Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    15

    Help! Server won't start

    Tried upgrading to 7.9.1. Now the server won't start after first install.

    I get the following error message on debug:
    Code:
    C:\PROGRA~1\Squeezebox\server>squeezesvr --d_source --d_plugins
    [18-01-05 21:07:39.5625] main::init (353) Starting Logitech Media Server (v7.7.6
    , 1513400343, Sat Dec 16 05:05:59 CUT 2017) perl 5.014001
    [18-01-05 21:07:40.0625] Slim::Networking::UDP::init (39) FATAL: There is alread
    y another copy of the Logitech Media Server running on this machine. (Only one u
    sage of each socket address (protocol/network address/port) is normally permitte
    d.)
    [18-01-05 21:07:40.0658] Slim::Utils::Misc::msg (1311) Warning: [21:07:40.0656]
    FATAL: There is already another copy of the Logitech Media Server running on thi
    s machine. (Only one usage of each socket address (protocol/network address/port
    ) is normally permitted.) at /<C:\PROGRA~1\Squeezebox\server\SqueezeSvr.exe>Log/
    Log4perl/Logger.pm line 900
    
    C:\PROGRA~1\Squeezebox\server>
    but I can say for certain there aren't any other instances of the server running. Any suggestions?

    Thank you,

    Ben

  2. #2
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    16,411
    Really ? The log snippet actually states that it’s 7.7.6 that starts up ?

    But we need more details on your system what version of Windows is this ?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  3. #3
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    16,411
    ..and what antivirus software is running .
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    15
    Thanks for writing back.

    I tried 7.7.6 to see if that would work...but I got the same error message.

    It's Windows (as you can tell) Home Server v1, with all the available service packs. No antivirus software on it.

    SlimServer then Squeezebox Server, then LMS have been running on it for over 10 years without a problem. I wanted to update to 7.9.1 so I could use the new Spotty plugin.

    Ben

  5. #5
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    16,411
    Ok I’m not good at WHS v1 . I don’t know if its compatible ?

    A clean install , removing every track this usually helps in Windows ?

    Is not the installaing method changed , it used to be some special package and now you are suposed to use a normal Windows installer ? Could this mess things up ?

    Well someone else has to come truogh wit better advice .
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  6. #6
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,005

    Help! Server won't start

    > SlimServer then Squeezebox Server, then LMS have been running on it for
    > over 10 years without a problem. I wanted to update to 7.9.1 so I could
    > use the new Spotty plugin.


    You don't need 7.9.1 for Spotty. But WHS1 will not do. It's too old, I'm
    sorry to say.

    --

    Michael

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    15
    Thanks very much for your help. It seems that Spotty was causing the problem. I've switched to a RPi and all is well!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •