Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1

    LMS start\stop\restart

    whenever I boot my Rpi3 running pCP (with Jivelite and the touch screen), radios are almost never available.

    In order to get them, I have to restart the LMS from the web page of the pCP.
    After the above I can play radios from the WEB interface, but from the touch display the radio icon is not showing

    In order to play radios even from the touch LCD I have to QUIT the interface, then when it reload after some seconds, the radio icon appears.

    question 1)
    How and where put a command to delay the LMS autostart? or to restart it?
    Keep in mind that I am using the pCP + LCD touch and I want to avoid web interface

    question 2)
    same as 1) but for the LCD interface

    thanks.

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,960

    LMS start\stop\restart

    > whenever I boot my Rpi3 running pCP (with Jivelite and the touch
    > screen), radios are almost never available.


    Is LMS running on the same Pi? What kind of network connection are you
    using? The symptoms you're describing would likely happen if LMS was
    started before the network connection was up. Don't use wlan if you're
    running LMS on the device.

    --

    Michael

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > whenever I boot my Rpi3 running pCP (with Jivelite and the touch
    > screen), radios are almost never available.


    Is LMS running on the same Pi? What kind of network connection are you
    using? The symptoms you're describing would likely happen if LMS was
    started before the network connection was up. Don't use wlan if you're
    running LMS on the device.

    --

    Michael
    - YES, LMS is running side by side with all the other software on the very same Rpi3
    - Almost everyone is saying that this happens because LMS started before network was up, but keep in mind:
    the problem occurrs most of time, not always
    the problems occurrs with both embedded WiFi, WiFi provided by additional USB - WiFi dongle and wired Ethernert as well
    - Why do not use WiFi if LMS is running on the device? Why not?
    Keep in mind that with an additional USB WiFi dongle (Edimax 5 Ghz), without additional drivers, my Rpi3 is capable of streaming to the USB DAC 384 kHz PCM pulling FLAC from a NAS with WiFi without any pops or glitches... just perfect

    For all the above, I am asking how to delay the LMS start or restart it from the LCD touch etc.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by DJanGo View Post
    quite simple

    LMS is owned by a service thats waiting for "the (a) Network"
    WLAN is a special Network thats starting very very late.

    I dont know PCP but i think there is a way to disable the squeezelite portion.
    Triode build a very very good Plugin called localplayer.
    That plugin ist started from lms and does nothing else than starting a squeezelite session.

    You can also change the binary from that plugin to a later one.
    If LMS depends on network, why then LMS starts even if the (very very slow to start) WLAN is not started?
    The problem in my setup is that LMS automatically starts at boot every time, but most of times radios are not available until I RESTART LMS

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by DJanGo View Post
    Did you ever add a passprase to use a Lan Network?

    Another question:

    Are you able to wake up your PC over Lan ?
    Why you re not able to wake it up over WLAN?
    Funny :-)

    Do you mean that LMS waits for the wired Ethernet to starts but starts even if WLAN is not connected?

    Trying to be again serious:
    1) when my Rpi3 boots, LMS automatically starts
    2) radios are (most of times) not avaialble
    3) stop and start again manually the LMS solves the problem

    what is and where is the "trigger" to let radios be enabled or not?

    P.S.:LMS does not wait for any network before to start. Even if I disable WiFi and do not plug any wired Ethernet and store my music on a USB local drive, LMS starts and I can play music.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,127
    Stef, have you tried this tweak?

    Name:  a stef tweak.png
Views: 228
Size:  12.5 KB

  7. #7
    Looking at the log, when my Ri3 boots, it first connect to the network (yes, WiFi), it gets the IP address from the DHCP where is its reservation, THEN LMS starts.

    So... I can confirm the LMS starts AFTER the Rpi3 got the IP address.

    I tried to put a radio station in the auto start, as suggested and of course after the boot the radio start playing. Always.

    I have several radio stations in my favourite list and these can be played, always.

    additional infos:
    Since the Rpi3 is connected to a LCD screen, I can have a look at the boot process before the GUI\Jivelite comes available.
    I verified these steps both for the WLAN and wired ethernet
    first Rpi3 ask for the IP to che DHCP, then it gests the reserved IP address
    after that it mounts the CIFS share from the NAS where I host my FLAC files
    (since the mount is succesfully, I imagine that the RPi3 is correctly connected to the network)
    only after that I can see the LMS starting then started.

    Radio channel alredy saved in my favourites can always be played
    what is not working is the absence of the RADIO icon on the LCD touch to be used to search additional channel and so on
    the radio icon becomes avaialble only after LMS restart AND GUI quit\restart
    If I just restart Jivelite, radio icon is not present, I must restart LMS first.
    Last edited by steff; 2018-01-12 at 02:17.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    16,339
    The important part is actually the DNS adress , if that is not known to the system before LMS starts you get these symptoms.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    The important part is actually the DNS adress , if that is not known to the system before LMS starts you get these symptoms.
    Nice to know.

    Looking at the LCD screen during the boot, I can perfectly see that together the IP address, the DHCP correctly assign the ip of the DNS server, after that mouts the NAS, then starts the LMS.
    This afternoon I got a new Rpi3 to be used for VPN terminator at my home and I tested a brand new setup of pCP.
    I got the very same behaviour.

    Supposing my problems can come from my home network, I got a mobile WiFi hotspot.
    I configured the Rpi3 to connect to the WiFi provided by the hotspot and... IT WORKS !!! Radio available!!!

    So... let me recap... hoping some additional suggestions can come.

    Connecting the Rpi3 to my home network... wired Ethernet... embedded WiFi... Edimax WiFi USB dongle... radio are not available
    The Rpi3 boots, it gest IP address and DNS address correctly, then mount the CIFS shares (so the network is OK), then starts LMS.
    After a LMS restart, radios are available, always,

    Connecting the Rpi3 to a mobile WiFi hotspot... radio works.

    The problem is that I have a huge number of devices @ my home working on my network without any issue (Playstation, TV, Sky box, iPad, Samsung smartphones and tablet, two HP Proliant servers, the alarm system, etc....)
    So I can not confirm it is problem of my switches and router...
    pobably a problem of "inter-compatibility" between the Rpi3+pCP+my network.

    suggestios?
    Last edited by steff; 2018-01-13 at 16:25.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    16,339
    If you wait a while Radio wont show up eventually ? You should be running the latest 7.9.1 beta it has some improvements regarding this behaviour.

    Run ifconfig or similar to see if the rpi actually has got ip dns etc .

    You only have one network interface running on the pi ?

    Workaround.

    Make a static network setup with ip dns and gateway etc so that DHCP is not a factor.
    ( make sure that the DHCP pool does not include this ip ).
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •