Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Boom Died...

  1. #1
    Member rodry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Verona - Italy
    Posts
    31

    Boom Died...

    Ten days ago my Boom died after 10 years of honorable work...
    Fisrt symptom fading display, then the dead... I try to change wifi card, reset, but nothing to do...
    My daughter was five years old when I had bought Boom... today she says "I miss my Boom daddy"
    Bye to the best Streamer device!
    Last edited by rodry; 2018-02-11 at 03:13.
    Living Room: Squeezebox Boom
    Living Room: Squeezebox Touch
    BedRoom: Squeezebox Radio

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    570
    Did you try another power supply either?

  3. #3
    Member rodry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Verona - Italy
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by karlek View Post
    Did you try another power supply either?
    Yes...
    Living Room: Squeezebox Boom
    Living Room: Squeezebox Touch
    BedRoom: Squeezebox Radio

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    570
    What a pity!
    Maybe @JoeMuc2009 has another advice or even a diagnosis.

  5. #5
    Senior Member JoeMuc2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Marktoberdorf, Germany
    Posts
    113
    Hey there,

    hope I can help. Is the Boom still visible on your network by any chance so you could control it in your browser? Or directly via infrared remote control? In that case, it may be just the display's power supply that failed. This kind of fault can be fixed easily.
    How do the button backlights behave on power-up? Do you observe any flicker or randomness in the backlight?
    There is a strange "sudden death" issue with Booms nobody knows how to recover. I have two units in this mode here, an no repair approach helped so far. I hope it's not that.
    On the other hand, Booms are still available in eBay or similar. They are still not cheap but nothing better is available nowadays...

    Regards,
    Joe


    PN me if your Boom / Classic / Transporter display has issues!

    LMS 7.9.0 on Windows Server 2012
    1x Squezeebox Classic SB2
    7x Squeezebox Classic SB3 (one waiting for repair)
    7x Squeezebox Boom (two waiting for repair)
    1x Transporter
    2x Controller (one waiting for repair)
    3x Touch (two waiting for repair)
    1x Radio

  6. #6
    Member rodry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Verona - Italy
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeMuc2009 View Post
    Hey there,

    hope I can help. Is the Boom still visible on your network by any chance so you could control it in your browser? Or directly via infrared remote control? In that case, it may be just the display's power supply that failed. This kind of fault can be fixed easily.
    How do the button backlights behave on power-up? Do you observe any flicker or randomness in the backlight?
    There is a strange "sudden death" issue with Booms nobody knows how to recover. I have two units in this mode here, an no repair approach helped so far. I hope it's not that.
    On the other hand, Booms are still available in eBay or similar. They are still not cheap but nothing better is available nowadays...

    Regards,
    Joe
    hey Joe, thank's for replay!
    first of all the display has low light (but still working before dead).
    When I power up all Buttons back lights start immediatly (strange behavior...)
    Reset with remote and + ... no success
    I try to change Power with another (from my boom radio) but no difference.
    I try to connect Boom via LAN (removing wi-fi card and changing it) but no difference
    the boom is invisible from network (wi-fi and lan)
    It seems in a hang status...
    I disassemble it to replace wi-fi card and looking for other problems, but it isn't simple to find where is the fault...
    Living Room: Squeezebox Boom
    Living Room: Squeezebox Touch
    BedRoom: Squeezebox Radio

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    15,799
    Please clarify

    Did you test with an exact same Boom powersupply or a Power supply for the newer SB Radio ?

    The plug are compatible but that does not means the amps are sufficient.

    The PSU for Radio is rated at 18v @ 1A

    Boom PSU is 12V @2.5A or 18V @ 1.67A

    So using Radio PSU would probably not have enough power.

  8. #8
    Senior Member JoeMuc2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Marktoberdorf, Germany
    Posts
    113
    Quote Originally Posted by rodry View Post
    I try to change Power with another (from my boom radio) but no difference.
    Bad idea! The Squeezebox Radio uses 18 Volts, the Boom only 12 Volts. Connecting a Radio's power supply will probably destroy the Boom.
    You may be lucky and it's just a few voltage regulators that were blown but it's hard to say where to start. Could just as well turn out that the Boom is a victim of the sudden death syndrome and would not even come back to life after replacing all blown components.
    I can give it a try but this is practically hopeless, sorry...


    PN me if your Boom / Classic / Transporter display has issues!

    LMS 7.9.0 on Windows Server 2012
    1x Squezeebox Classic SB2
    7x Squeezebox Classic SB3 (one waiting for repair)
    7x Squeezebox Boom (two waiting for repair)
    1x Transporter
    2x Controller (one waiting for repair)
    3x Touch (two waiting for repair)
    1x Radio

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    15,799
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeMuc2009 View Post
    Bad idea! The Squeezebox Radio uses 18 Volts, the Boom only 12 Volts
    IIRC Boom can take up to 18V - I have a pre-production unit and they were supplied with 18V PSU but ran warm. Production units have 12V and they are the only approved ones.

    Booms have a very large current draw on power up.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,178

    Power Supply

    I have just checked the Italian site without any luck, but the still have some for sale in Germany

    http://support.logitech.com/de_de/parts#5main-a

    If you want to check for other countries, scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the displayed country flag.

    Ronnie

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •