Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    18

    New Drive for music, SqueezeBox can't find it. . . .

    Hi guys,

    I hope this is an easy question.

    After an external drive failure, I put my music on a new external hard drive. SqueezeBox can't find my music.

    I have a SB Classic.

    I've been playing with the server settings, and the preference panel in my Mac Book Air (running Sierra -- no changes there).

    No joy.

    Can anyone advise how to get the music back up and running?

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,964

    New Drive for music,SqueezeBox can't find it. . . .

    > After an external drive failure, I put my music on a new external hard
    > drive. SqueezeBox can't find my music.


    Did you tell LMS where your new drive is? Did you re-scan?

    --

    Michael

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    18
    Hi Michael,

    No, I believe I hit "re scan" to no effect. The other thing you mention, I don't know what that is.

    EDIT:

    LMS -- I get it, Logitech Media Server . . . so the rescan should up date LMS, so it knows where to look?

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,964

    New Drive for music,SqueezeBox can't find it. . . .

    > LMS -- I get it, Logitech Media Server . . . so the rescan should up
    > date LMS, so it knows where to look?


    No, you have to tell LMS where it can find your music. If you've changed
    disk, then you'll have to tell it about your new disk. Go to the
    Settings, where you can add music folders. Make sure your new disk is
    listed there.

    --

    Michael

  5. #5
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    2,515
    Quote Originally Posted by Tube Nube View Post
    Hi Michael,

    No, I believe I hit "re scan" to no effect. The other thing you mention, I don't know what that is.

    EDIT:

    LMS -- I get it, Logitech Media Server . . . so the rescan should up date LMS, so it knows where to look?
    LMS > Settings > you need to enter the path to the music files on your new drive.

    Name:  pic30-11-2017-15.18.35.jpg
Views: 96
Size:  36.9 KB
    Study/Server - LMS 7.9.1 - Pi3B+/pCP 3.5.0/pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/jivelite, 25K library on WDMyCloud, cache and playlists on a USB stick (formatted ntfs).
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 3.5.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Pi3B/pCP 3.5.0 > HiFiBerry AMP+/retro radio
    Garage - Pi3B/Pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/pCP 3.5.0 > Edifier R980T
    In car - RPi3B/pCP in AP mode > HiFiBerry DAC+ > car's audio (files on a 2TB USB drive)
    Spares - 1xTouch, 1xSB3, 1xRadio, 1xBoom

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    18
    This is very helpful. Thanks, fellas, I'll give this a try right away...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •