Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26
  1. #11
    Senior Member Percival Sweetwater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    101
    Quote Originally Posted by Raymond Woodward View Post
    You're not missing anything, it is typical UK commercial radio - sad.
    I added it to my favourites on the day it launched. I'll be removing it very soon...

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    1,450

    Scala Radio Stream URL?

    Quote Originally Posted by whitman View Post
    Paul, I finally got around to trying those URLs, and neither of them works for me. Nothing plays.
    Double-check that you have the full URL ... and not a reduced size one that the forum can present.
    Try the URL in a regular browser - such as Chrome. I just did that (frmo outside UK) and it worked fine.

    If that URL works in Chrome then it is LMS that is not liking it.
    Perhaps it has no handler available for the MP4 content.
    Check the LMS logs to see if there are clues.
    Last edited by Paul Webster; 2019-04-09 at 10:11.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    489
    (We're talking about the Listen Again URLs in post #7, for some interesting-seeming evening shows. The live URL in post #1 works fine, should you be able to stand daytime Scala.)

    Paul, yes, I gor the full URL by (on a Mac) right-clicking and Copy Link. Will not play on my LMS, as reported.

    Tried it in a browser, and plays fine, as you suggested.

    So can I fiddle with some LMS settings somehow to play .m4a streams?

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    1,450
    I suspect that @bpa will have best ideas for this.

    I just tried it (from outside UK) and logs show
    Code:
    Slim::Player::Song::open (410) Error: Couldn't create command line for mp4 playback for [http://bauerod.sharp-stream.com/scala/Scala-Mon-2100.m4a]
    So I suspect it needs a tweak to associate the data type with ffmpeg or similar.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,098
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    I suspect that @bpa will have best ideas for this.

    I just tried it (from outside UK) and logs show
    Code:
    Slim::Player::Song::open (410) Error: Couldn't create command line for mp4 playback for [http://bauerod.sharp-stream.com/scala/Scala-Mon-2100.m4a]
    So I suspect it needs a tweak to associate the data type with ffmpeg or similar.
    This is a streamed MPEG4 service. The normal LMS transcoder "faad" can handle MPEG4 files but not MPEG4 streams.
    Player like squeezelite (and possibly Touch/Radio) can play the MEG4 stream natively but older player such as SB3, Classic, Receiver, Trasnporter and Boom - need a transcoder other than faad.

    A custom-convert.conf file with the following rules should work for Linux system. Windows is a bit different. Not sure about OSX. Below has ffmpeg but if your distro has avconv - change the ffmpeg to avconv
    Code:
    mp4 mp3 * *
            # FRB:{BITRATE=-B %B}T:{START=-ss %s}
            [ffmpeg] -loglevel quiet  -f mp4 -i $FILE$ -f wav - | [lame] --silent -q $QUALITY$ $BITRATE$ - -
    
    mp4 pcm * *
            # FRB:{BITRATE=-B %B}T:{START=-ss %s}
            [ffmpeg] -loglevel quiet  -f mp4 -i $FILE$ -f u16le -
    
    mp4 flc * *
            # FRB:{BITRATE=-B %B}T:{START=-ss %s}
            [ffmpeg] -loglevel quiet -f mp4 $START$ -i $FILE$ -f flac -

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    489
    Bpa, I'm using a couple of SB3s, and running LMS on my Mac, so from what you say, looks like I need another transcoder to play mpeg4 streams. But this is all a bit over my head. Can you explain what I need to do? Thanks!

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    1,450
    That did it.

    I am running on pCP here - and ffmpeg is not installed by default so I used the pCP extension manager to install pcp-ffmpeg from pCP repository and then created a custom-convert.conf ... guide here
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...m-convert-conf
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,098
    Quote Originally Posted by whitman View Post
    Bpa, I'm using a couple of SB3s, and running LMS on my Mac, so from what you say, looks like I need another transcoder to play mpeg4 streams. But this is all a bit over my head. Can you explain what I need to do? Thanks!
    Mac aka OSX are "special" and I don't have experience with them.
    So it'll be a case of you doing things one step at a time and testing on the way.
    You didn't indicate your technical level.


    ffmpeg is needed to transcode. ffmpeg is only available for 64 bit apple. What OS release is your Mac ? is it 64 bit ?

    Can you download and install ffmpeg from this site http://ffmpeg.org/download.html - For Apple - hover over the Apple logo.

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    489
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    Mac aka OSX are "special" and I don't have experience with them.
    So it'll be a case of you doing things one step at a time and testing on the way.
    You didn't indicate your technical level.


    ffmpeg is needed to transcode. ffmpeg is only available for 64 bit apple. What OS release is your Mac ? is it 64 bit ?

    Can you download and install ffmpeg from this site http://ffmpeg.org/download.html - For Apple - hover over the Apple logo.
    Bpa, thanks.

    Hard to know how to describe my technical level, though I did indicate earlier that a lot of this is over my head. Let's say I know that my Mac is 64-bit (running macOS 10.14.4), but I had to look up what an ffmpeg is, if that helps.

    Anyway, I've downloaded and unpacked the ffmpeg, as directed, and I now have a Unix executable file called ffmpeg.

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,098
    Quote Originally Posted by whitman View Post
    Bpa, thanks.

    Hard to know how to describe my technical level, though I did indicate earlier that a lot of this is over my head. Let's say I know that my Mac is 64-bit (running macOS 10.14.4), but I had to look up what an ffmpeg is, if that helps.

    Anyway, I've downloaded and unpacked the ffmpeg, as directed, and I now have a Unix executable file called ffmpeg.
    A Unix executable is unlikely to run on macOS. Can you run it in Terminal window to check you have a compatible version ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •