Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    15

    piCorePlayer on Raspberry zero W plus 2,8" ILI9341 cheap SPI TFT

    Hi There!

    With the help of this forum and the tutorials about the waveshare display, I almost managed to setup a raspberry pi zero w with piCorePlayer with an attached cheap touchscreen display from ALiExpress. Goal of this is to build a very small player for in the garage.

    I have only one hurdle still to overcome.
    When I start the rasPi I see the console on the display, and I can see that everything gets started. dmesg gives no errors.
    However, after a few seconds I see the piCorePlayer on the display, but only a quarter of it. then the unit goes back to the console-text. Then the quarter logo comes up again, etc.

    I think (reasoned) the screen resolution (320*240) is too low for JiveLite and then it shuts itself down? Or is something else happening? Can you point me in the right direction?

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,475

    piCorePlayer on Raspberry zero W plus 2,8" ILI9341 cheap SPI TFT

    > I think (reasoned) the screen resolution (320*240) is too low for
    > JiveLite and then it shuts itself down? Or is something else happening?


    That resolution is ok. It's what we're using on the Radio. But you might
    have to edit the configuration to load that smaller skin, rather than
    whatever is being used by default. While I don't know how to do this,
    you might have some success searching related threads.

    --

    Michael

  3. #3
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,635
    This post details how to enable logging for jivelite on pcp.

    Without a logfile, it will be difficult to help you get jivelite working.
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    15
    Ouch, now I find that my Unix scripting abilities are really limited

    I made this of my Jivelite.sh file. There was already something in it for the screen to work:

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    eventno=$( cat /proc/bus/input/devices | awk '/FT5406 memory based driver/{for(a=0;a>=0;a++){getline;{if(/mouse/==1){ print $NF;exit 0;}}}}')
    export HOME=/home/tc
    export JIVE_NOCURSOR=1
    export JIVE_FRAMERATE=22
    export TSLIB_TSDEVICE=/dev/input/$eventno
    export SDL_MOUSEDRV=TSLIB
    export SDL_MOUSEDEV=$TSLIB_TSDEVICE
    
    while true; do
        sleep 3
        /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite >> /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce/jivelite.log 2>&1
    done
    
    if [ ! -z ${SDL_TOUCHSCREEN} ]; then
        export JIVE_NOCURSOR=1
    fi
    
    # export SDL_VIDEO_FBCON_ROTATION=UD
    
    export HOME=/home/tc
    export JIVE_FRAMERATE=22
    
    /usr/sbin/fbset -depth 32
    
    while true; do
        sleep 3
        SDL_VIDEODRIVER=fbcon SDL_FBDEV=/dev/fb1 /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite &
    done
    And this is the last part of my original do_rebootstuff.sh

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    # Display the IP address
    ifconfig eth0 2>&1 | grep inet >/dev/null 2>&1 && echo "${BLUE}eth0 IP: $(pcp_eth0_ip)${NORMAL}"
    ifconfig wlan0 2>&1 | grep inet >/dev/null 2>&1 && echo "${BLUE}wlan0 IP: $(pcp_wlan0_ip)${NORMAL}"
    
    echo "${GREEN}Finished piCorePlayer setup.${NORMAL}"
    
    if [ "$JIVELITE" = "yes" ]; then
    	echo -n "${BLUE}Starting Jivelite... ${NORMAL}"
    #	eventno=$( cat /proc/bus/input/devices | awk '/FT5406 memory based driver/{for(a=0;a>=0;a++){getline;{if(/mouse/==1){ print $NF;exit 0;}}}}')
    #	if [ x"" != x"$eventno" ];then
    #	export JIVE_NOCURSOR=1
    		export TSLIB_TSDEVICE=/dev/input/event0
    		export SDL_MOUSEDRV=TSLIB
    		export SDL_MOUSEDEV=$TSLIB_TSDEVICE
    #	fi
            export HOME=/home/tc
            if [ -x /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite.sh ]; then
                    echo "${GREEN}Done.${NORMAL}"
                    sudo -E -b /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce/jivelite.sh > /dev/null 2>&1
    #               sudo -E -b /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite.sh >/dev/null 2>&1
            else
                    echo "${RED}There is a problem with the Jivelite installation. Please remove and reinstall jivelite.${NORMAL}"
            fi
    fi
    But now I don't know where to add the do_rebootstuff part of your post, and I think also the JiveLite.sh is not correct, because I only get "JiveLite 0.1.0" in the log file......

    Sorry if this is really stupid, I'm better at Python...

    Regards,
    Bart

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    15
    Sorry,this was the latest version of my Jivelite.sh:

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    eventno=$( cat /proc/bus/input/devices | awk '/FT5406 memory based driver/{for(a=0;a>=0;a++){getline;{if(/mouse/==1){ print $NF;exit 0;}}}}')
    export HOME=/home/tc
    export JIVE_NOCURSOR=1
    export JIVE_FRAMERATE=22
    export TSLIB_TSDEVICE=/dev/input/$eventno
    export SDL_MOUSEDRV=TSLIB
    export SDL_MOUSEDEV=$TSLIB_TSDEVICE
    
    if [ ! -z ${SDL_TOUCHSCREEN} ]; then
        export JIVE_NOCURSOR=1
    fi
    
    # export SDL_VIDEO_FBCON_ROTATION=UD
    
    export HOME=/home/tc
    export JIVE_FRAMERATE=22
    
    /usr/sbin/fbset -depth 32
    
    while true; do
        sleep 3
    	/opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite >> /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce/jivelite.log 2>&1
        SDL_VIDEODRIVER=fbcon SDL_FBDEV=/dev/fb1 /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite &
    done
    Logfile looks like this now:

    Code:
    JiveLite 0.1.0
    
    JiveLite 0.1.0
    
    JiveLite 0.1.0
    
    JiveLite 0.1.0
    
    JiveLite 0.1.0
    
    JiveLite 0.1.0
    
    JiveLite 0.1.0

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    15
    Hmmm, that's strange! My first post (second in this topic) needed to be approved and seems to be completely lost now...

    Anyway: I'm lacking sufficient scripting skills and I don't know exactly how to modify the two files you mention in your post. ABove is my new jivelite.sh, and this is the last part of my do_rebootstuff.sh:

    Code:
    # Display the IP address
    ifconfig eth0 2>&1 | grep inet >/dev/null 2>&1 && echo "${BLUE}eth0 IP: $(pcp_eth0_ip)${NORMAL}"
    ifconfig wlan0 2>&1 | grep inet >/dev/null 2>&1 && echo "${BLUE}wlan0 IP: $(pcp_wlan0_ip)${NORMAL}"
    
    echo "${GREEN}Finished piCorePlayer setup.${NORMAL}"
    
    if [ "$JIVELITE" = "yes" ]; then
    	echo -n "${BLUE}Starting Jivelite... ${NORMAL}"
    #	eventno=$( cat /proc/bus/input/devices | awk '/FT5406 memory based driver/{for(a=0;a>=0;a++){getline;{if(/mouse/==1){ print $NF;exit 0;}}}}')
    #	if [ x"" != x"$eventno" ];then
    #	export JIVE_NOCURSOR=1
    		export TSLIB_TSDEVICE=/dev/input/event0
    		export SDL_MOUSEDRV=TSLIB
    		export SDL_MOUSEDEV=$TSLIB_TSDEVICE
    #	fi
            export HOME=/home/tc
            if [ -x /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite.sh ]; then
                    echo "${GREEN}Done.${NORMAL}"
                    sudo -E -b /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce/jivelite.sh > /dev/null 2>&1
    #               sudo -E -b /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite.sh >/dev/null 2>&1
            else
                    echo "${RED}There is a problem with the Jivelite installation. Please remove and reinstall jivelite.${NORMAL}"
            fi
    fi
    Somewhere I need to add this you say:

    Code:
    --- /home/tc/www/cgi-bin/do_rebootstuff.sh.orig
    +++ /home/tc/www/cgi-bin/do_rebootstuff.sh
    @@ -431,5 +431,5 @@
     
         export HOME=/home/tc
         echo "${GREEN}Done.${NORMAL}"
    -    sudo -E -b /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite.sh
    +    sudo -E -b /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce/jivelite.sh
     fi
    But I don't really get that....

    Regards,
    Bart

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    15
    OK, in the meantime i did some reading and got it.

    However, my log file still isn't putting out anything else than Jivelite 0.1.0....

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    21

    piCorePlayer mit 2,8" Watterott Display

    Hallo bvlet,

    schade, dass du nicht erklärt hast wie du es zum Laufen gebracht hast!!!

    hier im Anhang ein angepasstes Image für ein 2,8" Watterott Display und piCorePlayer 3.21.

    Das Problem ist, dass die zu ladende Auflösung für das Display zu groß ist. Ich habe den LCDSkin in das Image eingefügt.
    Anschließend habe ich ein HDMI-Display angeschlossen und das Setup für Jivelite mit dem LCDSkin durchgeführt.
    Danach wieder das 2,8" Display angeschlossen und siehe da es funktioniert.


    https://drive.google.com/open?id=18M...zHbcixAdjlMmUO

    Gruß

    rippi
    Last edited by rippi46; 2018-03-22 at 07:23.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •