Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1

    Internet radio good but no music library...

    I apologise in advance if I am going over old territory... I may well be...
    I have not used my Duet for about 6 months.
    I got it out yesterday, wired it all up, updated software, rescanned library (on an external hard drive), charged teh remote controller and... everything worked!
    FANTASTIC.
    Today the controller cannot find the library and LMS on my computer cannot find the player.
    The controller reads "To enable "My Music" download Logitech Media Server...." which is already on the computer.
    I rescanned the library and that is all OK at that end.
    At the controller end, I can pick "Radio" and play stations from all over the world.
    It is the library that it cannot see.
    I checked the location of the library and it is looking in the right place.
    Under Wireless info everything is right.
    Under Server info, from Logitech Media Server on down, nothing is connected.
    After 6 months not using it, I have forgotten all the tricks and hints.
    Is there something obvious I am not doing.
    As ever thank you in advance for any information, hints or even "you silly bugger" type comments.

  2. #2

    better and worse

    SO after a break, I downloaded LMS again and installed it and started everfything up.
    First thing I noticed was I still has the "Cannot connect" message, but then I saw thew controller was listed under players.
    I turned the controller off and the "Cannot connect" message disappeared and my library was all available on the controller.
    Excitedly I picked an album and hit play...
    "Cannot open files..."
    Excuse me while I hit my head against the wall.

  3. #3

    ... and for the third time...

    I checked the computer and it wasn't showing the external drive with all the music... reloaded that.
    Checked the controller and it had the library.
    Hit play and a tiny tinny sound.... from the controller... Looked at "Select player".
    Turned off controller (again) and turned on the actual player I wanted.
    Oh good grief... M U S I C!
    So does anyone have an idea... except laughing that is????
    Is this a sign the gear is coming towards the end of its life or what?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    15,722
    Quote Originally Posted by ozpomfromhell View Post
    Is this a sign the gear is coming towards the end of its life or what?
    Unlikely.

    If audio is coming from controller - IIRC that was a "beta" feature and possibly reliable - perhaps you have chosen "Bleeding edge" options in other places.

    Without details of LMS platforms/OS hard to say any more specific - there are different problems with some NAS based and WIndows based LMS.
    "Cannot open files" indicate a transcoding problem on the LMS - this could happen if trying to play AAC files on SB Receiver. Perhaps LMS transcoder etc hadn't been properly installed (e.g. security s/w) first time.

  5. #5
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    9,145
    Everything you describe points to a computer or network issue.

    "Today the controller cannot find the library and LMS on my computer cannot find the player."
    --- possible that LMS is now on a different IP than last time used, players always assume LMS is where it was last time connected (i.e. same IP)
    --- on SB players you can force it to look for other instances of LMS (or different IP) but I don't have a Controller so not sure if/how to do this on a Controller

    "The controller reads "To enable "My Music" download Logitech Media Server...." which is already on the computer."
    --- it says that when the player/controller cannot see LMS

    "At the controller end, I can pick "Radio" and play stations from all over the world."
    --- likely connecting to MySB.com online server, no LMS needed for this

    "I checked the computer and it wasn't showing the external drive with all the music... reloaded that."
    --- no drive = no library

  6. #6

    Everything you describe points to a computer or network issue

    [QUOTE=toby10;900937]Everything you describe points to a computer or network issue.



    Yes, I was coming to that conclusion, so I pulled oiut an old netbook and plugged the external hardrive into that.
    It logged in to the network and both controller and player came up.
    WWWEEEEEE!
    Music played and happiness ruled...
    Next day it still worked.
    I have no idea why the other computer worked and then didn't and possibly I never will.
    But now the netbook can sit out of the way, can handle downloads of new music and not be in the way on my desk.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    27
    I havew managed to go the other way.....

    After moving home I can access all my music stored on my NAS, but I cant access any radio.......how strange.

    Any ideas ?

  8. #8
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,986

    Internet radio good but no music library...

    > After moving home I can access all my music stored on my NAS, but I cant
    > access any radio.......how strange.


    You've moved home. Now you likely have a new internet service provider,
    or a different connection anyway. Double-check your server's network
    setup. It might still be using outdated gateway/DNS settings or something.

    --

    Michael

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > After moving home I can access all my music stored on my NAS, but I cant
    > access any radio.......how strange.


    You've moved home. Now you likely have a new internet service provider,
    or a different connection anyway. Double-check your server's network
    setup. It might still be using outdated gateway/DNS settings or something.

    --

    Michael
    Hi Michael - thanks for the prompt reply. I have the same ISP and the same equipment. I had previously ensured the duet player was on a fixed IP on the router and that has not changed. What I did find was the NAS had two LAN ports and I had initially plugged into the wrong one thus gaining an unrecognized IP address.

    I resolved this and my stored favourites play - great. However the option to search for radio stations returns a blank screen.....just says "Loading". Any ideas? Thanks.

  10. #10
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,986

    Internet radio good but no music library...

    > I resolved this and my stored favourites play - great. However the
    > option to search for radio stations returns a blank screen.....just says
    > "Loading". Any ideas? Thanks.


    Check the server.log. You probably need to restart LMS if you haven't
    since changing the network connection.

    --

    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •