Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    194

    Replacement Power Supply for SB3 Classic - USA

    The power supply for one of my SB3 Classics has died. I swapped in the power supply from the other SB3 to prove this.
    I'm looking on Amazon for a replacement and I'm finding 5v 3amp supplies, but the original is 2amp - would appreciate some advice on using a 3amp supply instead of 2amp.
    I have found one 5v 2amp but it has a 5.5mm diameter tip on the SB3 end of the wire, and I have no way of confirming the diameter of the original. Anyone know the specs?

    thanks for your help as always.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    VšsterŚs Sweden
    Posts
    16,528
    3 amps is not a problem , so the power supply from/for a Squeezebox Touch would also fit for example.
    The Touch 230v supply seems a bit more quality than the original SB3 230v supply ( if you have a really old pre logitech supply ).
    There are also some audiophile aftermarket supplies , but they are a bit expensive considering they donít really improve anything possibly better build quality .

    Someone else knows the barrel conector spec I donít, or search this forum Iíve seen it spec in many other treads.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Rasbery PI digi+ MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Loggia: Raspi hifiberry dac + Adams
    Bathroom : Radio (with battery)
    iPad with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server Intel NUC Esxi VM Linux mint 18 LMS 7.9.2

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    194
    Thanks for the reply, I'll go ahead and get a 3amp power supply.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    194
    Just dicoverd that the power supply does power the SB as it shows up in my Logitech Media Server console, however the screen doesn't light up. I've tried chaging the brightness but no display. If I plug in my other power supply the screen works fine. I have ordered a replacement, but do you have any thoughts on why the power supply won't power the display?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    804
    Quote Originally Posted by Sb42 View Post
    Just dicoverd that the power supply does power the SB as it shows up in my Logitech Media Server console, however the screen doesn't light up. I've tried chaging the brightness but no display. If I plug in my other power supply the screen works fine. I have ordered a replacement, but do you have any thoughts on why the power supply won't power the display?
    Possibly the power supply is insufficiently "strong" and can't quite provide sufficient voltage to get the display turned on although good enough to power the other parts.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    194
    Got this in the end..

    https://www.amazon.ca/Trnaroy-Univer...supply+trnaroy CAN$15

    Came with a strip of tips, so the barrel size was not an issue in the end.

    Thanks for the advice.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •