Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 22 of 22 FirstFirst ... 12202122
Results 211 to 219 of 219
  1. #211
    Senior Member SlimChances's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,804
    Quote Originally Posted by JJZolx View Post
    ???

    Yes. When plugged in it's powered off of the wall power while it also charges the battery. Do you mean to say that you've never actually played the Radio while it was plugged in?
    I was referring to the VAP11G-300 and whether it could be connected to the power outlet on the radio when in battery mode. Never mind
    Logitech Media Server Version: 8.2.0 - 1614639334 @ Tue Mar 2 00:11:57 CET 2021
    Operating system: Debian - EN - utf8
    Platform Architecture: x86_64-linux
    Perl Version: 5.30.0 - x86_64-linux-gnu-thread-multi
    IO::Socket::SSL: 2.067
    Database Version: DBD::SQLite 1.58 (sqlite 3.22.0)

    One SB Touch connected by Ethernet - Denon AVR -1912 Receiver, Paradigm 4.1 speakers
    SB Touch connected by Optical to Sabaj A4
    amp and Energy bookshelf speakers
    Two SB Radios wireless

  2. #212
    Senior Member JJZolx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    11,582
    Quote Originally Posted by SlimChances View Post
    I was referring to the VAP11G-300
    My bad. I wasn't paying attention to the conversation.

  3. #213
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    198
    Quote Originally Posted by SlimChances View Post
    I was referring to the VAP11G-300 and whether it could be connected to the power outlet on the radio when in battery mode. Never mind
    It won't work on battery. The power-in of the radio is not a power-out when on battery.
    If you want to be mobile, the wlanpoke script might be a solution, even if not perfect. Alternatively you can power the vonets via an USB powerbank.

  4. #214
    Senior Member SlimChances's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,804
    Thanks
    I installed the wlanpoke patch yesterday and I am getting much better reception with almost no buffering or dropouts. I have not tried the radio outside where I was having the most difficulty.I am hoping the TPLink extender I recently purchased will help
    Last edited by SlimChances; 2021-07-06 at 05:08.
    Logitech Media Server Version: 8.2.0 - 1614639334 @ Tue Mar 2 00:11:57 CET 2021
    Operating system: Debian - EN - utf8
    Platform Architecture: x86_64-linux
    Perl Version: 5.30.0 - x86_64-linux-gnu-thread-multi
    IO::Socket::SSL: 2.067
    Database Version: DBD::SQLite 1.58 (sqlite 3.22.0)

    One SB Touch connected by Ethernet - Denon AVR -1912 Receiver, Paradigm 4.1 speakers
    SB Touch connected by Optical to Sabaj A4
    amp and Energy bookshelf speakers
    Two SB Radios wireless

  5. #215
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by frankd View Post
    I have been running several Vonets during the last couple of months (3 VAP11G-300 and 1 VAP11N-300).
    The VAP11N-300 got very hot and the LEDs coulldn't be easy covered with tape (it got also hot without tape).
    Today the VAP11N-300 died (probably victim to the heat).
    All other three VAP11G-300 are running without problem and are not running hot.
    I think the "G" version is a good option if the wlanpoke script cannot solve the dropouts. Also Vonet regularly updates the firmware and you can program the Vonets that they connect to the Access Point with the strongest signal if you have several ones.
    Thus overall a good solution for Radios, however use the G version not the N version of the Vonets...
    My VAP11N-300 died after less than a year of use. I didn't both trying to return it saying as I'm using it out of spec. I bought a TP-Link passthrough powerline adapter instead. It's a little bulkier at the wall socket, but it's not too bad.

    Meanwhile, my power supply failed on one of my Radios and the other Radio (which has been sat on my desk unpowered for a few months) is refusing to power on. I need to debug that next. Ugh.

  6. #216
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by mikitil View Post
    Thanks for the help and ideas with wlanpoke.
    I finally installed now after i found out how easy it is (ofter i found the extension and then found out to activate it also and waited then 24hours) Feels really snappier and more stable, less Buffering.
    And since i moved the one Radio wich started to lost wifi again and again (even with greart signal from a very near Hotspot, it is now stable since 3 Days. Keep fingers crossed
    Thnx
    "after i found the extension and then found out to activate it also"

    Umm. I installed wlanpoke. Do I need to "do" something after install besides reboot the radio?

  7. #217
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Starminder View Post
    "after i found the extension and then found out to activate it also"

    Umm. I installed wlanpoke. Do I need to "do" something after install besides reboot the radio?
    What you can do: make a guestnetwork with only 2.4 G, and put the radio's in this guestnetwork, if you router has 2.4 and 5 G

    The Vonets VAP11G has the same problem. I have in my home an imesh system, when i am doing something on the router, often the vonets VAP11G lost his connection.
    The VAP11G has another thing, i have a lot of experiencing with it, last days i found that the vonet was not on my guestnetwork, but in the other network, he had switched to it, because in the earlier day he had connected to it, when i had reset it the problems are gone with the wind, and now he is playing, and does his job perfect, not losing his connection.
    Logitech Media Server Versie:.8.3. 0
    OS: Ubuntu 20.04.3 LTS
    Transporter
    Squeezebox Classic
    2 logitech Radio
    Routers: ASUS RT-AX88U and ASUS RT-AX58U (Imesh) (merlin)

  8. #218
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by seanullnet View Post
    Has anyone experienced and fixed a similar WiFi connection issue?
    Hi, I have had similar problems. A working SqueezeBoxRadio that had been 100% reliable on a wifi link for several years and then suddenly started disconnecting and required either network repair, and more often reboot to get connectivity up again. I assumed it must have been new wifi interference out of my control. If I placed the unit directly in front of my AP. It did not happen, but when I placed it back into the position I wanted it (at some distance) it started with disconnects.

    I tried with little success to use ssh on the client while this was happening and even tried saving logs to another file to try and capture what was occurring. It all proved ineffective. So finally I attached to the serial interface on the SqueezeBoxRadio and waited for disconnect.
    It seems that when these disconnects occur it is not possible to simply restart the IP layer or for that matter the wpa_supplicant. Both are dependent on the the atheros wireless driver. This seems to have a bug that places it into a uni-directional state. Traffic out from the IP layer but responses do not make it to the host.
    Therefore to avoid debugging the wireless code ???? I came up with a work around:
    Essentially a simple ping based bidirectional forwarding detection mechanism, that regularly pings the squeeze server according to the info in the server config file, and if pings fail, it unloads the entire atheros driver, reloads again aquires a new IP and actually the higher layer (Squeezeplay) rides this out and the connection loss is invisible to the user application.

    Nasty but effective. To kick off the script I modified /etc/network/udhcpc_action. This now starts an instance of my BFD.sh script every time a dhcp lease is acquired. It also looks for an instance of the script BFD.sh pid file, to ensure it does not attempt to start multiple instances each time a dhcp renew occurs. The BFD.sh script does a simple job of cleaning up its own pid files and runs continuously until a disconnect occurs. It then reloads the driver modules and then exits, waits for dhcp to acquire an IP address and is then restarted by udhcpc_action, only when IP connectivity should be re-established.

    /etc/network/BFD.sh
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    loop="true"
    
    if test -f "/var/run/BFD.pid"; then
    	for pr_num in $(pidof BFD.sh); do
    		if [ $pr_num != $$ ]; then
    			kill -9 $pr_num
    		fi
    	done
    	rm /var/run/BFD.pid
    fi
    /usr/bin/logger "BFD Daemon started with PID: "$$
    echo $$ > /var/run/BFD.pid
    
    server=$(awk -F"serverInit="  '{print $2}' /etc/squeezeplay/userpath/settings/Playback.lua | awk -F"," '{print $2}' | cut -d '"' -f2)
    
    while [ $loop == "true" ]
    do
        ping -W 1 -w 10 -c 5 $server > /dev/null
        if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
          	/usr/bin/logger "Ping Bidirectional Forwarding Detection failed: Restarting wlan."
          	/etc/init.d/wlan stop
          	sleep 2
          	/etc/init.d/wlan start
          	rm /var/run/BFD.pid
          	udhcpc -R -a -p /var/run/udhcpc.eth1.pid -b --syslog -i eth1 -H SqueezeboxRadio -s /etc/network/udhcpc_action
          	#dropbear -i
          	loop="false"
        else
        	loop="true"
        fi
        	sleep 5
    done
    modified /etc/network/udhcpc_action
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    # udhcpc script edited by Tim Riker <Tim@Rikers.org>
    # zcip integration idea from here: http://osdir.com/ml/network.zeroconf.workers/2005-06/msg00000.html
    
    [ -z "$1" ] && echo "Error: should be called from udhcpc" && exit 1
    
    RESOLV_CONF="/etc/resolv.conf"
    [ -n "$broadcast" ] && BROADCAST="broadcast $broadcast"
    [ -n "$subnet" ] && NETMASK="netmask $subnet"
    
    /usr/bin/logger "udhcpc_action $interface $1 ip=$ip"
    
    case "$1" in
    	deconfig)
    		killall zcip > /dev/null
    		/sbin/ifconfig $interface 0.0.0.0
    		;;
    
    	fail|leasefail)
    		killall zcip > /dev/null
    # -v is needed to work around a bug in zcip - probably fixed in newer version
    		/sbin/zcip -v $interface /etc/network/zcip_action > /dev/null &
    		;;
    
    	renew|bound|zeroconf)
    		killall zcip > /dev/null
    		/sbin/ifconfig $interface $ip $BROADCAST $NETMASK
    
    		while route del default gw 0.0.0.0 dev $interface ; do
    			:
    		done
    
    		if [ -n "$router" ] ; then
    			metric=0
    			for i in $router ; do
    				route add default gw $i dev $interface metric $metric
    				metric=$metric+1
    			done
    		else
    			route add default dev $interface
    		fi
    
    		echo -n > $RESOLV_CONF
    		[ -n "$domain" ] && echo search $domain >> $RESOLV_CONF
    		for i in $dns ; do
    			echo adding dns $i
    			echo nameserver $i >> $RESOLV_CONF
    		done
    		if [ ! -f "/var/run/BFD.pid" ]; then
    			(/etc/network/BFD.sh &) &
    		fi
    		;;
    esac
    
    exit 0
    Last edited by aidy_w; 2021-09-10 at 06:31.

  9. #219
    Senior Member Steevee28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Mannheim, Germany
    Posts
    104
    Quote Originally Posted by aidy_w View Post
    Hi, I have had similar problems. (...) The BFD.sh script does a simple job of cleaning up its own pid files and runs continuously until a disconnect occurs. It then reloads the driver modules and then exits, waits for dhcp to acquire an IP address and is then restarted by udhcpc_action, only when IP connectivity should be re-established.
    Thank you for sharing these scripts. I have two comments:

    - why using eth1? Isn't that the wired ethernet connection? I thought that eth0 is the Wifi. EDIT: you are right. One of my radios was misconfigured. eth1 is Wifi by default.
    - I suggest using $(hostname) for hostname detection instead of fixing it to "SqueezeboxRadio" when calling udhcpc. (I have multiple Radios with different hostnames)
    Last edited by Steevee28; 2021-09-15 at 12:45.
    1x Squeezebox Classic, 3x Radio, 1x Touch, LMS 7.9.1 running on ODROID-U3, Ubuntu 16.04 and I'm happy with it! :)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •