Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 85 of 87 FirstFirst ... 35758384858687 LastLast
Results 841 to 850 of 870
  1. #841
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    3,020
    Quote Originally Posted by Owen Smith View Post
    Well overdue in this case. Red Button was overtaken many years ago by the web, and never worked very well anyway.

    My dad used Teletext a lot to look things up and it worked well for him. He never took to Red Button the same way, he claimed it didn't have what he used to read on Teletext, and he only got that information back when he went online and could get it on the web.

    On the few occasions I tried to use Red Button I found it incredibly slow. Far slower than I remember Teletext being.
    What if you don't have internet access?

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

  2. #842
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    939
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    What if you don't have internet access?
    Red Button is so crap it probably won't help you. My elderly aunt is a complete technophobe and will never have internet. Even she could manage teletext for a few things including the weather forecast, but she finds Red Button too difficult to use. I tried to walk her through it, and I found it so frustratingly slow I gave up in disgust.

  3. #843
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sutton Coldfield, UK
    Posts
    589
    Quote Originally Posted by Owen Smith View Post
    Well overdue in this case. Red Button was overtaken many years ago by the web, and never worked very well anyway.

    My dad used Teletext a lot to look things up and it worked well for him. He never took to Red Button the same way, he claimed it didn't have what he used to read on Teletext, and he only got that information back when he went online and could get it on the web.

    On the few occasions I tried to use Red Button I found it incredibly slow. Far slower than I remember Teletext being.
    I still use teletext on Freeview channel 1 and pressing the "Text" button. It seems to be the same as it ever was with the same page numbers (340 for cricket etc.) but works reasonably quickly. TV has to have ethernet connection though. I found it easier to plough through the myriad of news and sports pages by having a structured view of only the pages I want to look at. I'm set in my ways in this respect but not to old to have some pi's and UPNP players around the house. Is this what you refer to as the red button service?

    Edit: TV doesn't have to have ethernet connected - I just checked. Service is still OTA (that's probably why it's only on channel 1) but modern TV's have much more memory for text services and can give an impression of faster page views even if the underlying data rate remains the same.

    Edit2: Disregard my ramblings. If I'd read further back to Raymond's post I would have seen that it is the one and the same thing. I shall miss it.
    Last edited by ian_heys; 2019-09-17 at 00:29.
    Music Store & VPN Server: Synology DS215J NAS
    Home Server/Study Player:
    LMS 7.9.2 on Pi 3B piCorePlayer v5.0 Server/USB Audio, Topping MX3 Amplifier
    Homeplug & LAN Players: Squeezelite on 2x Windows 10 PC's, PiCorePlayer v5.0 /IQ Audio DAC+ - Temple Audio One Amplifier on RCA Stereo Console (built 1962)
    UPNP Wifi Player: GGMM-E5 Portable
    VPN Mobile & Car Player: SqueezeControl/SqueezePlayer on Android Phone

  4. #844
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    3,020
    Quote Originally Posted by Owen Smith View Post
    Red Button is so crap it probably won't help you. My elderly aunt is a complete technophobe and will never have internet. Even she could manage teletext for a few things including the weather forecast, but she finds Red Button too difficult to use. I tried to walk her through it, and I found it so frustratingly slow I gave up in disgust.
    It works OK on Sky and if it is your only option it is better than nothing.

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

  5. #845
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    498
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    If it is on DAB it should appear in the feed which tells vendors what BBC DAB stations are available.
    http://radio-service-information.api...spi/3.1/SI.xml

    BBC have a near equivalent which details all the DASH/HLS/MP3 stations (originally for imda) - popups often appear in this list once they start broadcasting with a comment on their duration.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/imda/imda_transports.xml
    The current Radio Times confirms the popup station "Radio 2 Beatles" will be broadcast 26-29th Sep. Will it be possible to hear this via iPlayer or Extras plugins?

  6. #846
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,730
    Quote Originally Posted by whitman View Post
    The current Radio Times confirms the popup station "Radio 2 Beatles" will be broadcast 26-29th Sep. Will it be possible to hear this via iPlayer or Extras plugins?
    No idea and nothing in BBC vendor feeds show it. All the earlier info indicated that it would be a DAB station so perhaps for broadcast rights it may be UK only. Some of the info in the web pages seems to indicate a station id called bbc_radio_two_beatles

    Until something is broadcast can't say where the program will turn up. I expect Extras will find them somewhere under A-Z as that is derived from BBC web pages and BBC pages says "catchup on BBC Sounds"

    If the id is real then the live UK-only iplayer URL may look like (with R2 logo)

    Code:
    iplayer://live?hls=http://a.files.bbci.co.uk/media/live/manifesto/audio/simulcast/hls/uk/sbr_high/ak/bbc_radio_two_beatles.m3u8&dash=http://a.files.bbci.co.uk/media/live/manifesto/audio/simulcast/dash/uk/dash_full/ak/bbc_radio_two_beatles.mpd&icon=http://radio-service-information.api.bbci.co.uk/logos/bbc_radio_two/128x128.png&onair=bbc_radio_two_beatles

  7. #847
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    498
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    No idea and nothing in BBC vendor feeds show it. All the earlier info indicated that it would be a DAB station so perhaps for broadcast rights it may be UK only. Some of the info in the web pages seems to indicate a station id called bbc_radio_two_beatles

    Until something is broadcast can't say where the program will turn up. I expect Extras will find them somewhere under A-Z as that is derived from BBC web pages and BBC pages says "catchup on BBC Sounds"

    If the id is real then the live UK-only iplayer URL may look like (with R2 logo)

    Code:
    iplayer://live?hls=http://a.files.bbci.co.uk/media/live/manifesto/audio/simulcast/hls/uk/sbr_high/ak/bbc_radio_two_beatles.m3u8&dash=http://a.files.bbci.co.uk/media/live/manifesto/audio/simulcast/dash/uk/dash_full/ak/bbc_radio_two_beatles.mpd&icon=http://radio-service-information.api.bbci.co.uk/logos/bbc_radio_two/128x128.png&onair=bbc_radio_two_beatles
    Thanks bpa, will wait and see what happens tomorrow.

  8. #848
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Lancs, UK
    Posts
    185
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    No idea and nothing in BBC vendor feeds show it. All the earlier info indicated that it would be a DAB station so perhaps for broadcast rights it may be UK only. Some of the info in the web pages seems to indicate a station id called bbc_radio_two_beatles

    Until something is broadcast can't say where the program will turn up. I expect Extras will find them somewhere under A-Z as that is derived from BBC web pages and BBC pages says "catchup on BBC Sounds"

    If the id is real then the live UK-only iplayer URL may look like (with R2 logo)

    Code:
    iplayer://live?hls=http://a.files.bbci.co.uk/media/live/manifesto/audio/simulcast/hls/uk/sbr_high/ak/bbc_radio_two_beatles.m3u8&dash=http://a.files.bbci.co.uk/media/live/manifesto/audio/simulcast/dash/uk/dash_full/ak/bbc_radio_two_beatles.mpd&icon=http://radio-service-information.api.bbci.co.uk/logos/bbc_radio_two/128x128.png&onair=bbc_radio_two_beatles
    Currently running tests and plays fine in the UK Not sure if there is a none UK version ...

  9. #849
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,730
    Quote Originally Posted by Raymond Woodward View Post
    Currently running tests and plays fine in the UK Not sure if there is a none UK version ...
    The non-UK version is live and broadcasting trailers now as well but AFAICT no realtime info (i.e.metadata and program images)

    NON UK
    Code:
    iplayer://live?hls=http://a.files.bbci.co.uk/media/live/manifesto/audio/simulcast/hls/nonuk/sbr_low/ak/bbc_radio_two_beatles.m3u8&dash=http://a.files.bbci.co.uk/media/live/manifesto/audio/simulcast/dash/nonuk/dash_low/ak/bbc_radio_two_beatles.mpd&icon=http://radio-service-information.api.bbci.co.uk/logos/bbc_radio_two/128x128.png&onair=bbc_radio_two_beatles

  10. #850
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    1,711
    They might have turned it off again - 404 not found.
    Hopefully because they have finished their preparation rather than changing things because they have seen that they have been spotted.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •