Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
Results 51 to 58 of 58
  1. #51
    Quote Originally Posted by Beast Of Bodmin View Post
    I opened the blog page and search for VHBW. Their ebay page is onholiday until February(!).

    I found the same thing on electropapa. Described as a replacement PSU for a Squeezebox Classic.

    EUR 13.69 inc. P&P

    Ordered one.

    Let's see!

    Cheers,
    BoB
    My wifi card and replacement power supplies both arrived.

    I installed the wifi card and powered it up using the new PSU.

    Same problem.

    Wifi not detected, IR remote still ignored (remote seems to work, via pointing it at the camera on my android device).

    What can it be?

    Is there another way to reset the SB3, that does not involve the remote control?

  2. #52
    Senior Member JoeMuc2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Muenster, Germany
    Posts
    194
    Hi there,

    not really, sorry. I can only offer you to have a look if you send me the unit in question (to Germany). But I cannot promise you that I will find a solution for this matter. Could be that the CPU is dying (or whatever it is that causes SB3s to die).
    If you are interested, please send me a PN.

    Cheers,
    Johannes


    PN me if your Boom / Classic / Transporter display has issues!

    Blog: https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?ri...50753#allposts

  3. #53
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    South Devon, UK
    Posts
    204

    ClassicAMP?

    Maybe THIS would be a solution if you like the SB3 form factor (I do...)? Adds up to quite a bit of money, but nice result...
    Odroid HC1 / Armbian Stretch LMS & LocalPlayer
    4x Slim Devices SB3 (White)
    1x Boom, 1x Radio
    2x Joggler + Squeezeplay / Squeezelite + Topping TP30

  4. #54
    Quote Originally Posted by florca View Post
    Maybe THIS would be a solution if you like the SB3 form factor (I do...)? Adds up to quite a bit of money, but nice result...
    For me, the SB3 is a pinnacle of design, both in terms of how it looks, but in terms of the functionality and the musical fidelity. I haven't been able to find something that can replace it in the same price range. I could never bring myself to cough up for a Transporter. The DAC is very good for the money.

    I have wandered off into Raspberry Pi territory, imagining a basic Pi with a suitable DAC with phono, or possibly digital fibre output, but I could never decide on one implementation or the other.

    Another summary of my situation:

    SB3 with no Wifi and no remote control, but a working ethernet connection.

    It has a fixed IP of 192.168.2.10.

    No way to perform a factory reset.

    I already have a Pi acting as a Kodi box, running LibreElec, which is configured to use WiFi to talk to my iMac to get stuff to play. The iMac also runs LMS.

    There are Kodi plugins to have the Pi act as either a LMS or squeezebox web controller.

    I did manage to connect the Pi to the SB3's ethernet port, but because of the way LibreElec works, if it detects a connected ethernet port, it will try to use that and doesn't time out to fall back on the WiFi interface. This makes reboots more complicated than they need to be. I suppose I could ask the LibreElec devs to consider implementing another feature, or I could use another OS variant for the OS that does support this. In general, I think Kodi sucks as a user interface, so I don't want to have to mess around finding another implementation of Kodi that will do as I want.

    I haven't worked out how to configure my home internet DSL modem to pick up 192.168.2.0 and route the data (maybe I should contact their support). I also haven't worked out how to get this modem to play nicely with my Netgear WNDR3700s (v1 and v4), running dd-wrt, to act as WiFi repeaters for the modem (I can do it via an ethernet cable, but that is not useful to me at the moment).

    Even if I got all that to work, it seems ridiculous to have to do all that in the first place, just because I can't change the configured IP address on the SB3.

    And I really like my SB3.

  5. #55
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    7,285
    Quote Originally Posted by Beast Of Bodmin View Post
    For me, the SB3 is a pinnacle of design, both in terms of how it looks, but in terms of the functionality and the musical fidelity. I haven't been able to find something that can replace it in the same price range. I could never bring myself to cough up for a Transporter. The DAC is very good for the money.

    I have wandered off into Raspberry Pi territory, imagining a basic Pi with a suitable DAC with phono, or possibly digital fibre output, but I could never decide on one implementation or the other.

    Another summary of my situation:

    SB3 with no Wifi and no remote control, but a working ethernet connection.

    It has a fixed IP of 192.168.2.10.

    No way to perform a factory reset.

    I already have a Pi acting as a Kodi box, running LibreElec, which is configured to use WiFi to talk to my iMac to get stuff to play. The iMac also runs LMS.

    There are Kodi plugins to have the Pi act as either a LMS or squeezebox web controller.

    I did manage to connect the Pi to the SB3's ethernet port, but because of the way LibreElec works, if it detects a connected ethernet port, it will try to use that and doesn't time out to fall back on the WiFi interface. This makes reboots more complicated than they need to be. I suppose I could ask the LibreElec devs to consider implementing another feature, or I could use another OS variant for the OS that does support this. In general, I think Kodi sucks as a user interface, so I don't want to have to mess around finding another implementation of Kodi that will do as I want.

    I haven't worked out how to configure my home internet DSL modem to pick up 192.168.2.0 and route the data (maybe I should contact their support). I also haven't worked out how to get this modem to play nicely with my Netgear WNDR3700s (v1 and v4), running dd-wrt, to act as WiFi repeaters for the modem (I can do it via an ethernet cable, but that is not useful to me at the moment).

    Even if I got all that to work, it seems ridiculous to have to do all that in the first place, just because I can't change the configured IP address on the SB3.

    And I really like my SB3.
    Have a look at this thread. It might help.
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=654956

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  6. #56
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    Have a look at this thread. It might help.
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=654956

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
    My understanding is Net::UDAP only works when the SB3 is not already configured for networking. I used Net::UDAP once, many moons ago. Perhaps after the original wifi card died and I found out the remote didn't work. Now, although I can see the SB3's MAC address (and ARP requests for "who has ...") I can't get Net::UDAP to talk to it.

    Thanks for the pointer though.

  7. #57
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Posts
    5

    Seemingly dead Squeezebox Classic

    I too have a SB Classic which has just seemed to die on me. It was working just fine until we had a power fluctuation and now it won't come on. After going over the blog post linked at the beginning of the thread, I can see that the red LED is flickering -- going on and off multiple times per second -- which is an indication that the SB is rebooting constantly. Thanks a lot for the very informative blog btw, so much better than just staring at the damn thing wondering what has happened to it.

    Is there anything I can do at this point to try and diagnose further without opening up the device? I'm considering buying another 5V/2A power supply but a bit unsure if I should be trying something else before jumping into that.

  8. #58
    Senior Member JoeMuc2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Muenster, Germany
    Posts
    194
    Quote Originally Posted by puppydaddy View Post
    I too have a SB Classic which has just seemed to die on me. It was working just fine until we had a power fluctuation and now it won't come on. After going over the blog post linked at the beginning of the thread, I can see that the red LED is flickering -- going on and off multiple times per second -- which is an indication that the SB is rebooting constantly. Thanks a lot for the very informative blog btw, so much better than just staring at the damn thing wondering what has happened to it.

    Is there anything I can do at this point to try and diagnose further without opening up the device? I'm considering buying another 5V/2A power supply but a bit unsure if I should be trying something else before jumping into that.
    Hi there,

    I would guess that trying a new power supply is a sensible first step. They are the most frequent failure point and a power outage is often the point where they no longer get to their feet because of the startup stress that they haven't had in a long time of constantly being powered. However, I cannot guarantee you that this is all you need to do. If the SB3 still fails with the new PSU, it's likely that the situation is similar inside it, i.e. capacitors needed for a clean startup and to filter ripple are no longer able to do their job and cause the system to be unstable or even unable to boot at all. Replacement of the internal SMD capacitors is my step #2 in this situation usually.
    I hate to give you more worries but eventually it could be CPU death which is not recoverable no matter what. All we can do is hope that it's only one or both of the other two options mentioned.
    Let me know if you need more detail or advice. If you are inside EU, you might consider sending me the unit to Germany for a full diagnosis (free of charge). I'm in good training regarding the replacement of SMD capacitors and testing power supplies. I could not cure CPU death but a lot of other issues.

    Cheers,
    Joe


    PN me if your Boom / Classic / Transporter display has issues!

    Blog: https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?ri...50753#allposts

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •