Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1

    Installing on a NAS

    I'd like to move LMS and my music library to a NAS. The Wiki on this topic seems pretty far out of date.

    Can anyone advise me on what type NAS I should get, and how to install LMS on it?

    I don't need anything fancy. 2 TB of disk space would be great. Even greater if it's an SSD drive.

    Will the Wiki instructions for Linkstations still work?
    FREE RADICAL
    RADIO!
    Hours of free radical MP3s.

  2. #2
    I used to run LMS on a QNAP NAS, but I found it a hassle to maintain. Now I keep the files on the NAS and run LMS on a Raspberry Pi, which seems to work well for me. The Pi is running piCorePlayer.

    Robert
    Home: Raspberry Pi 3/piCoreplayer/LMS7.9.2 with files on QNAP TS-251A
    Touch > DacMagic 100 > Naim Audio Nait 3 > Mission 752 (plus Rega Planar 3 > Rega Fono Mini; Naim CD3)
    PiCorePlayer(Pi2) with IQAudIO DAC+>Sennheisers
    2 x Squeezebox Radios, 1 X Squeezebox 3 (retired), spare Pi2/piCorePlayer
    Office: LMS7.9.2 running on WiFi MyPassport drive > piCorePlayer(PiB)/HiFiBerryDAC > Amptastic Amplifier
    SqueezePad, iPeng as controllers

    last.fm/user/GrumpyBob

  3. #3
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,102

    Installing on a NAS

    > Can anyone advise me on what type NAS I should get, and how to install
    > LMS on it?


    I think Synology currently has the best support for LMS. They have an
    "official" package (provided by Synology, but slightly outdated), as
    well as good community support. And IMHO they do a great job keeping
    their products up to date in terms of firmware, even years after the
    product release (I have a 2012 model which still gets updates!).

    But as others mentioned: it's probably simpler to have a Raspberry Pi to
    run LMS, while using the NAS as the music file store only. It's likely
    better supported if you wanted to install one of the more advanced LMS
    plugins requiring some external helper application etc. (eg. Spotty
    ;-)). I've been running a piCorePlayer based LMS for over a year now,
    connected to an ancient ReadyNAS.

    --

    Michael

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    3,183
    I concur that running LMS directly on a NAS is not the best approach these days.

    I used to run on a QNAP but like others found that firmware updates caused serious issues which although I could always fix simply took up too much time.
    I initially moved LMS to a different Linux server but have always kept my music files on the QNAP which like Michael's ReadyNAS is now pretty ancient but still perfect as a file server.
    Later on I moved to a Pi + NAS setup and latterly back to a Linux server + NAS (I also run some other media software on the Linux box)
    If you are looking for a low power always on arrangement then Pi + NAS is the way to go. The Pi really needs to be wired though - it will work wireless but is prone to networking issues that you really don't need.
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  5. #5
    Senior Member pinkdot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,033
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    I concur that running LMS directly on a NAS is not the best approach these days.
    If you are buying a nas just to run LMS than I agree with you @d6jg.
    If you need a NAS anyway, why not install LMS on if a software package is available. Synology might be worth looking at. NAS these days are powerful enough to gave a responsive LMS experience.
    -LMS on Raspian Stretch -> 2x Radio
    -RPI 3 (Archphile), Aune S6 - Exposure 3010S2 - PMC FB1i

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    3,183
    Quote Originally Posted by pinkdot View Post
    If you are buying a nas just to run LMS than I agree with you @d6jg.
    If you need a NAS anyway, why not install LMS on if a software package is available. Synology might be worth looking at. NAS these days are powerful enough to gave a responsive LMS experience.
    I appreciate your involvement with Synology and if I was considering running on a NAS then I would, of course, choose Synology but in my case I have a perfectly good (3 actually) QNAP but it’s not powerful enough to run LMS. I prefer running on something else using an NFS mount to the QNAP.
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2
    I have LMS running on a QNAP NAS, and I'm quite happy with it. I don't use the official QNAP LMS app, though. (they only support an old version, pretty out of date) And I wasn't interested in all the hoop jumping required to get the newer versions up and running directly. Instead, I use Docker.

    QNAP's Container Station lets you deploy your favorite Docker containers on your NAS, and there are a handful of LMS images on DockerHub. This version seems to be the most popular:

    https://hub.docker.com/r/larsks/logitech-media-server/

    Container Station will let you pull down images directly from DockerHub. From there, a little configuration through their GUI, and away you go. It does require a bit of Docker knowledge, but it isn't too hard to pick up.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    252

    Installing on a NAS

    I have 2 instances of LMS running on QNAP NAS’ and with the new Qpkg provided by digimaster it runs as well as it has ever run on any other platform (windows or pi) - including the support for spotty with no issues, Musicip (included). Available in the EUclup qpkg repository iirc. It might only run on the later versions of QTS (only 4.2 or later) but just runs and maybe intel only, but check because I think he was considering expanding supported environments.

    I also run LMS on an Odroid and on a pi based on Max2play with an attached MSATA SSD for music (network wired) at work and is as close to plug and forget as you get (not bothered with MusicIP but use sugarcube to create dynamic mixes off the main NAS’ musicip database).

    Bottom line - unless you are running 10 year old hardware or out of date SW, LMS can run perfectly on a QNAP or a Synology, Pi or Odroid with no hassle or maintenance overhead.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by yeomanspc; 2018-07-17 at 00:53.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    12
    Running LMS on a Synology NAS is doing a great job for me. Once you have installed the Synology app (package), you connect with a web browser. The user interface is the same as the windows based LMS. I have already installed it on three different Synology boxes. As Michael indicated, the current package versions are stable and work fine (see my blog http://wp.bioss.net/tag/squeezebox ). Hope this helps

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    204

    LMS running on ARM based QNAP NAS

    I have LMS running on a 10 year old QNAP NAS, the TS-219P+. It's an ARM based processor NAS. There is a grace in running LMS on your NAS. I would say if you want to go this route, definitely get an x86 processer NAS and not an ARM based. This will allow you to install LMS from a package that you can find here in the forums. Plus if you use MusicIP / Spicefly, that will be a ton easier.. actually everything will actually be easier. If you do get an ARM based processor, other then the install, you'll have to manually install the SSL socket and getting MusicIP to work is a challenge as well.

    In regards to your NAS, I think the question you have to ask yourself is why are you purchasing a NAS? I have a two drive NAS and use mirroring, so it's Raid 1. My next NAS will be a 4 bay so I can do Raid 1+0 (mirroring and striping) -- that might be overkill as now a days as there's enough free cloud storage to backup everything on your NAS to the Cloud (so I have two redundancies), but it's nice to have a fast local system. Once of my drives went bad a year ago and I was really impressed that all I had to do was eject the old drive, insert the new drive and the NAS did everything else with no intervention my me -- what it's supposed to do. It was ridiculously simple.

    I use my NAS as a central place for my family to store documents and media, LMS and for security camera video feed storage. I really don't use much of the applications that QNAP has other than a weekly virus scan and a weekly sync to my cloud storage. Then when I am not home, I just grab what I need from the cloud storage. But I can tell you that QNAP has a ridiculous number of media, utility and tools applications and their support is stellar.

    From a power use perspective and ease of use, even though I haven't tried it (yet), I agree with others here to use a raspberry pi. Another idea is that if you have an old laptop laying around that's not too too old, use that. if you're not a Linux guy, that might be easiest.

    good luck and let us know what you end up with.
    LMS 7.9.1 on QNAP 219P+
    3 wired Touch End Points
    Jolida Tube DAC III
    Marantz 2270 to Boston Acoustics Slimlines
    Marantz 7010 to B&W CM10 S2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •