.168.1.1 (its LAN addr) despite the DHCP connection type.
    why is this? shouldn't it get it from the attached WAP?
    2) on WAP, i've tried to set its ip setting to what it calls "smart IP (DHCP)" which i understood that it would be assigned one from the hotspot.
    but that setting didn't seem to help either.

    hope you can shed some light...

  4. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    4,507
    It should not be 192.168.1.2. Change it to be something like 192.168.2.2 for setup purposes.

    It should pick up its real address from the hotspot but to set it up it should be different from internal addresses.

    You are nearly there.
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  5. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    It should not be 192.168.1.2. Change it to be something like 192.168.2.2 for setup purposes.

    It should pick up its real address from the hotspot but to set it up it should be different from internal addresses.

    You are nearly there.
    well, i took a break, had dinner and came down to the office and noticed WAP had disappeared from the hotspot.
    it is not listed as one of the connected devices as before. i only see this desktop.
    tried rebooting but made no difference.
    may have to factory reset and try again...

    wrt setting WAP ip addr to ..1.2, i did so for 2 reasons:
    1) it allows me to sign into and see its management pages.
    2) user manual stated something like this:
    "we recommend you configure this AP with the same subnet and subnet mask, but different IP addr from your root AP/Router."

    in any case, i set it ..2.2 and it did not make a difference.
    but then, that's expected since it's not even attaching to the hotspot! go figure...

    earlier when it did connect to hotspot,
    i saw it was assigned 192.168.43.170; hotspot itself is at ..43.1.

    i'm going to try factory reset and start over...

    UPDATE:
    this time, i simply took the default "Smart IP(DHCP)" and did not specify a static ip addr.
    then, it connected to the hot-spot.
    so at least, i'm back to pre-dinner situation, i.e., no internet.

    UPDATE:
    i connected my laptop directly to WAP and was able to surf the net.
    so that works.
    but i cannot go through Linksys. something between Linksys and WAP is broken, but what?

    UPDATE:
    i had another Linksys in the closet and set it up in similar fashion.
    i can now connect to it wirelessly and go out to internet fine.
    AND when i changed the static ip addr to automatic in the desktop,
    it also is able to connect to the internet.

    thanks again for your patience and help!
    Last edited by pavowren; 2019-03-02 at 18:58.

  6. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    4,507
    Quote Originally Posted by pavowren View Post
    well, i took a break, had dinner and came down to the office and noticed WAP had disappeared from the hotspot.
    it is not listed as one of the connected devices as before. i only see this desktop.
    tried rebooting but made no difference.
    may have to factory reset and try again...

    wrt setting WAP ip addr to ..1.2, i did so for 2 reasons:
    1) it allows me to sign into and see its management pages.
    2) user manual stated something like this:
    "we recommend you configure this AP with the same subnet and subnet mask, but different IP addr from your root AP/Router."

    in any case, i set it ..2.2 and it did not make a difference.
    but then, that's expected since it's not even attaching to the hotspot! go figure...

    earlier when it did connect to hotspot,
    i saw it was assigned 192.168.43.170; hotspot itself is at ..43.1.

    i'm going to try factory reset and start over...

    UPDATE:
    this time, i simply took the default "Smart IP(DHCP)" and did not specify a static ip addr.
    then, it connected to the hot-spot.
    so at least, i'm back to pre-dinner situation, i.e., no internet.

    UPDATE:
    i connected my laptop directly to WAP and was able to surf the net.
    so that works.
    but i cannot go through Linksys. something between Linksys and WAP is broken, but what?

    UPDATE:
    i had another Linksys in the closet and set it up in similar fashion.
    i can now connect to it wirelessly and go out to internet fine.
    AND when i changed the static ip addr to automatic in the desktop,
    it also is able to connect to the internet.

    thanks again for your patience and help!
    Hooray
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •