Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
  1. #11
    Senior Member sbp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,106
    I agree that there is something on your network that is slow. This has the consequence that when LMS start it is unable to populate the radiostations.

    As a work-around you could make a User command" on the "tweaks page". The command you supply here will be executed as the last command while pCP is booting.
    In this field you could add a "restart LMS command" and if that isn't enough you could add a "sleep" first command in order to let pCP wait a few secunds before restarting LMS.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://sites.google.com/site/picoreplayer/home

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  2. #12
    No... radio will not show even waiting days... until I restart LMS and Jivelite
    I am using the software as it comes from the official distribution.
    Yes,,, telnetting the Rpi3, I can confirm it gest IP and DNS and gateway, etc.
    Yes... 1 interface at a time... it happens even with just the wired Eth and internal WiFi disabled

    my Internet provider is Vodafone and I have a proprietary modem\router. I can not change the configuration, so... if DHCP is enabled on a device, it gets as DNS the IP address of the router (same as gateway).
    In order to override the default DNS, i have to put it into the device.

    I already tried, but seems that using the pCP web interface I can just forse the static IP on the wired Ethernet and not on the WiFi.

    Question 1)
    How to force a static IP and DNS using the WLAN?

    Question 2, for SBP)
    what have I to write in the tweaks page to restart the LMS and to restart Jivelite?
    (if I just restart LMS, I can play radios from the web interface, but no radio icon on the LCD screen... I need to restart the Jivelite too)

    My best regards.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    3,004
    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    The important part is actually the DNS adress , if that is not known to the system before LMS starts you get these symptoms.
    I agree.
    I have seen the issue described with piCorePlayer and LMS.
    By default the pCp set up assumes that your DNS server is your router. I don't think it properly obeys the DHCP server settings in this area.
    In the end I solved the issue by giving the Pi a real static IP address (as opposed to a reservation) and a static DNS address (8.8.8.8)
    I recall some debate with the pCp guys about the default being the router and suggested it be Google.
    I could see that DNS was the issue as my Pi booted at epoch every time as it could not find the NTP server.

    EDIT. I am talking wired ethernet. It isn't possible to set a true static IP or DNS on the wifi interface.
    Last edited by d6jg; 2018-01-19 at 05:51.
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

  4. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    I agree.

    EDIT. I am talking wired ethernet. It isn't possible to set a true static IP or DNS on the wifi interface.
    Is there in this forum someone that can help me\us in:

    1) how to set static IP address for a WLAN connection?
    There is the feature in the WEB GUI, but only for wired Ethernet

    2) write the command to stop\start or restart from command line for LMS?

    3) eventually let me know where is located the script that starts LMS at boot

  5. #15
    Dears,

    trying to find how to restart LMS, I got this "solution".

    In the pCP TWEAKS page, I put two commands:

    User commands
    User command #1 sudo killall slimserver.pl
    User command #2 /usr/bin/perl /usr/local/slimserver/slimserver.pl --daemon --user tc --group staff

    In this way, at the boot, LMS is started by the normal procedure, then LMS is stopped and then restarted.
    I got the startup command looking at the processes running.

    The above procedure WORKS!!!

    Now finally I have internet radios available, but... there is another little problem...
    if I visit the pCP web GUI, I see LMS stopped, even if everything seems running correctly.

    This is the difference:
    when LMS is started by pCP boot process, this is the running process
    {slimserver.pl} /usr/bin/perl /usr/local/slimserver/slimserver.pl --daemon --user tc --group staff

    when the process is killed and then restarted, I get this new running process
    /usr/bin/perl /usr/local/slimserver/slimserver.pl --daemon --user tc --group staff

    any suggestion?

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    874
    Try starting it the way that pCP does it

    Code:
    sudo /usr/local/etc/init.d/slimserver start
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

  7. #17
    Great!
    I found it in the meantime by my own and it worked.

    Moreover if you confirm this is the correct way... I thank you and I am happy!

    Where is the pCP startup script that is called at the boot and starts slimserver?
    Maybe I can just add a delay avoiding to completely stop and restart.

    thanks a lot

  8. #18
    Senior Member sbp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,106
    Quote Originally Posted by steff View Post
    Great!
    I found it in the meantime by my own and it worked.

    Moreover if you confirm this is the correct way... I thank you and I am happy!

    Where is the pCP startup script that is called at the boot and starts slimserver?
    Maybe I can just add a delay avoiding to completely stop and restart.

    thanks a lot
    Sorry for my late reply. But these commands should work:
    sudo /usr/local/etc/init.d/slimserver stop

    sudo /usr/local/etc/init.d/slimserver start

    The start is initiated in: /home/tc/www/cgi-bin/do_rebootstuff.sh
    You could try to add a pause in front of the LMS starting part.

    Remember to do a backup after you have made your changes to the file, otherwise it will not be there after a reboot.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://sites.google.com/site/picoreplayer/home

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  9. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by sbp View Post

    The start is initiated in: /home/tc/www/cgi-bin/do_rebootstuff.sh
    You could try to add a pause in front of the LMS starting part.
    .
    Just added 10 seconds of sleep... PERFECT!

    I am very happy!

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    874
    Quote Originally Posted by DJanGo View Post
    i dont know, but in another thread he explained he uses some xubuntu and i dont knew wehat to believe right now...

    slimserver wouldt work on ubuntu it must be logitechmediaserver unless he uses a very very very old version but he also describes 7.8 / 7,.9 inn the other thread


    I "think" he did his own script or something other funny stuff otherwise all these facts didnt make any sense...


    cheers
    He said in this thread ...
    "In the pCP TWEAKS page, I put two commands:"
    which is why I answered like I did.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author Radio France (FIP etc) plugin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •