Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 133 of 146 FirstFirst ... 3383123131132133134135143 ... LastLast
Results 1,321 to 1,330 of 1451
  1. #1321
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    OK - all the symptoms are consistent with a really really bad wifi connection. Have you considered powerline.
    I hadn't thought of powerline, but it might be worth a go before I start drilling. The room is on the same circuit as the rest of the house so in theory it should work. Though I'd prefer not to spend another couple hundred if it's not 99% guaranteed. Plus I'm running out of wall sockets.

    If the budget end of the market - like the ú25 TP-link stuff - will do the job then it's a gamble worth taking. If not then I've already got the cable and sockets for my plan to connect up the outside workshop.

  2. #1322
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    19,559
    Quote Originally Posted by Erm View Post
    I hadn't thought of powerline, but it might be worth a go before I start drilling. The room is on the same circuit as the rest of the house so in theory it should work. Though I'd prefer not to spend another couple hundred if it's not 99% guaranteed. Plus I'm running out of wall sockets.

    If the budget end of the market - like the ú25 TP-link stuff - will do the job then it's a gamble worth taking. If not then I've already got the cable and sockets for my plan to connect up the outside workshop.
    You don't need to go for the latest models but ones which use earth and not just L &N can provide better connections. Some version have a plug-through capability so no loss of socket.

    Do some throughput test with a laptop on various sockets - two sockets on the same circuit in same room can have markedly different throughput with the same remote socket.

    Meanwhile, I'll see what can be done with regard to a "max rate setting".
    Last edited by bpa; 2020-08-22 at 05:21. Reason: added throughput test

  3. #1323
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    United States, Florida
    Posts
    12,024
    Quote Originally Posted by Erm View Post
    I hadn't thought of powerline, but it might be worth a go before I start drilling. The room is on the same circuit as the rest of the house so in theory it should work. Though I'd prefer not to spend another couple hundred if it's not 99% guaranteed. Plus I'm running out of wall sockets.

    If the budget end of the market - like the ú25 TP-link stuff - will do the job then it's a gamble worth taking. If not then I've already got the cable and sockets for my plan to connect up the outside workshop.
    You'll get differing opinions on ethernet over powerline adapters. I think they tend to either work well or not work. In my own case, at my weekend cottage, I have my LMS server connected via powerline and one of the players connected via powerline. All has worked perfectly for at least 5 years.

    I used "Netgear Powerline 500Mbps Nano Adapter (XAVB5101)". I think it was about $40 for two adapters.
    Home: VBA2.5 4TB or rPi4B/pCP6.1/4TB>LMS 8.0.x>Transporter, Touch, Boom, Radio (all ethernet)
    Cottage: rPi4B/pCP6.1/4TB>LMS 8.0.x>Touch>Benchmark DAC I, Boom, Radio w/Battery (ethernet except Radio WIFI)
    Office: Win10(64)>foobar2000
    The Wild: rPi3B+/pCP4.0, hifiberry Dac+Pro, 4TB USB (LMS & Squeezelite)
    Controllers: iPhone11 & iPadAir3 (iPeng), CONTROLLER, Material Skin, or SqueezePlay 7.8 on Win10(64)
    Files: Ripping: dbpoweramp > FLAC; Post-rip: mp3tag, PerfectTunes; Streaming: Spotify

  4. #1324
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    19,559
    Quote Originally Posted by garym View Post
    You'll get differing opinions on ethernet over powerline adapters. I think they tend to either work well or not work. In my own case, at my weekend cottage, I have my LMS server connected via powerline and one of the players connected via powerline. All has worked perfectly for at least 5 years.

    I used "Netgear Powerline 500Mbps Nano Adapter (XAVB5101)". I think it was about $40 for two adapters.
    I've gone through multiple generations of powerline from various vendors and it is a bit of hit & miss. Currently Devolo 650 (expensive when new as they were latest tech), in theory deliver 600mbs - connections are usually only 100-200mbs is more than adequate. Mesh wifi doesn't do much better. So strategic CAT5e/CAT6 connection backbone is the next step but it's not easy and have been avoiding it for years.

  5. #1325
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    South Devon, UK
    Posts
    174
    Quote Originally Posted by Erm View Post
    ... After a hard won argument I have been granted permission to fit a chain of (tasteful) RJ45 sockets ...
    As part of a major house refurb I ran CAT5e everywhere around the house I could think of and still wish I'd run a bit more. One tip - most ranges of electrical socket offer a "Euro Faceplate" option for pretty trivial money, into which you can fit standard CAT5e Euro Modules (I used basic Connectix stuff - from here without a single failure). This works out a lot less expensive than using the Cat5e sockets offered by eg MK, blends with your existing power sockets and I think the quality is better as well.
    As to Powerline - I put a couple of mid-range TP-Link units into my parents-in-law 1930's very solid house (having lost the debate about running Cat5e there...) and they work really well - as per previous comments you can ignore the quoted "speeds" but they've transformed the WiFi coverage around their house, so I'm not convinced that it's worth paying the significant premium that Devolo etc. charge.
    Odroid HC1 / Armbian Stretch LMS & LocalPlayer
    4x Slim Devices SB3 (White)
    1x Boom, 1x Radio
    2x Joggler + Squeezeplay / Squeezelite + Topping TP30

  6. #1326
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    185

    The Sleeping Forecast and other BBC Sounds items not in the menus

    May I humbly ask if access to this can be added to BBCiPlayer?

    https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p08p5jml

    thanks for all of your wonderful work.

  7. #1327
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    5,358
    Quote Originally Posted by Sb42 View Post
    May I humbly ask if access to this can be added to BBCiPlayer?

    https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p08p5jml

    thanks for all of your wonderful work.
    It already is in iPlayer Extras.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  8. #1328
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    185
    Silly me! I was looking in the T list for 'The Sleeping Forecast'
    Many thanks!

  9. #1329
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    5,358
    Quote Originally Posted by Sb42 View Post
    Silly me! I was looking in the T list for 'The Sleeping Forecast'
    Many thanks!
    I had to search through 5 pages of M to find it

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  10. #1330
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    143
    I tried to use iPlayer Extras today to catch up with Late Junction on BBC R3. First problem was it had disappeared from my menus, and I found that the plugins iPlayer and iPlayer Extras were not active in my plugins. Activated them again, and went back to the interface, and they had appeared again, but nothing plays. I've recently updated, and I'm now on Logitech Media Server Version: 8.0.0 - 1599413218 @ Sun Sep 6 19:43:01 WEDT 2020

    Is it me, or is something broken?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •