Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2,637
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    And what DJanGo presents as a fact, is just something he wrote.
    Don't take it for granted.
    Hi Michael,

    that means you check this already on a fresh/from scratch debian/ubuntu?

  2. #12
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,103

    First Linux install attempt -server consumes all available memory and system crashes

    > that means you check this already on a fresh/from scratch debian/ubuntu?

    No. I only expressed my doubts based on my experience that whenever I
    hear about a problem for the first time, and you present it like a fact,
    it's mostly been an invalid claim. But I'll be happy to learn more about
    your claim if you can show me how to reproduce it easily.

    --

    Michael

  3. #13
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,103

    First Linux install attempt -server consumes all available memory and system crashes

    > Given that no ports are blocked on the LMS computer, what steps would
    > you suggest for debugging this Squeezebox connection problem?


    As I said server.log shows that LMS is having problems with your network
    setup. As long as you see those messages you shouldn't be surprised if
    things don't work as expected.

    Did you in any way customize your network setup on that system? eg. ipv6
    only? Multiple interfaces? VPN?

    --

    Michael

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2,637
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    But I'll be happy to learn more about
    your claim if you can show me how to reproduce it easily.

    --

    Michael
    Michael,

    its NOT easy to reproduce ...

    • you need a real fresh OS and lms installation
    • you need a bigger first medifolder added in the /settings/server/wizard.html
    • and a playlistdir with some files in it
    • you'r not allowed to wait until the inital scan from the wizrad is done
    • you add more than 5-10 mediafolders
    • now you can see the mouse cursor switches longer from the arrow to the wheel
    • sometimes the mouse cursor arrow is completly gone and you only see the wheel
    • sometimes nothing of that happens


    so its easy to say - first learn to walk untill you try to run - instead of the other way around

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    16,340
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    >>
    As bpa mentioned LMS isn't using that much memory. You're not running
    low.
    I haven't posted to this thread before. I think I mentioned this in relation to another thread about wavinput and a server using up memory.

  6. #16
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,103

    First Linux install attempt -server consumes all available memory and system crashes

    >> As bpa mentioned LMS isn't using that much memory. You're not running
    >> low.

    >
    > I haven't posted to this thread before. I think I mentioned this in
    > relation to another thread about wavinput and a server using up memory.


    Oops... sorry about that :-)

    --

    Michael

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    191
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Given that no ports are blocked on the LMS computer, what steps would
    > you suggest for debugging this Squeezebox connection problem?


    As I said server.log shows that LMS is having problems with your network
    setup. As long as you see those messages you shouldn't be surprised if
    things don't work as expected.

    Did you in any way customize your network setup on that system? eg. ipv6
    only? Multiple interfaces? VPN?

    --

    Michael

    I did no configuration at all, but used the defaults that were set by the installer.

    I *did* notice that ifconfig seems to return only ipv6 addresses; my home network isn't set up to use ipv6 protocols, and the server is accessible via the web interface (and I can access the network from the LMS machine), so I'm not sure how that's all going. I'll check into if my network interfaces are set up for ipv6 only for some strange reason...

    - Tim
    Integra Integrated Stereo Amp / Home Built Intel-based HTPC (running LMS) w/BluRay Player / Panasonic Viera TV
    Squeezebox Duet (Received in living room attached to stereo amp, Controller in bedroom).
    Squeezebox Boom in Storage (gift from Slim Devices after they came to my home to debug a networking issue).
    Squeezebox 3 in Bedroom, attached to small "executive" stereo system with bookshelf speakers mounted on wall.
    Squeezebox Radio in Bedroom, next to bed, used as radio alarm.

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    191
    Ok, it looks like ipv4 is working, I made a mistake there.

    Anyway, I fixed a few things (my computer's hostname was aliased to localhost in /etc/hosts, so I removed that line to make sure the external interface would always be used).

    I rebooted the machine, and the LMS logs show no networking issues.

    Also, netstat shows the following:

    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45888 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:3483 squeezebox-radio:58474 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45871 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45879 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45865 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45882 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45883 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45890 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45885 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45886 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45873 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-duet-c:37569 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45876 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45870 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45875 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:3483 squeezebox-radio:58519 ESTABLISHED
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-duet-c:37575 ESTABLISHED
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-duet-c:37570 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45868 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45867 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-radio:45857 TIME_WAIT
    tcp 0 0 zbox:9000 squeezebox-duet-c:37576 ESTABLISHED
    So you see that the Squeezebox Radio and SqueezeBox Duet controller have established connections on ports 9000 and 3484 (TCP).

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    Hmph! At first, after all this, my devices were saying they couldn't connect. Now, out of the blue, they ARE.

    Well, it could be that after these modifications I didn't notice it finally connecting, but it seems to all work now. I don't know what I did to fix this, but I'm glad it's working now!

    - Tim
    Integra Integrated Stereo Amp / Home Built Intel-based HTPC (running LMS) w/BluRay Player / Panasonic Viera TV
    Squeezebox Duet (Received in living room attached to stereo amp, Controller in bedroom).
    Squeezebox Boom in Storage (gift from Slim Devices after they came to my home to debug a networking issue).
    Squeezebox 3 in Bedroom, attached to small "executive" stereo system with bookshelf speakers mounted on wall.
    Squeezebox Radio in Bedroom, next to bed, used as radio alarm.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •