Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member JoeMuc2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Muenster, Germany
    Posts
    152

    Boom switches off briefly during playback

    I have a strange issue which appears to be network specific. Using one of my private Booms in the secondary workspace, along with a Raspi LMS. The same Boom does not cause any problems at home. In the office though, I am observing a strange behavior in the Boom having very short interruptions during playback which sound like the device is going to standby and back on. Happens within just a fraction of a second and repeats roughly every 50 seconds. The display also switches off briefly and resets, i.e. if it was scrolling content, it will immediately return to the beginning of the text and restart scrolling shortly after that.
    The network is 1GBit, using wired ethernet, and IPv4 and IPv6 exist on the network but as far as I know, SB devices are not aware of IPv6 anyway so that should not cause issues.
    The server's log did not reveal any strange things. Nothing is added there when the interruptions take place. I'm wondering now whether it's the Raspi-driven LMS but apparently something like this was never reported.
    Anybody have an idea how to troubleshoot this? I know it is possible to telnet into some Squeezebox devices but the Boom is not one of them, or at least I never managed to get in. Something might surface in the OS on the device side, however, I don't know where and how to go on. Will try a different player (Radio / Classic) in the next days to see if other players are doing the same.

    Thank you and regards,
    Joe
    Last edited by JoeMuc2009; 2018-08-13 at 01:24.


    PN me if your Boom / Classic / Transporter display has issues!

    Blog: https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?ri...50753#allposts

  2. #2
    Senior Member JoeMuc2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Muenster, Germany
    Posts
    152
    Funny side fact: it only happens when streaming internet radio, not using local MP3 files


    PN me if your Boom / Classic / Transporter display has issues!

    Blog: https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?ri...50753#allposts

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,052
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeMuc2009 View Post
    Funny side fact: it only happens when streaming internet radio, not using local MP3 files
    Did you try debug mode of various logging to see if there was no interruption at all?
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5

  4. #4
    Senior Member JoeMuc2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Muenster, Germany
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    Did you try debug mode of various logging to see if there was no interruption at all?
    Hi Philippe,

    well, I do not know how to enable the debug mode. Can you give me more details on what to do? Thank you!

    Johannes


    PN me if your Boom / Classic / Transporter display has issues!

    Blog: https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?ri...50753#allposts

  5. #5
    Senior Member JoeMuc2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Muenster, Germany
    Posts
    152
    Just running a Touch on the same network, no issues. Interesting...


    PN me if your Boom / Classic / Transporter display has issues!

    Blog: https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?ri...50753#allposts

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    17,819
    To see if the problem is network related rather than content - try using "proxed streaming". For Boom MP3/WMA internet radio streams (i.e. TCP http/GET connection ) goes straight from broadcaster to Boom - only metadata is sent to LMS. With proxied streams internet radio goes from Broadcaster to LMS server and then again to Boom - providing additional buffering but also a local TCP connection between LMS server and Boom.

    Use WebUI Setting/Player/Audio/Streaming method

  7. #7
    Senior Member JoeMuc2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Muenster, Germany
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    To see if the problem is network related rather than content - try using "proxed streaming". For Boom MP3/WMA internet radio streams (i.e. TCP http/GET connection ) goes straight from broadcaster to Boom - only metadata is sent to LMS. With proxied streams internet radio goes from Broadcaster to LMS server and then again to Boom - providing additional buffering but also a local TCP connection between LMS server and Boom.

    Use WebUI Setting/Player/Audio/Streaming method
    Well, that did it. No problems since I am using the proxy streaming method. Thank you!
    It's interesting that the Touch performed flawlessly in the same network using direct streaming. But the hardware and firmware are very different of course so there might be a correction that the Boom does not have - and probably will never have.
    Anyway, problem solved.


    PN me if your Boom / Classic / Transporter display has issues!

    Blog: https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?ri...50753#allposts

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •