Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 40 of 40

Thread: Wifi settings

  1. #31
    Senior Member Jeff07971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    1,034
    Quote Originally Posted by kidstypike View Post
    One more thing, you're not using "The Audio optimized version of pCP3.5.0"? As I believe there's a problem with wifi if running this version.

    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post912460
    No he is using standard version

    Name:  2018-05-04 20_30_40-Wifi settings - Page 2.jpg
Views: 100
Size:  31.7 KB

    Vs

    Name:  2018-05-04 20_31_39-pCP - Main Page.jpg
Views: 100
Size:  17.5 KB
    Players: SliMP3,Squeezebox3 x3,Receiver,SqueezeLiteX,PiCorePlayer x3,Wandboard
    Server: LMS Version: Latest Nightly on Centos 7 VM on ESXi 6.5.0U1 on Dell T320
    Plugins: AutoRescan/BBCiPlayer/PowerSave/PowerSwitchIII/Squeezecloud/Spotty/Player Groups
    Remotes: iPeng9/Orangesqueeze/PC/Jivelite/SqueezeLiteX
    Music: 522GB,1660 albums with 23087 songs by 5204 artists mostly FLACs

    Want a webapp ? See http://forums.slimdevices.com/showth...Webapp-for-LMS

  2. #32
    Senior Member Greg Erskine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,327
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg Erskine View Post
    hi liffy99,

    In [ Advanced ] mode click on [ Wifi Settings ] > [ Diagnostics ]. This should give you all the information you need to work out what's happening.

    regards
    Greg
    Hi liffy99,

    Can you, in [ Advanced ] mode click on [ Wifi Settings ] tab > [ Diagnostics ] button?

    This diagnostics tells all.

    [ Advanced ] mode is on the bottom left corner.

    regards
    Greg

  3. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    267
    Quote Originally Posted by kidstypike View Post
    If your built in wifi was working, you would see something like the picture below, after a scan.
    Your built in wifi adapter is obviously not working, or out of range, or something.

    Buy, beg, steal or borrow one of these, and try with that attached. Works fine for me on 3 RPi's.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Edimax-EW-7...70_&dpSrc=srch

    Attachment 24980
    Well, I have simply inserted a wifi dongle in the RPi. Cant recall which model (Edimax I think) but its made absolutely no difference, even with a reboot.

    As Raspberry offer no support other than another forum I have tried to find similar problems reported by others but very quickly I am submerged by oddles of code that I donĺt understand. How does one even access the RPi (through my ethernet coupled IMac I assume) ?

    This should not be this difficult . . .

  4. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    267
    2.4gHz network. Auto channel selection but seems to be on channel 1.

    I will post diagnostics again later. Thanks

  5. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    308
    Quote Originally Posted by liffy99 View Post
    2.4gHz network. Auto channel selection but seems to be on channel 1.

    I will post diagnostics again later. Thanks
    Is your SSID hidden?

  6. #36
    Senior Member sbp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,116
    Quote Originally Posted by liffy99 View Post
    OK
    I have two RPi3s. The second is, at the moment, connected by ethernet but also has RPi turned on. This has created two entries (IP adrresses) according to my router info.

    Running a scan on this RPi picks up my Wifi network.

    The second RPi does not show anywhere. It works when ethernet connected but not by internal wifi. I suspect if I disconnected the other RPi it would disappear too.

    Any help ?
    Here is the part that got me confused. Here you say that running a scan on this RPi picks up my wifi network. So it seems like you at this point have a RPi with a functional wifi. The two IP addresses is one for the LAN and one for the wifi.

    later you state then none of the RPi have ever had a working wifi?
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://sites.google.com/site/picoreplayer/home

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  7. #37
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    267
    OK, I've found a bona fide Edimax dongle.

    First of all, what should the WiFi settings be in Picore player for a dongle only RPi ?
    Wifi On or Off
    SSSID and Password entered ?
    RPi WiFi On or Off ?

    I will then remove the ethernet cable, reboot and run the Diagnostics and post the results

    Thanks

  8. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    906
    Wi-fi on
    Enter SSID and password
    RPi WiFi off

    You can also run the diagnostics before you give it the real SSID and password.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

  9. #39
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    267
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Wi-fi on
    Enter SSID and password
    RPi WiFi off

    You can also run the diagnostics before you give it the real SSID and password.
    OK.
    I am now running a RPi with Edimax wifi dongle and it registers on the network (router network page). All seems well.

    I have taken the other RPi into the same room as the router (less than 2m away in direct sight line) and fired it up. My router does not see it at all. this is just with the RPi internal wifi selected.

    I can only conclude that either;

    a) Both RPis have faulty, or INCREDIBLY poor wifi function, or
    b) Somehow the RPI's inbuilt wifi function is turned off

    Diagnostics from working RPi below;

    Is there a way I can tell if the RPi inbulit wifi is actually available ?

    Name:  Diag 1.jpg
Views: 53
Size:  212.4 KBName:  Diag 2.jpg
Views: 54
Size:  234.7 KB

  10. #40
    Senior Member Greg Erskine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,327
    hi liffy99,

    I should mention, as you have used a very generic title for this topic, you probably don't have the all the piCorePlayer Team and piCorePlayers users taking notice.

    Good, that is the diagnostics of a good USB wifi adaptor connection.

    Now to test the built-in wifi.

    1. Set RPi built-in Wifi to "On". This option *should* only appear if your RPi has built-in wifi.
    2. Leave Ethernet cable installed.
    3. Remove USB wifi adaptor.
    4. Reboot. For testing purposes make sure the RPi is in the same location as your wifi router.
    5. Have a look at the wifi diagnostics via the Ethernet cable IP.

    The "dmesg" and "Loaded modules" text areas should have references to "brcmfmac".

    The "lsusb results" text area should be clear.

    regards
    Greg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •