Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 4 of 23 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 228
  1. #31
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    25

    Help?

    Hi
    Wow, just found your application and realize that this would be a great function to get implemented on my LMS setup that consists of 4 players, however im new to HASSIO and not sure how this should be done.
    The lack of interest from the community lately might be due to the level of implementation, at least in my eyes this is a bit complicated.
    Also, its actually just now that this can be an option for us in Sweden as we now finally got the google assistant available in stores and also working with Swedish language, dont know if we must change anything in your configuration to get this to work with other languages.

    I have installed HASSIO on a PI and i can run it from outside over Duckdns and I understand what to do in the "configuration.yaml"-file but i dont understand where to put the shell files, if this is explained in your instructions then i have missed it completely.

    Thanks for your effort, I would love to make this work.

  2. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by holst1966 View Post
    Hi
    Wow, just found your application and realize that this would be a great function to get implemented on my LMS setup that consists of 4 players, however im new to HASSIO and not sure how this should be done.
    The lack of interest from the community lately might be due to the level of implementation, at least in my eyes this is a bit complicated.
    Also, its actually just now that this can be an option for us in Sweden as we now finally got the google assistant available in stores and also working with Swedish language, dont know if we must change anything in your configuration to get this to work with other languages.

    I have installed HASSIO on a PI and i can run it from outside over Duckdns and I understand what to do in the "configuration.yaml"-file but i don't understand where to put the shell files, if this is explained in your instructions then i have missed it completely.

    Thanks for your effort, I would love to make this work.
    Hi, I will try to address your items one at a time here. So here goes:

    1. Yes it's a bit complicated to setup, but is quite flexible in what it can do. I still use it all the time for simple music requests. An alternate method would be to use IFTT with Google HOME but I believe LMS installation would then have to be exposed to the internet (not very secure). IFTT approach is not as flexible as the DialogFlow approach.
    2. Didn't know Google Home wasn't available in Sweden until just recently. Not sure how well it functions in Swedish but in English, the AI speech interpreter is excellent and easily picks up the request including (usually) proper spelling of artists names, etc..
    3. Not sure if Google DialogFlow language change is easily done, one fellow here used Italian but was having some trouble making it work I believe. You can certainly re-create the intent in Swedish and proceed that way, automatic language conversion, not so sure.
    4. As for how to install the files, in the GITHUB project under the https://github.com/ynot123/LMS_Contr...sistant/config, all these files need to be modified to suit your application environment. There is a README.md file in that directory that goes through the required changes. You create a sub directory under config directory called shell and this is where the shell files reside.
    5. If you carefully follow the instructions, you should be able to make it work, several others have with little assistance. Bear in mind, the following things need to be completed and functioning to make the full install work: LMS server, Home Assistant (HASSIO), Google Home (or assistant), DialogFlow.


    If I might add a bit, while the solution is a bit convoluted, the addition of Home Assistant allows you to create a fully operational home automation system controlling lights, heat, cameras, alarm systems, sprinklers, weather forecasting, who's home. With it you can create all kinds of automation scripts to trigger based on time of day, location of people, mood, weather, activity, etc.. There is significant power and flexibility there. This is why I chose it to control and automate the LMS Server. Home Assistant also functions very well on a phone and the interface to LMS server works pretty well even without Google Home or Assistant.

    Just my 2 cents, there is more than one way to "skin the cat", but this method seems to work pretty well for me at least and was a great learning experience.

    Ynot.
    Software - Logitech Media Server Version: 8.0 (Docker), Home Assistant 0.105.5, DialogFlow - V.2 API, LMS Controls App - Voice Control of LMS, OpenMediaVault 5.2
    Add-ons - Spotty, UPnP / DLNA Bridge, Cast Bridge,
    Players - Sonos, UPnP, PI3 - PI Core Player 3.5.0 with IQAudio TopHat, Android- SB Player with Viper4Android Convolution Engine, GoogleHome and Google Minis
    Hardware - HP Desktop - i7-3.4Ghz, 4GB Ram, 6TB storage, Debian

  3. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    361
    Wow, discovering this thread. Thanks for your great work. I really need to test this as soon as I find some time.

    To be honest, voice control via Google Home or Alexa is definitely something missing from my Squeezebox experience. This, the LMS web interface and integration with some of the online services show that our beloved Squeezebox setup is getting a tiny bit behind other proposals. But I am still in love with it.

    Do you think that your approach could be integrated as a plugin to the Max2Play experience so it would be easy to make it work ?
    Transporter, Touch, SB3, SB2, Duet, Booms, Radios, piCorePlayer --- iPeng & Material --- LMS 8.0.1 - 1606928904 on Pi4 4GB - Max2Play --- Qobuz

  4. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by didjean View Post
    Wow, discovering this thread. Thanks for your great work. I really need to test this as soon as I find some time.

    To be honest, voice control via Google Home or Alexa is definitely something missing from my Squeezebox experience. This, the LMS web interface and integration with some of the online services show that our beloved Squeezebox setup is getting a tiny bit behind other proposals. But I am still in love with it.

    Do you think that your approach could be integrated as a plugin to the Max2Play experience so it would be easy to make it work ?
    Haven't used Max2Play environment so I hesitate to comment on that one. Not sure that a PI can handle all the tasks of LMS server, Home Assistant and LMS player in one go. That being said, you could certainly have an image created to do just that. As for the dialogflow part, that would still be required to be done as it is a cloud based app.

    Ynot
    Software - Logitech Media Server Version: 8.0 (Docker), Home Assistant 0.105.5, DialogFlow - V.2 API, LMS Controls App - Voice Control of LMS, OpenMediaVault 5.2
    Add-ons - Spotty, UPnP / DLNA Bridge, Cast Bridge,
    Players - Sonos, UPnP, PI3 - PI Core Player 3.5.0 with IQAudio TopHat, Android- SB Player with Viper4Android Convolution Engine, GoogleHome and Google Minis
    Hardware - HP Desktop - i7-3.4Ghz, 4GB Ram, 6TB storage, Debian

  5. #35
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    14
    Really great job you did !

    Also I am a complete beginner with Hass.io and DialgFlow I will try and reproduce your setup with all the informations/files you kindly provided.

    I have one rpi, a google home mini and a squeezebox touch. I would thus need a second rpi in order ro run LMS server or maybe there is a way to define the mysqueezebox.com account in place of the local server in DialogFlow webhook ?

    Thanks for your work and sharing it.

    Kali

  6. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by kalimeroo View Post
    Really great job you did !

    Also I am a complete beginner with Hass.io and DialgFlow I will try and reproduce your setup with all the informations/files you kindly provided.

    I have one rpi, a google home mini and a squeezebox touch. I would thus need a second rpi in order ro run LMS server or maybe there is a way to define the mysqueezebox.com account in place of the local server in DialogFlow webhook ?

    Thanks for your work and sharing it.

    Kali
    That would be best, you could run LMS and HASSIO on the same pi I suppose but you may find performance lacking.

    Otherwise an old desktop PC is what I use running:

    - Debian server (no X-windows)
    - LMS Server
    - HASSIO using docker (or not)
    - My particular setup also uses Openmediavault as a NAS and bit torrent client

    In my opinion, this is usually a better performing setup and access to old PC desktop is usually simple (cheap) enough. In addition, this setup allows you to add other linux functionality and add ons to the mix.

    Just my 2 cents. Good luck, Ynot
    Software - Logitech Media Server Version: 8.0 (Docker), Home Assistant 0.105.5, DialogFlow - V.2 API, LMS Controls App - Voice Control of LMS, OpenMediaVault 5.2
    Add-ons - Spotty, UPnP / DLNA Bridge, Cast Bridge,
    Players - Sonos, UPnP, PI3 - PI Core Player 3.5.0 with IQAudio TopHat, Android- SB Player with Viper4Android Convolution Engine, GoogleHome and Google Minis
    Hardware - HP Desktop - i7-3.4Ghz, 4GB Ram, 6TB storage, Debian

  7. #37
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    14
    Thanks for your suggestion. I currently have a rpi with Digiamp hat running picoreplayer and LMS server.
    In the future (when I move home) I will go for a NAS running both LMS and Hassio in containers (or an old PC running this).
    I will go for two rpi at the moment (one for Homass and the other for LMS/squeezeplayer).

    I will try and document all the processes in details and then make it public (if I succeed ) and if you agree of course.

    Thx

  8. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by kalimeroo View Post
    Thanks for your suggestion. I currently have a rpi with Digiamp hat running picoreplayer and LMS server.
    In the future (when I move home) I will go for a NAS running both LMS and Hassio in containers (or an old PC running this).
    I will go for two rpi at the moment (one for Homass and the other for LMS/squeezeplayer).

    I will try and document all the processes in details and then make it public (if I succeed ) and if you agree of course.

    Thx
    That config should work easily enough. Feel free to add to any documentation as you see fit. The basic instructions on the GIT hub should do it, many have tried and most (that I am aware of) have succeeded. Let me know if you need some help. While somewhat convoluted the concepts are easy enough.

    Ynot.
    Software - Logitech Media Server Version: 8.0 (Docker), Home Assistant 0.105.5, DialogFlow - V.2 API, LMS Controls App - Voice Control of LMS, OpenMediaVault 5.2
    Add-ons - Spotty, UPnP / DLNA Bridge, Cast Bridge,
    Players - Sonos, UPnP, PI3 - PI Core Player 3.5.0 with IQAudio TopHat, Android- SB Player with Viper4Android Convolution Engine, GoogleHome and Google Minis
    Hardware - HP Desktop - i7-3.4Ghz, 4GB Ram, 6TB storage, Debian

  9. #39
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    43

    API password

    I am struggling to work out how to specify an API password. I installed Home Assistant using a Pi image and have a password to enter on the web page when I go to http://hassio.local:8123
    This isn't the same password as the API password is it? Also, isn't the API password feature is now deprecated?

    Do I need to modify the following lines in configuration.yaml and add a line 'api_password: !secret http_password'?

    # Uncomment this if you are using SSL/TLS, running in Docker container, etc.
    # http:
    # base_url: example.duckdns.org:8123

    Do I also need to add the following?

    auth_providers:
    - type: legacy_api_password

    Colin

  10. #40
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    14
    Hi,

    When you first login to Home assistant, it will prompt you with a login ans password. This is not an authentification step. Indeed here you can create a new home assistant user ans its password. You will then use this login/password to effectively login.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •