Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18

    Not sure where to start :(

    I have had my SqueezeBox device leveraging LMS for a while. I recently switched computers and I have not been able to get operational since that point. Now I have gotten myself into a state where it will not scan any files. Also cannot seem to clear the server log. I have attached my logs.

    Wondering if it is just time to go buy a Sonos
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,179
    Well I wouldn't start from here (as the song goes)

    I'm thinking Windows

    Uninstall all that v7.5.5 stuff, including the bits that you have to do manually

    Download and install

    http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/7.9/sc/b3228c3/LogitechMediaServer-7.9.1-1515216179.exe


    Right click on the .exe and install as Administrator, you may need to add some Microsoft Run time stuff.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18

    Next Problem

    Thanks for the response. Always appreciate the amount of community involvement.

    So I uninstalled older versions, and installed the new version, and now I am back to the problem I was having before. My squeezebox just shuts down while playing a song and cycles back on, reconnecting, etc.. The server log, attached, does not seem to capture anything at the specific time stamp.

    I was thinking that it was a network thing, but now I am thinking my device may just have gone bad. However, the issue started when I got a new computer, so that would be highly coincidental.

    What should I try next?

    Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    16,411
    Quote Originally Posted by jonblauch View Post
    Thanks for the response. Always appreciate the amount of community involvement.

    So I uninstalled older versions, and installed the new version, and now I am back to the problem I was having before. My squeezebox just shuts down while playing a song and cycles back on, reconnecting, etc.. The server log, attached, does not seem to capture anything at the specific time stamp.

    I was thinking that it was a network thing, but now I am thinking my device may just have gone bad. However, the issue started when I got a new computer, so that would be highly coincidental.

    What should I try next?

    Thanks
    What kind of squeezebox is this ? If it shuts down and cycles on it’s not the server .
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    What kind of squeezebox is this ? If it shuts down and cycles on it’s not the server .
    Slim Devices. Squeezebox v3. I updated the firmware.

    This is what shows on the information tab of Logitech Media server Control Panel
    Squeezebox Classic
    Player Model: Squeezebox Classic
    Player Type: squeezebox2
    Firmware: 137

    The fact my issues started when I got a new PC leave me a bit skeptical that it is the hardware. But coincidences do happen.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    352
    If the player does a complete restart, with "splash screen" and everything that would suggest some kind of hardware problem rater than server or network problem.
    The power supplies often fail with age and sometimes cause restarts. WiFi boards may also cause erratic behaviour.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    16,411
    Quote Originally Posted by alfista View Post
    If the player does a complete restart, with "splash screen" and everything that would suggest some kind of hardware problem rater than server or network problem.
    The power supplies often fail with age and sometimes cause restarts. WiFi boards may also cause erratic behaviour.
    Also the power connector at the back may become loose , this PC is it close to SB3 did you move or touch your SB3 ?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  8. #8
    martin@gregorie.org
    Guest

    Not sure where to start :(

    On Sun, 2018-01-07 at 01:25 +0000, jonblauch wrote:
    > However, the issue started when I got
    > a new computer, so that would be highly coincidental.
    >

    Are you sure your music files were correctly installed on the new
    computer? The log shows:

    - refusals to handle files because DRM: are the access
    permissions and file ownership correct on these files?

    - play lists pointing to missing music files.

    > What should I try next?
    >

    Try fixing those problems before rescanning.



  9. #9
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    9,149
    If you still have old computer laying around with LMS on it, try connecting SB to that LMS. If that works fine then you know it's something on new computer.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by alfista View Post
    If the player does a complete restart, with "splash screen" and everything that would suggest some kind of hardware problem rater than server or network problem.
    The power supplies often fail with age and sometimes cause restarts. WiFi boards may also cause erratic behaviour.
    All signals seem to point to this conclusion. If that is the case, given the product is discontinued, what are people doing? Buying used stuff on Ebay, or taking a jump to another platform ( aka Sonos)?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •