Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    339

    Squeezeplay skipping to next track randomly

    When I'm playing random song mixes on Squeezeplay 7.8.0 (on Windows 10) I frequently get songs skipping to the next track before completion. I'm running LMS 7.9.1 on Linux.
    When I tried to download logs to investigate (from the LMS web GUI) I got an empty server log.
    My logging settings on the LMS web interface are set to "Error" for all log types (which presumably tells me that the skipping is not caused by errors, as the server log was empty?). Which log setting(s) do I need to change to get more info on what's causing the random skipping?

    EDIT: I should add that there is no wireless in the equation - both the LMS server and the Windows 10 renderer machine are connected to the same switch via Ethernet
    Last edited by itm; 2019-02-03 at 06:35.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    339
    OK I managed to get some logging info....the skip occurred at about 16:17 today (4/2/19). It was playing Tom Waits "Mr Siegal" (on player 0a:00:27:00:00:02), then skipped before the end and started playing the Stereophonics "Don't Let Me Down". I don't see anything obvious in here. Can anyone else spot anything?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    4,358
    Is your PC wired or wireless ? Network interruption can cause skipping
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    339
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    Is your PC wired or wireless ? Network interruption can cause skipping
    The PC renderer and LMS Server are both wired into the same switch

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    4,358
    Quote Originally Posted by itm View Post
    The PC renderer and LMS Server are both wired into the same switch
    Your log shows PAUSE a couple of times at 16:17.
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    339
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    Your log shows PAUSE a couple of times at 16:17.
    That's not something that I initiated - I left it playing when I downloaded the logs
    ???

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    3
    I noticed the same behaviour. A large portion of my collection is encoded as Variable Bit Rate MP3. Nothing visible in the logs.. Albums play fine on Touch and Radios's but SqueezePlay skips randomly, usually near the end of a track.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Quebec City, Canada
    Posts
    176
    Quote Originally Posted by itm View Post
    OK I managed to get some logging info....the skip occurred at about 16:17 today (4/2/19). It was playing Tom Waits "Mr Siegal" (on player 0a:00:27:00:00:02), then skipped before the end and started playing the Stereophonics "Don't Let Me Down". I don't see anything obvious in here. Can anyone else spot anything?
    I can't tell for sure if this is related, but I did troubleshoot a similar problem which occurred while streaming Spotify. If you are comfortable with compiling a C program using visual studio, you could try my fix:

    https://github.com/Logitech/slimserver-tools/pull/3

    Otherwise, I could make my compiled binary available for you to test.
    LMS 7.9 - 1xRadio, 1xBoom, 5xDuet,3xTouch, 1 SB2. Sony PlayStation, Emby, Chromecast v1 and v2 and...
    SqueezeAmp!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,992
    Quote Originally Posted by sle118 View Post
    I can't tell for sure if this is related, but I did troubleshoot a similar problem which occurred while streaming Spotify. If you are comfortable with compiling a C program using visual studio, you could try my fix:

    https://github.com/Logitech/slimserver-tools/pull/3

    Otherwise, I could make my compiled binary available for you to test.
    The OP log shows direct MP3 streaming - so I don't think socketwrapper is the issue.

    That said OP should post player.source INFO logging to confirm no trasncoding is taking place - never sure of Squeezeplay capabiltiies as it depends on the build.

  10. #10
    Are you sure transcoding could create issues like this?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •