Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 12 of 13 FirstFirst ... 210111213 LastLast
Results 111 to 120 of 127
  1. #111
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    16
    Ha!
    That was fast and accurate!

    Thanks a lot!
    Johannes

    PS: Just curious: What could have caused this?
    Maybe my DHCP server answered too slow (after LMS had already started) on the last reboot?
    But doesn't the raspberrypi wait for an IP-address until it continues the boot process?

  2. #112
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    5,504
    Which OS are you using? Not all will behave the same way.
    What does it say in dmesg regarding IP address?
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin lots more - see https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...Playing-plugin

  3. #113
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    16
    Its Raspbian 5.10.17-v7+
    Hm, dmesg|grep IP doesn't find any relevant info:
    Code:
    [    0.000000] CPU: PIPT / VIPT nonaliasing data cache, VIPT aliasing instruction cache
    [    0.001244] Calibrating delay loop (skipped), value calculated using timer frequency.. 38.40 BogoMIPS (lpj=192000)
    [    0.010623] SMP: Total of 4 processors activated (153.60 BogoMIPS).
    [    4.454827] Segment Routing with IPv6
    [   66.285797] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
    Or does it?

  4. #114
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    5,504
    try case insensitive and others things like dhcp and 169 and 192
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin lots more - see https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...Playing-plugin

  5. #115
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    16
    I tried ip, dhcp upper and lower case, and parts of the IP address.
    Nothing related to the pi's IP:
    Code:
    pi@raspberrypi:/ $ ifconfig
    eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
            inet 192.168.1.8  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
            inet6 fe80::9a3f:8ce6:5746:bc5d  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
            ether b8:27:eb:d4:55:2b  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
            RX packets 22668222  bytes 1153166248 (1.0 GiB)
            RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
            TX packets 20058306  bytes 3217567672 (2.9 GiB)
            TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
    
    lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
            inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
            inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
            loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Lokale Schleife)
            RX packets 17322342  bytes 4580360286 (4.2 GiB)
            RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
            TX packets 17322342  bytes 4580360286 (4.2 GiB)
            TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
    But I think I got it: There was a short blackout some time ago. After the voltage drop, all network devices booted simultaniously,
    so I'm pretty sure the raspi finished booting before the DHCP server, which runs on a Unifi Security Gateway that is quite slow.
    Maybe that's why the LMS saw no IP-address on startup.
    Last edited by Tintifax; 2021-04-25 at 14:32.

  6. #116
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    16
    This issue occured again, but fortunately this time I knew how to solve it (restart lms).
    I'm just curious how all of this works. Maybe someone can help me to understand this in more detail.

    I have lms 8.0.0 on Raspbian 10

    Whenever there's a short interruption of the power supply in my home all network devices reboot at the same time.
    Because booting time of the device that is hosting the DHCP server is rather slow, lms on the Raspi always starts with the Raspi still having no IP, which
    leads to the fallback to 127.0.0.1
    At least thats what server.log says:
    Slim::Utils::IPDetect::_init (138) Warning: Couldn't call connect() - falling back to 127.0.0.1

    What I don't understand:
    1) On page 2 of this thread, Michael wrote that with the change he applied in 2018, lms will retry later if there's no IP present at lms startup.
    Why doesn't it retry anymore?
    Because when I try to open the settings page after a blackout, I get the 403-error.

    2) When I get this 403-error, server.log says
    Slim::Web::HTTP::generateHTTPResponse (1022) Access to settings pages is restricted to the local network or localhost: 192.168.1.9 -> 169.254.51.116 (settings/index.html)
    Why does it tell me its IP is 127.0.0.1, when in fact it's 169.254.51.116?

    3) When I restart the lms-service, I can access the settings page as expected.
    Nevertheless, I still get the same line in the log-file after the restart:
    Slim::Utils::IPDetect::_init (138) Warning: Couldn't call connect() - falling back to 127.0.0.1
    Why does lms fall back to 127.0.0.1, even if the Raspi has obtained an IP?
    And why can I access the settings page now from a different network?

  7. #117
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    5,504
    169.254 is the prefix used for an automatic assignment of an IP address when DHCP lookup fails.

    As for the rest ... I don't know the answer but can you simply delay the LMS startup until a 192.168 IP address has been assigned or the router can be pinged ... or failing that just make it wait N seconds.

    The typical way to do this it for wait-for-network in systemctl startup but I don't know if that treats a 169.254 as the network being available.
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin lots more - see https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...Playing-plugin

  8. #118
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    16
    That sounds like a good idea!
    Edit: I could write a bash script that pings my router repeatedly and put it in a system unit. Then I could make the logitechmediaserver.service dependent (Requires/After) on this unit.

    Where should I edit the logitechmediaserver.service file?
    I find this file in many directories, like /run/systemd/generator.late or /sys/fs/cgroup/systemd/system.slice
    Last edited by Tintifax; 2021-12-02 at 12:22.

  9. #119
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    11

    Docker

    I started to have this problem after installing Tailscale on my server hosting Slimserver. Does anyone know how to add the httpaddr value to an instance running in a docker container?

    Thanks.

  10. #120
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,719

    Forbidden: settings/index.html

    > I started to have this problem after installing Tailscale on my server
    > hosting Slimserver. Does anyone know how to add the httpaddr value to
    > an instance running in a docker container?


    Edit the server.prefs file while the server is shut down.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •